We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are kidding right....#2.....NOT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Restaurant

Hibiscus Restaurant
270 South Street, in the Morristown Inn, Morristown, NJ 07960
(973) 359-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hibiscus Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Hibiscus is a unique find! Located in the heart of Morristown inside the Morristown Inn; a one of it’s kind, Hibiscus boasts a unique concept providing the first upscale but cozy Caribbean restaurant in New Jersey , the first in a hotel & the only place for Caribbean in town. Hibiscus prepares & presents for it's guests five star quality meals at unbelievably affordable prices. Never before have you had Traditional American & Authentic Island Cuisine (Jamaican) at it's best all in one place. Come & enjoy from Authentic Jamaican Jerk Chicken served with traditional rice & beans & fried plantains to our famous Rasta Pasta made with lightly seasoned Jerk chicken breast, sundried tomatoes & broccoli in a light cream sauce over penne or capellini to Steak House quality steaks, perfectly prepared & served with our gourmet mashed potatoes & vegetables al dente, Complete your evening with our to die for, Jamaican Rum flavored Bread Pudding & Cup of our renowned blue mountain peak coffee
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“You are kidding right....#2.....NOT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

So I have been reading all these reviews and scratching my head. So ok call me a sucker, I went back to see what I missed. I missed nothing! Basement of a hotel with fair food, this is the first time I think a restaurant got a bunch of friends to write a review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Carribean Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Small, cozy restaurant with live music. It was extremly relaxing and enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Sunny flavors from a basement location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went to a early Sunday dinner recently at this restaurant in the basement of the Best Western. The location is a little musty being a hot day but the flavors were clear and bright.

We started with the mixed appetizer of Jerk chicken, jerk shrimp and coconut shrimp. The chicken was the hands down favorite having a nice herby taste. There were two sauces, a tamarind based saucy that was sweet and very spicy. The other was a simple sweet and spicy sauce. The jerk shrimp were good and the loser was the coconut shrimp with an unpleasant coating.

We scanned the menu for something spicy and something for the less spice loving pallete. The ginger salmon with carmelized onion was juicy and well cooked with potatoes and vegetables. The spicy one was supposed to be the curried goat. We were told that somedays it is hot and some days it is very hot. With anticipation, I ordered the flavor of the day. What arrived was a goat that was slow cooked with a rich meaty flavor and a subtext of curry but no heat. The meat was definitely the star of this dish and good to the last bite. The plantain was soft and sweet side to the goat.

The dessert was the creme brulee. The creme was creamy but a slightly watery consistency. Next time, it will be the bread pudding.

The staff were warm and efficient and added to the meal. The interior was clean but not distinctive. The subdued painting neither added not detracted from a festival atmosphere.

For Carib flavor, it is a good place to go to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top-flight food; basement location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This little gem is hidden in the basement of a Best Western hotel making it difficult to find and a bit off-putting to enter. But don't let that stop you, consider it hunting for lost Caribbean treasure. The food was fresh, well-prepared and expertly seasoned. The Hibiscus sampler appetizer gave a variety of flavors and textures, and the sea bass in cilantro sauce was incredible - crispy on the outside; moist and smooth on the inside. The braised oxtails were so tender the meat fell off the bone and the flavor so rich and intense that we savored each morsel. We finished with the rum bread puddling - heavenly! An upgrade in the location and decor would bring this gem up to 5 stars ... but maybe up to $$$ as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville NY
1 review
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We could not believe that we found an authentic Caribbean restaurant at a Best Western Hotel.We looked over the menu and having been burned many times by what menus call spicy and we call wimpy, we asked the waiter if true Caribbean people were cooking the food. My husband ordered the whole red snapper "spicy" and I ordered the curried shrimp. We ordered calamari with cornmeal dusted with scotch bonnet pepper as an appetizer. The waiter came back to check that we were indeed ordering the fish whole and spicy. The calamari was wonderful - tasty and not rubbery. Both dishes were excellent and to top it all off, we shared the Jamaican Rum flavored bread pudding. It was a wonderful evening eating great food, listening to enjoyable music and talking to the owner. We wished we lived closer!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hibiscus Restaurant also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Hibiscus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.