We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families - Needs some repairs - noise problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Morristown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Morristown to your Saves list
HYATT house Morristown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Park Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960-4649 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Morristown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Seattle Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for families - Needs some repairs - noise problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for about a week while house hunting in NJ. We appreciated the considerable space, full kitchen, two full bathrooms, 2 bedrooms with king beds. The living room had a comfy sectional and flat-screen TV and DVD player that worked well for us. It did not, however, pass my "would I soak in the tub" test.

There were a couple of maintenance problems that we did not complain about, but that bear mentioning because it was obvious that the property could be better maintained. One mirrored closet door was shattered and the doors didn't open and close smoothly. Also, the one large burner on the stove didn't work.

Our main complaint was horrendous noise above our room. We later learned that three children had been left unsupervised while their parents went out, two nights in a row. They didn't answer when hotel staff knocked, and the staff refused to open the door because of the liability issues. The constant crashing of furniture, screaming and jumping around woke our small child, and we were just forced to live with it until the parents returned.

We were there for New Year's Eve as well, when the hotel apparently had extra security on site. Why on earth they couldn't tell that the room above us (new people had rented it) was Party Central until about 3am is beyond me. They said they'd take care of it but nothing was done.

It's only a three-floor hotel. Book a room on the top floor, report any maintenance issues and you'll have a fine stay.

  • Liked — Spacious and practical - small children can have their own bedrooms & you can stay up past 8!
  • Disliked — Noise problems not addressed, could be spruced up with a few maintenance tweaks
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
19
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We chose the Summerfield Suites due to the hotel's close proximity to Morristown Memorial Hospital. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite; spacious but standard in terms of decor and amenities. Since this property is a Hyatt, I had expected nicer furnishings, but it was closer to a less expensive suite hotel, such as a Comfort Inn. The room was clean, however there were a few annoying fruit flies which was a tad gross.

Each room had free internet access and there was Starbucks coffee available in the lobby 24/7. Another plus was the gym. It was small, but all of the equipment was brand new.
There was also a breakfast buffet that featured pastries, bread, cereal and two hot dishes. The eggs were a little odd, but the food is good for those that prefer continental choices.

Overall, our stay was fine and we'd recommend this property for those simply looking for a place to stay right by the hospital.

  • Liked — The gym and the Starbucks coffee
  • Disliked — The kitchens were a bit dated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

I travel regularly on business all over the world and have grown to appreciate the newly renovated Hyatt Place and other Hyatt Properties....This is not one of them.

At first, the decor seems nice but leaves much to be desired when it comes to details. It seems like an old worn hotel that has been recently renovated....50-60% renovated. The rest:
1. Electric Switches (old and don't always work)
2. Bathroom Decor (seems like a motel, or hotel mixed)
3. Front Desk Service (Very unprofessional and never in uniform, suit or at least a tie. Poorly groomed hair (Guys or Ladies is always in poor taste...as if they were going to a picnic or something). Look more like people that want to stick you up and not greet you at a a 3-5-star hotel front-desk.
4. New Flat Screen TV in Livingroom and then an Old Tube TV in bedroom
5. Old & Slow Elevator
6. No Room Service or access to take-out restaurants
7. Bathrooms are not very clean
8. AC/Heating system is outdated and noisy.

Found an Insect (not sure if it was a roach, water critter or some sort of cricket) next to my night table. Not a pleasant sight

  • Liked — Breakfast area
  • Disliked — Old, Worn Hotel & Poor Customer Service
Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on a business/leisure trip and for the most part it was a fine place to stay. We were supposed to arrive on a Thursday night and check out on a Sunday morning. However, our flight Thursday was cancelled due to weather. We called the hotel directly and explained that we wouldn’t arrive until Friday and that we needed to cancel that night’s stay. The first night’s rate was nearly three times the amount of the weekend rate. The clerk told us we were already charged for our stay and there was nothing she could do about it due to Hyatt’s cancellation policy. We felt this was unfair since the cancellation was not our fault. So we called Hyatt’s main number and were told “No problem. We can cancel that first night since your card hasn’t been charged yet.” Hmmm. Too bad the clerk wasn’t knowledgeable in this area.

Our suite was decorated in bright colors with throw pillows, a flat-screen TV (but no guide to the many channels), a TV in the bedroom, a small kitchen, desk and wireless internet (free). However, the room had an odd smell and we opened the window to air it out. Also, the bathroom renovation wasn’t the best; the baseboards were all chipped up and it just had the look of a quick paint-over with a new shower curtain. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample counter space in the bathroom. Having Starbucks coffee in the breakfast area was terrific!

The hotel is in a good location and since the weekend rates are very competitive we would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Plenty of space; free wi fi; Starbucks coffee.
  • Disliked — Odor in room; old-looking bathroom.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

The hotel is clean, with a nice flat screen tv. I liked the room decor and color scheme and the breakfast was good. All was good until I left my DVD in the room and tried to get it back, a couple hours after checking out. I called 4-5 times and spoke with multiple front desk people. The first person was unfriendly, unwilling to help, and bordering rude. Each time I called I was told I'd receive a call back because they would check for me, but I never received a call back. My mother-in-law even went to pick it up, but they didn't bother helping her get it. In the end, I never got it back, and no one knew where it went. It has somehow disappeared. I will not be recommending this to any future clients, since I am a travel agent. What a shame that this hotel has to have such negligant customer service when it really mattered.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

This hotel has now been upgraded to the new Hyatt Summerfield Suites standard. This means the guest rooms have new furniture, a new and quite comfortable pillow-top bed with duvet, new showerhead, curved shower rod, new lighting and carpet. The look is generally pleasant and a definite upgrade, but still of lower quality than most full service Hyatt hotels. It looks to me like the renovation of the bathroom was fairly limited however. If you look at the main web page for Summerfield Suites you can see what the new rooms are like.

The breakfast area and small, small lobby have also been given a makeover. If you stick to the “continental” offerings, the breakfast is not bad, but the hot food is pretty horrible. They also serve Starbucks Coffee which was a welcome surprise (unfortunately not in the rooms though)

There are some issues that are unfortunately pretty universal in suburban limited service hotels: Fairly poor sound proofing, when other guests close their doors you can feel the floor shake, noisy refrigerator, fairly noisy and gusty air conditioning, 100% fluorescent lighting (they even have the squiggly little fluorescent bulbs in the overhead recessed lighting in the kitchenette. Since this type of hotel is popular with families (especially on weekends), screaming kids can be an nuisance, especially at breakfast.

On the whole the rooms are pretty nice and far more spacious than an average hotel room. It’s not the Ritz, but it is a good value that is reasonably stylish and comfortable. For this type of hotel, it is certainly above average.

  • Liked — Spacious, newly renovated and good value weekend rates
  • Disliked — Noisy appliances and AC
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

We’ve used this hotel, and its sister property in Whippany, many times during the past five years or so. The staff has always been extraordinarily nice. Most of the public areas, including the breakfast room, are kept up nicely. The breakfast itself is just okay.
The rooms, however, and corridors have become very worn. Furniture and carpeting in the guest rooms is frayed and the overall feeling of the rooms is that they’re not clean. The bathrooms especially are in pretty rough shape.
I forgot to bring an Ethernet cable for my laptop and was told by the front desk clerk that the hotel was all out of them; even though the place was more than half empty.
The hotel guests, at least on weekends, seem to be an odd lot. During our most recent stay, I noticed one guy walking down the hallway with a 50 pound sack of rice and a five-gallon pot. I also saw a number of teenagers carrying liquor bottles, looking for a room. They didn’t create any disturbance, but it was a bit off-putting.
Overall, the hotel was nicer when a Wyndham. Last-minute Internet rates were more favorable, the bedding seemed better quality and the little goodies in your room --- for members of their frequent stay program --- are missed.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Morristown

Address: 194 Park Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960-4649 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Morristown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Morristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Morristown 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Morristown Hotel Morristown
Summerfield Suites Morristown
Hyatt Morristown
Morristown Hyatt
Morristown Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Morristown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.