We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Madison Hotel to your Saves list
The Madison Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Freehold, NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I was totally impressed with the caliber of this hotel for the price we paid. The lobby area is very warm and welcoming. The availability of coffee/tea was certainly a plus. The included continental breakfast was also more than expected. Didn't have a chance to eat at Rod's but hoping to get up that way again in the Spring.

Room Tip: If you would like to get in some walking there is a paved trail beyond the railroad station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments about The Madison Hotel on Trip Advisor. The team and I are happy that you were totally impressed, found the lobby warm and welcoming, the cold breakfast buffet better then expected and enjoyed the coffee/tea/hot chocolate that is available all day every day. We look forward to your return and hope you will stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ because as you said we are truly a "great value".

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    118
    49
    13
    9
See reviews for
112
117
30
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Have stayed in past years on business. Last five years have stayed for R&R. Have always been treated as a frequent guest by all the staff. Parking is easy. Train to New York City feet from the hotel parking lot (along city block). Room Service quick and always been hot. What I like best is is a family own hotel an not just another chain hotel. The room has always been very clean and have always paid a fair price. The bellhops can not do enough for the guest an always have time for just one more question.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments, your loyalty to The Madison Hotel and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. The team and I hope you will continue to stay with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylerville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My son lives lives in Morristown and he recommended The Madison for our visit. It was a great choice. Nice looking property. Very nice comfortable lobby area. Front desk staff was very efficient and friendly to deal with upon check-in. Room on 4th floor was very comfortable, clean and nice. King size bed - awesome. Complimentary breakfast buffet in lobby had good selections. A great value for the room rate paid. My son was running in the NYC Marathon, so upon checkout, we walked across the parking lot to pick up the train to Penn Station. So easy and convenient if you want to visit NYC, but not stay in the NYC. We shall be returning soon and are looking forward to trying Rod's Steak House for sure!

Greg D

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Congratulations on your son running in the NYC Marathon, I hope he was happy with his time. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel; complimentary breakfast buffet had "good selections", room "very comfortable, clean and nice", front desk staff "very efficient and friendly", we appreciate your feedback. I also was happy to know you thought of the hotel as a "great choice" and a "great value". We look forward to you returning to us soon and hope you get to try Rod's Steak and Seafood Grille when you do.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed for one night, the night that my high school reunion was held at the hotel. My room was well decorated, and very clean although the peripheral area of rug near the wall had some dust that could be easily removed with a vacuum attachment. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The closet space was part of a large attractive wood unit that opened up to a flat screen TV, a set of drawers (all very clean inside), and on both ends a tiny bit of closet space, one side of which was used for an ironing board and iron; the closet space was fine for the one night, but if two people were to stay overnight for several days it would be insufficient. That being said, I was happy with the room, which was above average in quality. The hotel is very attractive, with a nicely decorated lobby area, and the food served at the reunion buffet was very good. The continental breakfast was generous and had more than enough food. I was surprised there wasn't a safe in the room. There are safes at the hotel desk which are limited in size; I was able to store my Nook and my wallet in there but if I had desired to store a laptop it wouldn't have fit in the largest size safe box, which I was shown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for visiting Trip Advisor to comment about your stay. Your comments about the property, "very clean room, "bed and pillows very comfortable", "very attractive hotel", and "generous breakfast buffet" are much appreciated but the fact you recommended us to others is the highest compliment we can ask for. Thank you for doing that and please stay with us whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Very cute hotel, especially the lobby which was a comfortable place to read and just relax. Everything is spotless and clean! Our room was very comfortable and quiet, especially at night when the hotel events ended which is often a loud and annoying time at other hotels. I realized I had forgotten some toiletries and within 5 minutes of requesting them, they were brought to my room! We ordered Rod's (steakhouse attached to hotel) room service for dinner. The food arrived hot and was absolutely delicious! Also in a great location! Plenty of shopping, eating and things to do nearby! I went to a wedding here several years ago and I remember the party room being beautiful and decorated tastefully, and having a wonderful time! Both of my experiences at the Madison were excellent and I can't wait to return for another stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments, the team and I truly appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay on Trip Advisor as well as your business. I am glad you found everything "spotless and clean" and the food "hot and absolutely delicious". We look forward to having you return as our guest whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusettes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We loved the idea of staying away from the chain hotels, and the Madison fit the bill. The hotel is a bit dated, and they do a LOT of special events in the beautiful Atrium, but the restaurant is great and you will never know that there is a wedding in the next room! We have stayed here twice. On our first stay we ate in the restaurant, and the next time we ate at the bar and watched the game. Both times the food and service were very good. The first room we checked in to was lovely. On our second stay, the room was fine, but the TV kept kicking off, annoying for a fan whose team was playing! Maintenance came promptly and fixed the problem. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on two separate occasions and for trying our two fine restaurants. We truly do appreciate your business and hope you stay with us whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here during Hurricane Irene and the staff was great. They went out of their way to accommodate guests and they were VERY well prepared. Flashlights were in every room along with emergency instructions.

We ate at Rod's, the restaurant attached to the hotel, which is arguably the best steak house in NJ and better than most in NYC. The meal was exceptional.

My only complaint would be that the rooms seemed outdated. They are far from modern, but at least spacious.

The restaurant and service skewed our opinion favorably. Otherwise, some people may be annoyed with the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for acknowledging how prepared we were during Hurricane Irene, I am glad to know that in spite of the dangerous weather we were able to keep you safe and secure. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed our award winning steak and seafood restaurant Rod's and I hope you visit us again whenever you visit northern NJ or NYC.

Scott McArthur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.