We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for quick bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Famished Frog

The Famished Frog
18 Washington St, Morristown, NJ 07960
+1 973-540-9601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: We are a Morristown's full service family restaurant and sports bar, located "off the green" in downtown Morristown, NJ.
Morristown, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice for quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I were looking for something quick and stopped by lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The food was good and the server excellent. Each of us got something different (fish & chips, grilled chicken sandwich, and pizza). All three were very good. If your looking for fine dining this isn't the place but if your looking for some quick, nice atmosphere and a decent price, I would recommend the Famished Frog

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    43
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nice and average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As it was my visit to the states I found this place to be A better version of McDonalds. :-)

Service, food, staff were ok nothing special.

Very average type of place. Atmosphere was ok.

May go back but not in the top list of places

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Comfortable bar restaurant. A good place to go for a bear and burger. Basic bar food but service was just okay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've eaten here occasionally -- not very often-- for years. It is the definition of Average -- not good, not bad, just not memorable. I agree with other reviewers that the service is usually friendly but the noise level is often too high. As an example of it being unmemorable, when I was reminded of it recently I actually could not remember a single item I'd ever eaten there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ate here years ago on jury duty, not worth going back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went with a friend he had a 'deal coupon' so I went. We sat in the smaller room to the left where it is a bit quieter. The main room was VERY noisy; ok, if you like that.
Nice waiter, Dave, and they give a nice pour of wine.

Friend ordered the crabcakes and I ordered the pretzel encrusted tilapia. I thought mine was just ok, pretty tasteless. We each shared the other's and I didn't like his crabcakes any better. Again, pretty tasteless. The vegetables with mine were overcooked, too wet (?) and no taste either.

Other than the nice waiter and close proximity to the courthouse (which I hope never to be at again) I would not go back to this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famished Frog also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Famished Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Famished Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.