We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Knew?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Malay
147 Morris St., Morristown, NJ 07960
973 538 3322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Cuisines: Malaysian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

From the outside, it looks like a rinky-dink place, but step inside, and you're transported into a chic, upscale establishment. It is beautifully decorated and tranquil. Service is professional, friendly, and respectful. They ooze with pride. For an appetizer, we ordered the Roti Canai. It's a large, super thin pita-like bread that is accompanied with a curry dipping sauce. Scrumptious! My lunch entree was the Vegetarian Sesame Chicken (minus the chicken; that's why it's vegetarian.). It was accompanied with two small spring rolls with dipping sauce, jasmine rice, and broccoli. It was excellent. My husband ordered the Beef Chow Fun Fried Noodles. It was extremely tasty. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Vernon,NJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Authentic,plentiful and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Had dinner here the other night. Four friends met for dinner. Food was plentiful and the food was fresh. Service was excellent! Waiters were very attentive. We had a great dinner, but passed on dessert. We did receive great complimentary cookies. Quite a nice touch to end a dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparta, nj
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good "express" lunch value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Can't beat the express lunch menu for $8.95 from 11:30 am to 3 pm. Got pad Thai which came with cup of soup with tofu, carrots, cabbage in light broth; main entree (choice of shrimp, chicken or vegetarian); and 2 small spring rolls with plum sauce. Very tasty. My daughter had the lettuce rolls with chicken, served with soup, two spring rolls, and white rice. She thought her meal was good. Fast. Inexpensive. Arrived 1 pm and numerous diners there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This isn't the best Thai food we have had but it is decent. The service is friendly and prompt, the only thing that I wasn't happy about is that the entries were not brought out together, we had to wait about 5 mins for the second entree thus th first started to get cold.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The authentic Thai dishes at Malay are the best I have had in New Jersey. Service is excellent and you even get complimentary delicious cookies as a treat after your meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malay also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Malay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.