We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very disappointing and vastly overpriced B&B” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Percy's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Percy's Hotel to your Saves list
Percy's Hotel
Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cirencester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very very disappointing and vastly overpriced B&B”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

sorry to say that this did not live up to expectations; the rooms are in a converted granary - the decor (curtains, upholstery) is faded, carpets a bit grubby and the sofas very uncomfortable. Although advertised that this separation of accommodation from the restaurant gives peace and quiet, sadly our whole meal in the restaurant (where we were the only guests) was punctuated by the full sounds of the kitchen - washing up, cooking, clattering - far from peaceful. The bar area is very small and the set up - having to walk across the courtyard to get to it and the restaurant - would be very frustrating if it was raining. Food was OK but nothing special - and at £40 per head for a set menu , no choice, very average and very overpriced we thought - we've eaten better this week for a lot less and even tea and coffee is extra. Unlike other places we stayed during the same week's holiday, Percy's was sadly lacking in ambience and personal touch. In fact, we invited the owner and his wife (who had been cooking) at the end of dinner to share our champagne and have a glass with us - as a toast- as it was our silver wedding anniversary that day. We still can't understand why he thought it appropriate to whisk off the remains of our champagne with alacrity - never to reappear with his good lady to toast our celebration. We can only hope they enjoyed quaffing our champagne!! Not only was there no acknowledgment of our special event - they weren't even there to say goodbye the next day. Very disappointing. Wish we had been aware that ,this is a B&B in nicely converted outbuildings - not, in the traditional sense, a country hotel with the cosy public areas, and amenities such as a pool, spa or games room one might expect. Nice cotton sheets!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We dined at Percy's for the first time recently and were the only group in that evening. Service was attentive and the hotel had been aware of our non-meat requirements and had provided a fish alternative. We had an aperitif in the lounge area (a small nibble would have been nice - nothing too much, but nice with our champagne). The seating was very comfortable and the wood-burning stove was very welcome.

Our meal started with an amuse-bouche which was delicious, followed with smoked salmon and avocado on assorted leaves. We had fish for the main course and our friends had lamb. The dessert was a highlight and truly memorable - a superb combination of flavours which really went superbly.

We took coffee back in the lounge.

We enjoyed the meal, but thought it would have been nicer if there had been other diners as we felt a little inhibited - not the hotel's fault and it was the beginning of February!

New diners should be aware that there is a set menu with no choice so if there are vegetarians or if you have dietary requirements you should contact the hotel and inform them. They do send you an email with the menu, but ours didn't arrive until late in the afternoon the day were dining. Maybe the website needs to make that clearer or maybe we didn't notice it.

We would certainly try there again, and now knowing what to expect would let the owners know in plenty of time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are regular guests at Percys Hotel - we just love the peace and tranquility from
the wonderful environment Tina and Tony have created. The food is to die for and wines Tony recomends never disapoints - It is a perfect venue for those who appreciate unpretentious friendly and a welcoming break - from the stresses
of everyday life. In fact we have just returned from a wonderful New Year Break
Superb. cant wait for next visit.

Room Tip: We have had 2 rooms over the years Sage and Chevril both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent an idyllic few days at Percy's. I don't think either of us has ever felt so relaxed, as well as comfortable (in every sense of the word). And believe me, we have stayed and eaten in some top-notch places.

Tina and Tony have created a wonderful ambience and we felt no desire to leave the Combeswood Estate during our entire stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the superb food at both breakfast and dinner, and the lovely afternoon cake with proper filter coffee was just the thing after a morning spent exploring with our canine guides. The provenance of most of the food is literally "on the spot", right down to the vivid and delicious nasturtium petals used as a garnish.

The Estate is a beautiful and varied environment with lush paddock, brooks and waterfalls. If you love animals you will be in your element at Percy's. Thoroughbred racehorses, rare breed sheep, cats and dogs are all here, and all gentle and friendly. But for us, the icing on the cake was the black pigs - they are charming and characterful, and Henry the huge boar is a truly magnificent creature. I would have loved to take him home, but he would never have fitted in the car!

Furthermore, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We let them know, in advance, of our dietary likes and dislikes and they came to the rescue, via the laundry, when my partner slipped in the wetlands and got covered in mud. Everyone even laughed with me at the state he was in!

We shall be back in the Spring to renew our acquaintance with Henry and Percy's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The welcome by the canine hosts was friendly. We were quickly shown to our room which was as I remembered: well equipped but lacking comfort and warm touches. After enjoying the complimentary tea and cake in the room we went on the obligatory tour of the farm with our 3 canine escorts. This was just as I remembered including the mud!
Dinner was when the stay became disappointing as the food did not live up to our expectations or memories. Firstly there is no choice (although pre-mentioned dietary restrictions were taken into account.) The ingredients are fresh but our starter terrine had so much dressing that the flavour of the fresh salad was swamped. Lamb main course was good but whilst the delicate lavender flavour of the creme brûlée was good it was too liquid.
Dinner the next evening was very rich: Chowder, avocado salad with too much dressing, a nicely cooked piece of turbot with too much Bernaise sauce and panna cotta. The mixed berries with the panna cotta were excellent. As a point of reference I generally prefer my salads dressed and sauces on my food but here it was a case of too much overpowering the flavours of the main ingredients.
The choice at breakfast was reasonable and freshly cooked although the coffee is quite weak.
Sometimes it is a mistake to revisit places and this was certainly the case here. The farm and horses appear to be the owners priority and consequently the hospitality and food were not what they once were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you love fine cuisine, good wine, well equiped accommodation and a relaxed environment within the Devonshire countryside you will love Percy's. We enjoy luxury breaks and this break had the added bonus of being able to wander the estate in comfy wellies, accompanied by friendly dogs, and meeting sheep and horses. We really enjoyed chatting to Tina and Tony about their lifestyle and can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Percy’s for a restful 4 days last week and. in this respect the accommodation was perfect and of the highest quality. The quality of the décor, furnishings and premises throughout were of the highest standard with so much care having been given to detail which made for a comfortable and pleasurable stay. The woodburning stoves certainly added to the warmth of the atmosphere. We enjoyed the food very much as cooked by master chef Tina Bricknell-Webb and just had to buy her cook book to take home. The ingredients were all locally sourced, if they didn’t come from the farm itself. If one had any special food requests they were dealt with. Husband Tony, who also looked after the horses, was a very friendly ‘ mine host’’ and interesting to talk to and between them they make excellent hosts and have created a restful ambiance that pervades the whole farm. The land is extensive and even on gloomy days one can go for long walks to see the sheep, pigs, horses, geese and lakes accompanied by the friendly dogs. The Hotel is also well situated for visiting local towns and villages together with the sea and the wonderful countryside with its country houses and heritage sites.
We will certainly be back.

Caroline and Roger

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can which has a large sitting room and very up to date kitchen appliances if n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Percy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy's Hotel

Address: Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Virginstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50-acres of stunning countryside, streams and woodland, the panoramic views extend over both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor. This luxury privately owned country hotel offers peace and tranquility in a relaxed and informal environment with extensive organic kitchen gardens and 50 acres of pasture & woodland. Unpretentious dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Dogs welcome in some of the rooms.Hotel awards include South West Small Hotel of the Year for two years running and runner up for Small Hotel of the Year for Great Britain. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has its own unique character. All of the rooms are spacious and are equipped with king size beds, Egyptian cotton linen and fluffy towels and robes as standard. What they do share however is a homely ambiance infused with luxurious touches and comforts. Every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, DVD player, designer toiletries and much more besides. There is a range of room types available, from Standard, Superior and Deluxe options as well as one suite.Among the many restaurant awards, an article written by by Giles Coren gave Percy's 9/10. Diners are well looked after and are treated to a culinary experience to remember. Specializing in modern British cuisine, everything is cooked to order beautifully presented. Flavoursome rather than fussy, all dishes are made from the very finest locally sourced or homegrown organic ingredients. Lamb & pork are reared on the Estate and the kitchen garden provides vegetables, herbs, salad leaves. The two orchards provide apples which are juiced and offered to guests for breakfast.The peaceful surroundings and excellent grounds make Percy's an ideal venue for special celebrations and private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Percy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Percys Hotel Virginstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Percy's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.