We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere - A Little Noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GK's Red Dog Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
GK's Red Dog Tavern
1 Convent Road, Morristown, NJ
(973) 585-5700
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 129 restaurants in Morristown
Restaurant details
Carrollton, TX
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere - A Little Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I actually ate here twice in one day on a recent trip to New Jersey. I had lunch with a group of women who I hadn't seen in a long time. We were 6 at a round table. It was noisy and hard to hear each other. The food was great. I shared a Jersey Cheese Steak with my Mother and it was enough for both of us. They served it up on separate plates for us. When I came back in the evening there were only 3 of us so not so hard hearing each other talk. We all had the flatbreads and they were very filling and delicious. I used to come to this place years ago for drinks after work before they added this Tavern. It's a nice addition and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    14
    21
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The menu held a wide variety, which would meet everyone's dietary or "hungry for" needs. The service was great - a little noisy as we were dining during happy hour - but not so much so that we couldn't talk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relax....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful restaurant and bar. We sat at the bar and had oysters and a turkey burger - both were delicious. We would have eaten at the restaurant, but ran out of time. It is beautifully decorated and a place I would like to visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GK Red Dog Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

When being seated, the first room is cosy and pleasant, the second room is where the bar is, so if you're with children the ambiance is not as pleasant, but it's the third room that's the best; ask to be seated there because it has a fireplace.
The food was delicious, too, and ample portions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good food for in-house or to go.
Reasonable cocktails, and cold beer.
Service cheerful and polite, and live music btw Rod's
& GK's, was a nice touch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GK's Red Dog Tavern also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to GK's Red Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GK's Red Dog Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.