We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for business guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Madison Hotel to your Saves list
The Madison Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice place for business guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We used the Madison Hotel to host some business guests this past December. It was nice that they provided a warm breakfast and coffee in the morning and it was decorated very nicely for the holidays. The rooms can use some upgrading however the hotel in general is very nice. The restaurant is also fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We know you have many choices in the area to stay and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the number one ranked hotel as ranked by Trip Advisor guests in Morristown. It was our pleasure having you as a guest and I am glad you enjoyed the holiday decorations, breakfast, 24 hour a day coffee, tea and hot chocolate as well as the "fabulous restaurants". Please stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    130
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
122
129
32
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean County NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I came with my children during winter break and stayed at The Madison. The staff catered to all our needs and provided us with adjoining rooms near the pool and fitness center upon request. We especially enjoyed playing complimentary board games in front of the cozy fire place with our kids. I would definitely recommend The Madison Hotel to anyone who needs a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel with your family. We always enjoy having the children here and I am glad we were able to accomodate your requests. It was our pleasure and we thank you for recommending us and we hope you will visit us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family and I had to spend two nights at this hotel because our house was being renovated.
This hotel stands out from many chain hotels, Proximity to New York and Short Hills Mall as well as presence of a great restaurant" Rod’s Steak & Seafood Grille" definitely makes this hotel a place to stop by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family and I had to spend two nights at this hotel because our house was being renovated.
This hotel stands out from many chain hotels, Proximity to New York and Short Hills Mall as well as
presence of a great restaurant" Rod’s Steak & Seafood Grille" definitely makes this hotel a place to stop by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and loved the atmosphere or this place and enjoyed the restaurants and bars. The food was great and the staff was enjoyable. After a trip to NYC was canceled due to weather and driving conditions not ideal for travel we were very happy to be in such a fun and welcoming place. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback as well as your business. We appreciate your comments about the great food and enjoyable staff and were thrilled to hear you loved the atmosphere (finding it fun and welcoming) and would definitely stay here again. We hope you will recommend us and stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I have had the good fortune of staying at The Madison Hotel twice in the past year. Each stay starts with NJ's friendliest front desk staff. In the winter, the smell of the wood burning fireplace in the middle of the sunken lobby catches your senses along with the large cookies on the counter when you are checking in. Breakfast each day is served in the lobby. Unlike most other hotels, the executive staff of the hotel within earshot of the front desk enabling them to know what is going on first hand. With the Convent Station NJ Transit station located just across the parking lot, getting on a train to Newark or NYC is a breeze. The 2 restaurants at the Madison are great and Morristown and Madison offer plenty of great options as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for posting comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. The staff and I appreciate your comments about the friendliness of the front desk staff as well as the placement of the executive staff. I was happy to hear you enjoyed the fire in our sunken lobby, our complimentary cookies and breakfast and I hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Unlike most guests that will be frequenting this hotel, I was there for an extended stay. Some of the things that bothered me the most would probably not be so burdensome to someone just enjoying a weekend stay.

Pros:
- Great location for this area of NJ. The train station is easily walkable.
- The hotel lobby has beautiful antique charm, the woodwork is stunning.
- Both restaurants attached to the hotel are good and have outstanding bar service.
- I stayed in the hotel for two weeks right before the holidays and got to see many holiday parties, they decorated for these beautifully.
- The majority of the front desk staff are warm and friendly.
-The rooms are large.
- The evening bellman and driver is an absolute pleasure to be around. I always felt that he went the extra mile.

Cons:
-This hotel is in need of major, major renovations! The television in my room was at least 10 years old, the curtains, carpet and wallpaper were all in dire need of an update. My outlets in my room were so worn I could not charge my phone or laptop bedside as the chargers just kept slipping out of the wall. Their blow dryers in room are all in one wall unit that barely work.
-THERE IS NOT A THERMOSTAT!!! They have window units that you must switch on and off for temperature control. (motel 6 much?) Which was a huge inconvenience. I had to basically hotbox my room before bed and wake up fifteen minutes early to turn on the heat so I wouldn't freeze getting out of the shower. I woke up cold several times.
-My key stopped working numerous times, I travel at least 18 weeks a year and I am beyond confident that I wasn't doing anything to deactivate the key. I also ran into several people at the desk having the same problem.
-Room service got my order wrong. every, single, time.
-One afternoon front desk attendant is horribly, horribly rude. I have no idea why she is working in customer service.

In conclusion, if you're coming for an event and just need a place for a night or two stay The Madison Hotel it's an okay place. Otherwise, don't even think about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I really do appreciate the feedback. I most say however that many, many guests stay with us for months at a time in fact we currently have three guests that have been here for over a year and in the past have had many guests that have stayed weeks and even months at a time. They stay with us for many of the reason you mentioned above including the large rooms, excellent location, good restaurants and bar, warm and friendly front desk and bell staff as well as complimentary local calls, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary internet as well as complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa, hot apple cider and cookies and finally the beauty and comfort of the hotel itself. The other items other than the thermostat and decor (which is loved by most who stay here as evidenced by most of the comments you see below must remain traditional looking to ensure it flows nicely with the lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms, etc. If our rooms were modern looking it would not fit with the rest of our property which you said was beautiful) are readily fixable if they do not please the customer. We would have been more then happy to replace the outlets if they were causing you problems or replace the hair dryer if you felt it had to be. The TV's although bulky are much less then 10 years old and although not as sleek as the new flat screens on the market today work beautifully and are all but covered by a beautiful wooden armoire. I am not sure what happened with your keys, it does happen here just like it happens at all hotels but it is more rare here than at other hotels I have worked at and not something we hear many complaints about. I urge you to try us again and if something does not meet your expectations, let anyone on the staff know (including me) and we will make it right for you. Thanks again for your business and I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. We are the number one ranked hotel in Morristown and have been for almost two years because we try our best and are committed to providing the BEST service, cleanest hotel and friendliest staff. If we fail at any of those please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.