We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach hut chic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hidden Hut

The Hidden Hut
Porthcurnick Beach | TR2 5EW, Portscatho, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Portscatho
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect beach hut chic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Iv been desperate to try this place for ages and finally got the chance on wed - omg, it's picture perfect and really really lovely. It's a shabby chic , rustic and pretty hut serving great , reasonably priced food with lovely fresh flowers on tables beside the sea! What more cld u want? Service very friendly but quiet relaxed so don't be in a hurry. Cash only so don't be caught out. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    46
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful and memorable night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Worth the effort of booking tickets on line for the special evening suppers. Excellent food and drink during the day time. Best Cornish pasties that we had!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must if you are in The Roseland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Everything about The Hidden Hut is wonderful; location, views, setting, rustic tables, flowers, service and the FOOD!!!! The staff were very friendly and we had a chat with Simon the proprietor and chef as he prepared our food. I had the vegetable curry with flat bread and my husband had the brie and caramelised red onion focaccia roll- both were delicious! The team behind the Hidden Hut also cooked food at the Portscatho Fish Festival on August 2nd which again was beautifully done. The effort they put in and their commitment to this business is obvious. The food is fresh and made to order and the prices were very reasonable. They were extremely busy the day we were there but the staff were cheerful and the outside eating area was clean and attractive! We were here last summer too and the improvements that had been made during the winter were plain to see. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Lovely lunch, lovely view, lovely weather altogether LOVELY
the food is good and fresh, the flowers on the tables are a nice touch
what better way to spend time than sitting watching the world go by
at a very slow pace

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I didn't know what to expect from The Hidden Hut originally, but the whole experience was amazing. A really simple concept sees you taking your own plates and cutlery (although they have a few for forgetful people) lining up for your food and having your own 'picnic' above the sands at Porthcurnick Beach.

Get there early enough and you can grab a bench at the huge tables, or a small café table just to the side - but in my opinion, the picnic was a perfect idea.

The food was second to none, the short rib of beef tasted beautiful, and the hut provides a decent portion to satisfy anyone. After eating they provide a nice selection of cakes, and stay open pretty much until sunset.

£12 a ticket wasn't bad at all in my opinion, although this doesn't include deserts or nibbles like humous and olives to start, so take some cash if you want these.

Perfect for a summer night on the coast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Hut also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Hidden Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hidden Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.