We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power Outage respite stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Morristown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Morristown to your Saves list
Hyatt Morristown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Speedwell Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960 (Formerly Headquarters Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
NJ
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Power Outage respite stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed one night with DH and Blondie (15) after 5 dark, miserable nights cooking one pot meals on our gas stove, pouring water into the tanks to flush our toilets (electric pump doesn't work if no electricity), playing Yahtzee in front of a wood fire and sleeping in the cold. Price $125.30 plus $20 for rollaway; which suggests they were NOT taking advantage of the hard-hit Morris County powerless.

Bed was comfy with lots of pillows. Unusual but effective lights on either side of bed - rheostats. Clock easy to program as backup to cell phones (Blondie had to be at school half an hour away pretty early!). Bathroom very nice with the usual amenities. View a little bizarre since really all you can see is HQ Plaza and High St/Cattano Ave leading up to the Court House and Fort Nonsense behind - none of the real "town" part of town, but the window was big and the blinds worked well.

Staff kind and considerate of our situation. This is essentially our home town (live elsewhere now, but grew up here and still attend church and work in Morristown) so we were pleased and feel confident that we can recommend to visitors. We are extremely grateful that they decided not to charge us for the second night when they heard our power had been restored in the morning - this is not their usual policy and it was SO nice to get a break - thanks, Hyatt!

Quibble (only because we lost hundreds of dollars of food and have about a thousand dollars worth of tree damage): Internet access $11.95? We skipped it.

Didn't try room service or eat in restaurants (power outage has been expensive, so went to good ol' Friendly's for dinner), but have attended functions here and food pretty OK.

Recommend you try The Artist Baker on High/Cattano for breakfast or lunch. One of the best bakeries on the east coast. Seriously, you will love the incredibly fresh baked goods and soups.

Thanks again to the Hyatt staff for a welcome respite from the October Surprise!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    140
    88
    24
    20
See reviews for
83
80
48
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at this Hyatt to attend a family function. They were very helpful with grouping our rooms. Food was very good in the restaurant. The rooms were very nice and quite large.
Parking was easy and free. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Morristown is a charming city with some quaint shops and a pretty centrally located park
that invites a stroll. The Hyatt is a good choice because you can walk everywhere from
it. Also,there's an attached large movie-plex which you can access by walking underground...
ideal if you have some time to kill or there's inclement weather, both of which we experienced
on our visit. As one would expect of a Hyatt, the staff is attentive and well-trained. There
are a few different eating choices. The rooms are large and well-appointed with a great
bed and luxurious linens. There's an underground garage for parking which is frequently
crowded because of conventions, weddings, etc. Not always easy to find a spot right away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton, nj
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was taking a class in Parsippany and used Hotwire to book a room. Got a great deal on this hotel compared to its list price, but I was not fond of how the hotel nickel and dimed you. Wireless was 11.99 per night, although the gracious Matt comped it for me. Continental Breakfast was around 15 and around 24 for the buffet. There was no gym except for a club adjacent to the hotel. If I had added in all these things, it would not have been a deal at all! Free wi-fi seems to be the standard these days, so why gauge business travelers?? The room was very nice but I was disappointed there were no bathrobes. And the placement of the desk made working and watching TV not very easy to do. Anyway, it was one night. It was a comfortable bed. It worked for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorristownHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Morristown, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
We appreciate your feedback on your recent visit to the Hyatt Morristown. We are very sorry that you felt "nickled and dimed" It is our goal to provide and exceptional experience that our guests will feel is a tremendous value for the price paid. We offer many rates that include breakfast and/or internet so our guests may choose what is most important to them. It is great to see that a member of our staff went above and beyond to add value to your stay by providing complimentary internet. Random acts like this reinforce the value our staff adds to every stay. Our full breakfast buffett is available for $18 and includes over fifty hot and cold offerings as well as juice and coffee. Our health club partner The Club is available providing 40,000 sq. ft. of membership quality equipment, private classes and an indoor pool at no extra charge to guests of the hotel. We are disappointed that we were unaware of your desire for bathrobes as had we know we could have placed them in your room prior to your arrival. Bathrobes are available for all of our guests upon request. Again, we are very sorry that you felt the value was not in line for the rate you obtained through Hotwire. We encourage all of our potential guests to review all the rates available prior to reserving so they are able obtain the best possible match for their needs. We hope that we will have another opportunity to host you soon and if I may assist in any way please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

It's okay, but the place is falling apart a little bit. The doors to the rooms are banged up, and the furniture and rugs in the room are also banged up, have nicks and holes and looking beaten down. Not a huge deal-- but why is it, for the cost of one night at these hotels, they can't deliver at a level that they are charging? The decor of the room is kind of nice-- there are some sleek, modern lighting fixtures and accents. The carpets are black with loud, circular patterns that are okay, depending on your taste. The lobby is huge-- who knows why it's so huge?--- and the bar, although very visually attractive, always tends to have a seedy feeling-- more drunk and depressed than festive. Front desk staff is nice, and the parking is validated / free with is nice. Internet's not free. Depending on where you are placed in the hotel you'll either have a view of the parking lots or a view of the hills surrounding the town. The window insulation from noise outside is poor. Housekeeping is average (it's almost a surprise nowadays when the room is actually clean, and there's not lint everywhere and an unclean rug, which is what this place offers). The biggest downside to the hotel is this, and for which internet-reserving travelers must be warned: if you make your reservation through an internet travel site, they can put you in what they call a "smoker-friendly" room. What this translates to, without the veil of a marketing veneer is a "smoker's room." They tell you that there's an air filter, etc., which is true, but that only adds to the already amplified sound of fans going. A room where there are smokers is a room where there are smokers, and the smell will never go away no matter how much you spray it and vacuum it. For those who are not smokers, or who do not like that smell that you get in your clothes when you leave a cheap hotel where smoking is prevalent, or the smell of cigarettes in your sheets, this brings the experience down several notches. It's hard to argue when you show up at midnight to check in and they tell you that all you have this smoker's room, I mean "smoker Friendly" room , and that's what they give to internet-bookers, take it or leave it, you do tend to look for another place next time around, which is, of course, what we will be doing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorristownHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Morristown, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your stay here with us. I would like to apologize for your experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and clearly this was not the case on your visit. I certainly understand how being placed in a room where smoking has been allowed is extremely disappointing. I would like to make it clear that the fact that you booked your reservation through a third party has nothing to do with being placed in any particular room type. We attempt to accomodate the room type requests of all of our guest's without regard for the source of the reservation. It is true that we prepare the few rooms in which smoking is allowed with an air filtration system, as well as a special cleaning process. This is to provide a hospitable environment for our guests who prefer to smoke. Again, we are very sorry that you were unable to enjoy your visit. We take all feedback seriously and view it as a way to continually improve our products and services. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if you would like to further discuss the details of your visit. We would love to have you back on your next trip to Morristown and welcome your email so we can make this happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The service here was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially the front desk staff. Nothing seemed too much of a problem. The rooms were a bit dated, but I had come to Morristown for a conference, so the hotel did its job wonderfully. The breakfast buffet was also good. Location is great being right in the centre of the town. If you are in Morristown for business this is the place to stay. Only complaint as ever is that the internet was an extra, which in a business hotel in particular should not be the case.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a very attractive hotel, but with issues. The hotel is very impressive at first. The common areas are very refined, attractive, and impressive. I was excited. Then, I got to my room, and the excitement died out. The room was very small for this level of hotel, however it may have been an abnormally small room for this hotel since I bid on Priceline. The room appeared very "three star" to me. It was very spartan, bare, and did not match the style of the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was small, a bit scuffed up, and seemed utilitarian. If you like rather soft mattresses, you'll love the beds here. It was my favorite hotel mattress so far. The air conditioner is a loud old style window unit, which is unacceptable at this hotel class. Service did not meet my expectation for this star level. Sadly, it turns out I had food poisoning (not from the hotel). I was awakened in the middle of the night by getting ill, and needed my bed changed. Somebody brought me sheets, but wouldn't change them. He wasn't a housekeeper. I was giving him a twenty dollar bill since it was gross, and he declined it and just gave me the sheets. I was confused. The room couldn't be cleaned/mopped until the next day...despite...the unpleasantness. While this is normal at mid-level hotels, I would a expect a 3.5-4 star hotel to have 24 hour housekeeping. The location in downtown Morristown is great, and parking in the garage is free and easy. For my priceline bid, or if the room were paid for by an employer, I'd be content to return again. However, I've seen the rates at this hotel go into the 200-300 range. While it's a beautiful looking place in a great location, I just don't think the rooms and the service are in line with that cost in the suburbs.

Room Tip: I would ask about room sizes and see if you could get one of their larger sized rooms if there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorristownHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Morristown, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hyatt Morristown on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that you found the service of the hotel to be lacking. We strive to exceed the expectations of all our guest's and your experience with a difficult situation in the middle of the night is contrary to our commitment to service. At 400 sq ft our rooms are among the largest of any hotel in the area. Our guest room design is focused to take advantage of the expansiveness of our rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed our signature Grand Beds as they are favorite of our frequent guests. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to review your expectations for appointments within the rooms so that we may improve for all of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Morristown

Address: 3 Speedwell Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960 (Formerly Headquarters Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morristown
#4 Business Hotel in Morristown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Morristown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Morristown is centrally located in downtown historic Morristown. Surrounded by over 30 restaurants and shops within walking distance. Recently completed 10 million dollar renovation. We offer Hyatt Gold Pass Port points and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Morristown Hotel Morristown
Morristown Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Morristown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.