We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some yes....some no” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morris Museum

Morris Museum
6 Normandy Heights Road, Morristown, NJ
973.971.3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Morristown
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Some yes....some no”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Over the years there have been some wonderful visiting exhibits. I especially enjoyed quilts as art. It was fabulous. Went back three times. The regular exhibits are ok but not worth a special trip as far as I'm concerned.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Eclectic collection in a superb setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Morris Museum is quite eclectic. The centerpiece seems to be the fascinating Guinness Collection of music boxes and automata. Automata were a fad coming out of Paris in the late 19th century. They were automated dolls or puppets - think "Hugo" the movie. There are lots of videos of the music boxes playing and the automata going through their moves, while the real items are carefully preserved behind glass. There is a demonstration every day showing how the various contraptions worked. Riveting! Other parts of the museum have old-style exhibits on trains, taxidermied animals, fossils, geology, and some small amount of older art. They also have a special exhibits room that was showing wild, new, playful and colorful art the day I was there. The earlier part of this museum is an old mansion. There is also a new, glass addition tacked on the back. Both areas are quite well done and a pleasure to walk around in. I only wish more of the mansion were open to the public - most of the rooms are offices and staff areas. The museum shop is quite good, too, with more interesting items for sale than many shops in much larger museums.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sometimes small museums are bigger than their package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have been to the morris Museum several times over the years and have seen some wonderful exhibits. WHile a museum of this size cannot compare with a major museum for scope and width of exhibits, they can often do a great job in the depth of an exhibit. The Morris Museum has strengths in Native American culture, geology, musical instruments and some truly lovely fine and decorative art. It is a wonderful place to take the kids, or spend a weekend afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Train Exhibitions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A wonderful Museum to visit in the Morristown area. It has permant exhibits and specials such as the Train Exhibit I was interested in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I grew up with this museum in my backyard. It keeps getting better with its ever changing exhibits and theatre for adults or kids alike. This is a perfect place to take kids on a rainy Sunday.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris Museum also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Morris Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.