We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, quaint place, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marjan Persian Grill

Marjan Persian Grill
84 Speedwell Ave, Morristown, NJ 07960
973-889-8884
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marjan Persian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cattano Avenue
Transit: 5 minutes from train station. Bus stop across the street by the Hyatt Hotel on Speedwell Ave.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good service, quaint place, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had occasion to be in Morristown for three nights and consulted TA for places for dinner. The No. 1-ranked restaurant turned out to be across the street from my hotel, and since I love Persian food I had to give it a try. Just a handful of other diners -- okay, it;s the week before Christmas and people may not be dining out much. Helpful service from a lovely older woman, aided by a lovely younger woman. I asked her to identify the house's best dish; reluctantly (claiming all dishes are excellent) she steered me toward the Cornish hen. It was dry and overcooked and not really bursting with the flavor I expected -- an average dish I would like to thing I could have done better myself, I really enjoyed the people, but the food was just fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“RICE ?? NO THANKS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

$ 16.00 rice and they use minute maid or something similar. Nothing special. Someone can make better food at home without knowledge of Persian cuisine. Yogurt, a little cucumber, chopped mint and voila'. Stirred fried eggplants minute maid rice, little yogurt??? Where is the creativity? Expensive for this type of quality. Mall food at 4 star restaurant prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

What a find. We were looking for a "new" restaurant in the area--and we were quite pleased with Marjan! The chicken kabobs, saffron rice, hummus, lamb chops etc., were terrific. Service efficient & friendly. Quite a pleasant experience. We will be back and bring more friends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Movie and Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Following TA reviews (thank you reviewers) we (5 of us) decided to take in a movie at HQ 10 across the street and then have dinner at Marjan. First, we agree with the positive reviews already here, but diners need to know that if you park in the HQ garage, see a show, and get your parking ticket validated you will wind up with free, convenient and safe parking for dinner as well, or at least we did.

One thing to add - take advantage of the appetizer combo options. Very colorful and tasty and almost a meal in themselves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food/Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been to Marjan on a couple of occasions and the only issue I have with the place is the parking. The food is excellent and the service phenomenal. Marjan has become our new "go to" restaurant in a town of nearly 100 restaurants! Thanks Guys!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjan Persian Grill also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Marjan Persian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjan Persian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.