We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food toooooo pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Madison Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Morristown
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Food toooooo pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The hotel is OK.... About 10 tv channels, room service and food from rods is very very very overpriced, not worth the money. There is no where else to eat for miles so if you are choosing this hotel for business and won't have a car, look elsewhere unless you want to be spending 30 plus just on an entree with no sides. First night here my soup, sandwich, and a water was almost 40 dollars!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcarthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, we do listen to everything our customers say and try to determine if a course of action is necessary. In your case, our food is priced comparatively to other establishments in our market offering our brand of service including an on site bakery where we make most of our breads and desserts, an on site butcher that cuts meat fresh, our award winning beef (Best Steak in NJ, as voted on by readers of NJ Monthly for three consecutive years) which is USDA Prime (the best), our high standards of service (just ask and they will make it for you), award winning (Wine Spectator) wine list and unigue environment including our turn of the century parlor train cars. In spite of that we do offer lower priced early bird specials. If that is not enough, please feel free to visit our Les Clefs d'Or Concierge in the hotel lobby and she can help you find a restaurant more in line with your expectations. In addition, our hotel does offer a shuttle, based upon availability anywhere within five miles so many great restaurant are available in Madison, Chatham or Morristown. Our hotel takes pride in our restaurant which has been a landmark in this community for 75 years under the same family ownership as well as the hotel and hope that if you visit us again you truly do enjoy all we have to offer to its fullest. Thank you agian for your comments and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    110
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
100
100
27
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
millbrook
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

With relatives in the neighborhood, and not wanting to drive two hours to return home after a bounteous Thanksgiving meal, we chose to spend a few days at The Madison Hotel. Attended a wedding here decades ago, and on occasion drove past it when visiting, so our curiosity was peaked.
A wonderful place. Gorgeous lobby (with Tiffany fireplace), friendly welcome and service, spacious immaculate room, and a knock out buffet breakfast included. Swimming pool and workout room just off the lobby. Elegant Rod's restaurant on the premises, and a bike/walk trail close by for fitness freaks. You can train it here from NYC...no need to drive. But, if you do, towns of Madison and Morristown close by with shopping, dining, and movies. A terrific getaway experience in a delightful country inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcarthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind words. Anytime you are in the area please do not hesitate to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We had no complaints about anything at this hotel!
We stayed here to attend a wedding reception which was lovely with delicious food.They did a fantastic job with everything! The conservatory setting was beautiful at night.
Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcarthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding and the food. Our restaurant has been in business for 75 years now and has one the award for best steak in NJ for the last three years. We do take pride in our restaurant and catering facilities as well as the hotel. Thanks again, hope to see you visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This is not a Holiday Inn or Marriott or Hilton -- and so you really can judge it against the chains. It simply doesn't have the same hotel standards -- but it was not a bad stay! But it is a very clean, nice hotel. I enjoyed the old style mini-bar in the rooms (which were huge). The rooms do not have the modern feel that a new hotel would have, but they are very spacious, clean and the bed was HUGE, and most importantly comfortable.

I really enjoyed my time at this hotel, it was a beautiful building. Not located in downtown Morristown, but in a nice quiet, location.

They have a little restaurant attached to it that looked nice, I wish we had had time to stay and eat -- maybe next time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcarthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and for visiting our hotel. I am glad you found the rooms spacious and very clean and enjoyed the comfort of the "huge" bed. When you return please try our award winning restaurant Rod's Steak and Seafood and more importantly take comfort in knowing that our standards are even higher then the Hilton, Marriott and Holiday Inn chains (I can say this comfortably since I worked for both Holiday Inn and Hilton Corp. for almost 15 years). We are more in line with the standards of a Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons as evidenced by the comments the hotel has recieved since I took over in April, 2010. We are an upscale, luxury, boutique hotel with an award winning fine dining restaurant and a casual upscale tavern opening soon (GK's Red Dog Tavern) with uncompromising levels of service. Take a moment to read the comments on Trip Advisor, that is a small percentage of those we recieve on a daily basis and our far better then almost all branded hotels in our area. Once again, thank you for staying with us and please visit again.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
862-345-5500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simplify4y@ymail.com
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Enjoyed our stay with clean spacious rooms, great continental breakfasts and free parking. Convenient to Drew and other points of interest. Exercise room good, except 2 machines were broken. The only reason for the 4 stars is the lack of recycling! No place for recycled bottles, cans or paper. This is very disconcerting and I hope this changes soon.
There is no reason why this small inn is unable to provide recycling services and promote a greener environment. My understanding is NJ mandates recycling. Hope to see this inn get on the green wagon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcarthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for your kind words and honesty. Your comments led me to hire an oustside service to maintain our exercise equipment as well as create a checklist for both my engineering team and the managers on duty to ensure all our equipment is well maintained and working all the time. In regards to energy conservation and becoming more "green" we are slowly making some changes starting with changing all non three way bulbs in the guestrooms to energy effecient bulbs. It is a slow and costly process but one we are commited do. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I didn't know what to expect, but this was a trip planned by my company, so I was ready for anything. The Madison has an great building, very colonial, and the staff was very helpful.

The room, however, left a lot to be desired. It had not been renovated (or if it was, it was minimal). I found a spider and some ants in the sink. The furnishings seem out-dated, there were stains on the wallpaper and the dark rug, and the A/C was loud when it was turned on.

The bed itself wasn't too bad, there was a variety of different types of pillows to pick and choose from. The writing desk was too small, but they made up for it by having a lot of electrical outlets throughout the room and the desk. The channels on the television were limited.

There was a mini bar and coffeemaker included, as well as a hair dryer.

There is also a turndown service which left you a chocolate and the next day's weather report.

There was also wi-fi throughout the building, including in the price of the room.

Their conservatory was used for our group meals and it's a gorgeous place. We also had dinner at their restaurant, Rod's, which was a pleasant experience, but not necessarily extraordinary.

Overall, it was a good stay, the service is very good, the staff very helpful and accommodating. I just wish the rooms had been better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

The Madison Hotel in Madison, New Jersey, close to Morristown and less than an hour train ride to Manhattan is a find. Historic site, beautiful restaurant and conservatory for weddings, parties. Outside garden patio, lobby that makes you want to stay for hours, lovely breakfast, what else could you want? The Convent Station train station is steps away and is a very easy trip to the city, but there is plenty to do in the Morristown area too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.