We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Host Restaurant

Host Restaurant
4 Market Square, Bishops Stortford CM23 3UU, England
+44 (0)1279 657000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal, well, we both had fantastic meals...
We were late but they held our table for us. The staff were cool, unobtrusive and efficient.
Moroccan lamb was something else!! Followed by an indulgent chocolate desert that topped it off...
I thought value for money was excellent and the venue itself oozes cool....

Loved it, will go there again soon :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    52
    28
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I came here with a friend for lunch. We both had the chilli chicken for starters and hake and chips for main. It was delicious. Would definitely eat here again. We arrived at 12.30 pm and left at 7.00 pm after several bottles of wine. Will be nice in summer on the terrace if we get a summer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very posh but very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food here is fantastic. Well cooked and presented beautifully. The chef did get my order wrong, however we had booked a long time in advance and had presented our food choices previously, so I am not too miffed about this and my replacement came very speedily.
The restaurant is quite small, but not particularly friendly. The staff are pleasant, but this venue is not one for a casual dining, more for a formal event of outing.
However, I would recommend for people with a higher budget, and there is a bar/club upstairs, for 18+ people, which is very nice and provides a good time before or after a meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, unpretentious food in a modern setting, with good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

4th visit to Host was exactly like the others...surprisingly good food that is tasty, served in a strait forward but not at all boring way.

Sauces are all well matched with the food, and the meals are interesting without being over fussy.

Bill was £50 for 2 for 2 courses, with a bottle of wine and a couple of drinks.

Will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been here a few times and enjoyed it so much I even hosted a birthday meal here. They are quite adventurous with there menu, after the whole Tesco burger scandal they even added real horse burgers to there menu. Upstairs is known for its 'clubbing' style and can be hired out for parties, socials and is an all round good night.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Host Restaurant also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Host Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Host Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.