We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ambience, disappointing service, food is a tossup (either good or terrible)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille

Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
1 Convent Road, The Madison Hotel, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
973-539-6666
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 135 Restaurants in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $60 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Madison Avenue
Transit: New Jersey Transit Trains and Bus at our doorstep. Convent Station New Jersey
Description: Welcome to New Jersey's Legendary Steak House Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille, an area landmark and winner of New Jersey Monthly's 'Best Steakhouse' award, offers lunch and dinner daily as well as the finest Sunday Brunch in New Jersey. The restaurant's new design, rich wood paneling and highly polished brass, lends a classic elegance to the sophisticated atmosphere. For an intimate and unique experience, dinner aboard the private Parlour Cars is sure to be remembered. Formerly the private domain of the rich and famous, these beautifully refurbished, turn of the century railway cars are exquisitely complimented by the haute cuisine of Rod's esteemed Executive Chef.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great ambience, disappointing service, food is a tossup (either good or terrible)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

we've been many times. it's gorgeous but service and food are always spotty. it can be empty and you have to find a waiter. loses the 'special event' vibe (or even just restaurant expectations)you went for....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    63
    29
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rod's Steakhouse - Convent Station, NJ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A nice place for old world charm, decor and ambiance. The food quality is quite good but a bit pricey. The wine list, although extensive is cost prohibitive. The early evening specials are a great value but you must have your order in by 5:30 or 6:00 PM during the week and by 5:00 PM on the weekend but call ahead to be sure of the time. Crab cakes are excellent along with crab bisque. The lobster Mac and Cheese was tasty. Veggies and mushrooms were pretty good. This is an area landmark restaurant. The datenut bread is especially good. You can have drinks and dinner served in the balcony of a San Francisco whiskey palace with authentic carvings and lighting from a turn of the century pleasure palace, or dine in a vintage railroad car. They offer more casual dining at the Red Dog Tavern. We feel that it is well worth the trip for the overall experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Chop House with attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was pleased overall although my steak was overcooked. I had the filet and asked that I be cooked medium rare to medium. I know that is a tough thing to ask but expect to steakhouse to be able to accommodate. I didn't complain when my steak was served medium, although I am sure they would have corrected if I had said anything. I was with others and didn't want to make a big deal as everything else ordered was very good. Had the Ahi tuna, calamari, and Caprese salad as appetizers and all very good.

As with most chophouses, the sides are easily shared as they are large servings.

Nice environment and attentive service mad for a very pleasant meal overall.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rod's - Convent Station, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is an area landmark restaurant. Choose drinks and dinner served in the balcony of of a San Francisco whiskey palace with authentic (and huge) carvings and lighting from a turn of the century pleasure palace. Or dine in a vintage railroad car. Or for more casual dining, choose the Red Dog Tavern. Steaks are renown and huge. The datenut bread a legend. And if in the tavern, try the Red Dog martini. It can be pricey but delicious. Though the tavern is somewhat less expensive. Worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good ambience, disappointing steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We chose Rod's because of its very high Trip Advisor recommendation rating as the venue to celebrate my wife's birthday. If you like antiques and old world charm then you will love the decor and ambiance. The service was also fine, but the food and one of the drinks (a Shirley Temple) were disappointing. We ordered escargots (OK), crab cake (fine) and crab bisque (the best dish for the evening said my 10 year old who has a VERY wide palate and I agreed with her. Main courses included sirloin steak (OK), T-bone steak (OK) and lamb (OK) but they were somewhat tasteless although cooked as ordered. The lobster mac and cheese was interesting and somewhat tasty. Veggies and mushrooms were pretty good. Overall we expected this restaurant to really deliver the goods when it came to steak and it did not. This is no Capitol Grill. It is indeed pricey, but it did not deliver on the outstanding steak as anticipated.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.