We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, good food, good for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Horse Shoes

Three Horse Shoes
Spellbrook Lane East | Spellbrook, Bishops Stortford CM22 7SE, England
01279 882 367
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great beer, good food, good for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Being a no nonsense tripadvisor reviewer with high standards I was pleasantly surprised by this good value gastro pub. The beer was outstanding (Ghost Ship), the food for all 14 of us was excellent and it had an ideal informal relaxed atmos, great for kids. We sat right by rear doors so garden was on hand. Staff were freindly.

Most of my reviews find places wanting, but for a good value pub restaurant this would be hard to beat.

I can imagine it going badly on occassion as the menu when we visited was very large so could be prone to the 'jack of all trades' effect. We are booked to go again in late 2012.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    13
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Need new chef!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have visited this restaurant previously and on that occasion the food was adequate.
On the evening of the 19/11/2012 the food was not up to standard.Poorly presented and not
a good dining experience.Granted we did arrive at 20.10pm, we should have been informed
that the kitchen was not in full production.I will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Horse Shoes, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Airwaves255103,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of your latest experienceand have asked our management team to investigate the issues you have raised.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr Eamonn Abbott”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have visited the pub before but on this occasion (1/11/12) we were disappointed. I rang and booked a table. On arriving there was no booking recorded, we were given a table that was next to the outside door which was cold ever time someone walked through. We asked for Jacket Potato instead of chips, to be told that they had run out, which at 18.30 we thought was bizarre. When our meal arrived the mash potato we had ordered instead was cold. This was taken away and heated. On return my wife's seasonal veg was missing off of the plate . By the time the veg had been replaced my wife had eaten her dinner otherwise that would have been cold. All in all not a good experience. Try somewhere else...........

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 hour wait for our food!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived at 3.30 and was fed at 5.4!!! The food was good but then we had to ask for the tables to be cleared and wasn't asked if we wanted pudding or coffee. Will not go there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Kitchen needs some talent!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have reviewed before with a 'hit & miss'. Still the same story. I pass this place often and it has a lovely setting, gardens & bar area. I give it a go every couple of months & the menu is promising the specials look good but it just doesn't deliver. Any kitchen that can feel its right to put out an unbuttered sandwich on dry bread with hard unripe mango, black avocado and a morsel of smoked chicken wont stand a hope in hell of producing some of the specials on the board. We will stick to a pre lunch drink & bar nibbles here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Horse Shoes, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear bankit111,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of your recent experience and have passed your comments onto our management team so they can be addressed and the necessary improvments made.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Horse Shoes also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Three Horse Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Horse Shoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.