We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing mussles & the rest of the food good too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Standard

Royal Standard
5 The Square, Portscatho TR2 5EB, England
0187258 0271
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Portscatho
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Redditch
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing mussles & the rest of the food good too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have eaten at this pub three times now and always had really homely excellent quality fare. Last week had the moules. Wow-there were so many I couldnt eat them all. They were fresh and plumptious(is this a word?) We were part of a group of around 12 folk and all had a range of meals. Everyone complemented the food.
The pub has a lovely garden which is a great sun trap and potentially makes up or the fact it is not by the sea (only 5 min walk though!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beer, nice meal, love the garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just simple food at the Standard, the same menu they've had for a while. The advantage is, they know the dishes well, and so cook them well too. Mussels were tasty, garlic bread is always a winner! I enjoyed my curry too although it was a bit light on the seasoning side- not a problem, there's salt on the table. Lovely well kept beers and ciders, nice to see something different for a change. Would reccommend it, especially the nice garden for the kids to charge about in.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had dinner here one night when staying at the local campsite, food was great, nice staff and good beer. toilet facilities could do with an upgrade, other then that great pub.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

There are two pubs in Portscatho, the Plume and the Royal standard. My wife and I went for dinner at both during our stay. The Royal Standard seems to be more of a locals pub (which I enjoyed as it is a laugh hanging out with the Cornish) and the atmoshpere was enjoyable. The price is reasonable and the food was delicious. There was a lovely beer garden which was too cold to sit in during April but I imagine makes a lovely evening for the summer. I prefered the Royal Standard and would love to return in hotter weather to eat and drink in that fabulous beer garden all evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Standard also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Royal Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Standard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.