We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergoing construction, so be careful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Madison Hotel to your Saves list
The Madison Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Undergoing construction, so be careful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great hotel, just across the parking lot from the train to the City (or Morristown), but they are renovating rooms and you might get one right next to the bathroom jackhammers like me. I did complain (they said I'd gotten a letter, which I did not) and eventually, they lowered my rate. But be careful to ask where they are renovating and don't stay there. The restaurant and bar are fab but be careful of all the wedding venues filling those spaces. The pool is small but wonderful. The staff is wonderful (especially Nadia) but the managers are less so. I love the walk to the 2 college campuses (St. Elizabeth's and Fairleigh Dickenson) from the hotel, but the sidewalks there are a bit precarious. Again, be careful and ask the helpful parts of the staff before you start out. This hotel is quite hie if you are careful...

Room Tip: Ask about renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly do appreciate them and you made Nadia's day by saying she was wonderful. It was nice to hear that you found the hotel nice, the restaurant and bar fab, the pool and staff wonderful. Sorry you did not get the letter informing you of the renovation but I am glad the managers were helpful and able to remedy the situation to your satisfaction. Future guests need not worry, over half the bathrooms are renovated up to this point (all will be completed by 10/2/13) and I must say that our guests have found them to be absolutely beautiful with everything that anyone can ask for. I encourage readers of Trip Advisor that when making a reservation at the Madison Hotel to feel free to request a room with a new bathroom. I would love to hear what you think of them. When it comes to noise due to renovation I guarantee it will not start prior to 8AM Monday through Friday (9AM on Saturday and Sunday) and will end no later then 6PM. In addition, approx. 20-25 rooms are being renovated in any given 12 day period. Within that 12 day period jackhammering will only happen on average one of those 12 days. So, for the rest of the 11 days rooms are under construction you probably will not even realize anything is going on. Thanks for pointing this out so I had a forum to let the public know about our exciting new guest bathrooms. I hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ and if it is prior to October 2nd please ask for one of the newly renovated bathrooms.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    130
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
122
129
32
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Madison is a charming place that is very serene but has all the amenities including a world class restaurant (Rod's).A great buffet breakfast served in a beautifully appointed great room(lobby) and the Jersey Transit stopping 100 yards from the front door (train is electric & very quiet.) A great way to access Manhattan in 30 minutes from a bucolic setting!
We will never stay in Manhattan with this lovely place available to us.

Fred & Linda Colton
DeLand, FL

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Mr. and Mrs. Colton,

We will happily be your base for all trips to Manhattan. We look forward to having you as a guest again and appreciate your business and kind words. It was especially nice to read that you called the hotel a "Gem" and Rod's restaurant "World Class". Thank you and hopefully we will see you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My child is a student at FDU and when I contacted The Madison Hotel and mentioned that I was looking for a room because of my child, they gave me an AMAZING rate! The breakfast is small, but VERY nice with LOTS of fresh fruit and YUMMY New York BAGELS! The beds are VERY comfortable and the rooms a nice size with PLENTY of parking. The indoor pool is VERY nice also and there is a LOVELY court yard in the middle of the hotel with tables so you can relax outside. Kindles are provided in the main area for your use too! The only draw back is the ac units in the windows are very noisy. So, be prepared.

Room Tip: Get a room that is on the corner of the building so that you have windows on 2 walls, the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. we really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast, Kindles, comfortable beds, very nice pool and lovely courtyard. I hope you and your family will continue to stay with us whenever you visit FDU or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for our anniversary and we had a great experience all around, from a very friendly helpful staff, to a great room. I booked us the romantic package and everything from booking it to our stay, the champagne, rose and strawberries and more were perfect. As for the food at the restaurant Rod's, it was mouth watering good, from the Steaks, the appetizers to the desert, and the cost was reasonable, as well as the buffet selection and quality of the food.

I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone, on a pleasure or business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. I am glad you both enjoyed yourselves and that you found the food mouth watering, the room great and the staff very friendly and helpful and most importantly that you would highly recommend both the hotel and restaurant. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future and if you are looking for something a little different you could try another one of our available packages which can be found on our website.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkhorn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have had many stays at the Madison and many excellent experiences. It is a very comfortable hotel with nice rooms and the lobby is a very nice place to relax in the morning - unlike the usual sterile hotel lobby. It has a fireplace and a great breakfast selection. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, particularly Christine and Nadia at the front desk. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. Christine and Nadia are very thankful that you took the time to single them out. They are two of my three Rooms Division Supervisors and play a huge part in making sure everything goes just right when you stay with us. As you can see from reading the Trip Advisor comments they are doing a very good job. I was happy to read that you found the lobby and rooms nice, the breakfast great and you highly recommended us. Thank you for being a frequent guest and if you haven't already don't forget to sign up for STASH Rewards and receive points for each dollar spent on eligible room rates. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budd lake, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Rod's (1890's then) Steakhouse a few days before our wedding to exchange gifts. That was 2003. For our 20th anniversary we returned, and included a one-night stay at the hotel.
On arrival in the beautiful lobby, we were greeted by very cheerful and professional staff. Our room must have been recently refurbished because it was flawless.
We were pleasantly surprised to find it was still happy hour at the Red Dog Tavern and enjoyed a drink and a tasty snack.
At dinner in the breathtaking dining room we were transported back 20 years; it was amazing. The food was unbelievable. Escargot, beef tenderloin and rack of lamb were all fantastic. When in doubt between medium and medium rare; go with medium rare, I did. Our waiter and even the manager were very welcoming and took the time to make us feel special.
We will be back again but won't wait 20 years to do it. Our son turns 16 this month and loves rack of lamb.
Thanks for a great experience.
Don

Room Tip: Renovations are in progress. We were lucky; ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Happy Anniversary, I am thrilled that we were able to be such a big part of your families life. I also would like to wish your son a happy birthday. Let him know the rack of lamb is waiting for him. It was nice to hear you found the newly renovated bathrooms flawless and the food unbelievable. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you and your family as our guests much more in the future.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel many times and it is always a treat. But we noticed (and so have fellow Trip Advisor reviewers) that the rooms, and especially the bathrooms, needed a facelift. Happy to report the bathrooms are being renovated. We were fortunate to have stayed recently in a redone room. Great shower! Such an improvement. Keep it up, Madison Hotel. See you again, soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Although not quite "Fernando's Hideaway" I was thrilled to see that you loved our new bathrooms and especially the shower experience. Thank you again for being loyal to The Madison Hotel and we look forward to having you as a guest whenever you need to escape NYC for a night away or a great meal. Don't forget we are only a short train ride away. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.