We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painfully deafening.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Table

Urban Table
40 West Park Place, Morristown, NJ 07960
+1 973-326-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 120 Restaurants in Morristown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Urban Table, is located in the new complex of 40 Park Place on the Morristown Green. NJ Urban Table serves breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. The menu focuses on fun, casual fare. The atmosphere is bright and full of Urban whimsy. It offers full service bar featuring great wines, Trap Rock draft beers and delicious shakes and smoothies. We're sure Urban Table will become your new favorite spot to get together for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Don't forget to visit our new Urban Table location in Basking Ridge!
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Painfully deafening.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I cannot objectively comment on the quality of the food because when the four of us went there for lunch the volume of "music" was so loud we could not hear each other nor the wait staff. Halfway through lunch we asked the wait staff to have the music lowered but they replied that it was out of their control. The majority of patrons were having to speak very loudly to be heard over the din. I have read elsewhere that restaurant consultants advise that loud, lively music be played to increase turnover of the tables. It sure worked here. We could not wait to get out and will not go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    50
    34
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Expect More, Get Less!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to eat, it really just doesn't measure up to its outward appearance. I'd have to say the best thing about this restaurant is it's decor. The food isn't bad just not as good as you might think walking in. The service is also hit or miss, the team concept the they employ tends to leave no one tending to your needs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

In town on business and tried to get into their sister restaurant next door but no room which is a goog sign on on Wednesday. Took the chance on Urban Table which was also busy. Great food and service and well priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not off-the charts anything...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Atmostphere felt like a lively bistro in Europe with the Jersey "booths" option for seating. It was pleasant, but pricey for the ordinary-ness of the items. My friend liked her turkey burger salad. I got the eggs benedict for the hollandaise sauce. It was not exceptional but did hit the spot after a long run.
I think because I enjoyed my friend's company and the conversation I would come back. It's for the memory of the visit more than for the memory of the food.
I would have liked to have seen more vegetarian options. Everything seemed to be accompanied with bacon, turkey, steak....Maybe there was a burrito or two sans meat--one even stuffed with french fries, but not a healthy vegetarian option.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Urban Table can be inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the Mahi Mahi served with Farro and sautéed kale. The dish came swimming in oil. My daughter ordered a burger medium well and it came close to rare. We sent it all back and luckily when they sent out a new meal it was oil free and delicious! My daughter didn't want a new burger so the manager compd her dessert. Love Urban table.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Table also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Basking Ridge, NJ
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Urban Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.