We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Grub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plume of Feathers

Plume of Feathers
The Square | Truro, Portscatho TR2 5HW, England
(01872) 580 321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 restaurants in Portscatho
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chester - England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've visited this lovely little seaside village many times and eaten here at the Feathers also on many occasions.

Its a small, low-ceiling, local pub that tries to cater for locals and visitors alike.

Lunch as like dinner is what you would consider the usual stop-eat-&go 'Pub Grub', as well as a few specials that are either locally sourced, such as mussels or home-made (usually puddings).

On this occasion it was a flying visit to watch the fireworks in November '12. We both needed to be in-eat and out asap, so opted for no starter and both had mussels!
No problems!, no grit (as we have experienced in other more expensive restaurants!) and with a glass of 'ok' vino from the bar we were quite happy!

Service was prompt and with a smile, both at the bar and the waiting on staff.

One small qualm i would have is i left a tip of a few quid at the bar when i paid for my meal. I then noticed on the serving station a small dish for tips, i apologised and told the girl i had left the tip at the bar but thank-you, she seemed a little dis-heartened and said 'oh but that's for the bar staff, don't worry it happens all the time'
Not only did this make me feel a little uncomfortable, but having worked as a waiter for many years previously i was surprised that they don't 'pool' tips and share them amongst all the bar/kitchen/waiter staff! - in my opinion a much better way of everyone in the "team" getting a small tip

Don't be misled by my 3 star rating. That is given as a 'Good' marker, rather than 'Average'!

Will be happy to stop off for lunch/dinner again! :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    35
    28
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good tasty food and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate here a couple of times and were very pleased with the offers on the specials board. The service was also quick, even on a busy night. Just the sort of place that fits the bill with a 'local' feel. The beer was also in good order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Over priced for standard pub grun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely environment and food is fine, but it is just pub grub and so the price is a bit high.

We suppose the premium could be considered worth it if it keeps the pub a going concern as its a lovely spot in a great village.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great looking pub average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to this pub at 18.30hr and it was full at the bar with all but one table having a reserved sign on it, do they not miss an opportunity to increase revenue by turning the tables over instead of them sitting empty all night waiting for the one booking to come in.
I have read the previous revues that said " the locals were tolerant of visitors" very kind of them i'm sure to let us in.
The menu was average bar fare with very little nod to the excellent local produce available so I had Deep fried Brie for a starter with a rib eye for main while my wife had scampi and her Mother had fish and chips all ok except for the amount of bones in the haddock which were all through it.I always worry when the chef has to bring food to the table and serve you as he is not paying attention to his proper job then but in times of austerity it is on the up with staff cuts. It was not the best place we went to in Cornwall which is a shame as the village is a picture book setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value pub lunch, wonderful village setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stopped off here for lunch, and enjoyed a warm welcome from all the staff. We enjoyed the food, and found it very good value, compared to some of the other places we've visited this holiday. The special chilli chicken wrap was especially good, with a gorgeous fresh salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume of Feathers also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume of Feathers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.