We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but a bit over priced, and then no sides with an entree to boot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ming II

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ming II
3 Speedwell Ave., Morristown, NJ 07960
(973) 871-2323
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ming II is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cattano Avenue
Description: Ming II reinvents the Pan-Asian cuisine that Ming Restaurant, in Edison, NJ, has become famous for. Among the traditional Indo-Chinese, Malay, and Thai favorites, Chef Michael Chu prepares a wide array of mouth-watering delicacies. The intimate dining space has curved ceilings and soft-lighting to make it feel romantic and cozy. The breath-taking wine room features a wide array of wines from around the globe.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food but a bit over priced, and then no sides with an entree to boot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I dined here with another couple. The atmosphere is great! We didn't have reservations but we were able to be seated promptly because we were on the early side. This is Chinese/Asian/Indian influenced food.

We each ordered an alcoholic drink and entree, which by the way we were surprised that at their prices didn’t come with a side, not even rice. Food was really great. Portions were not as large like typical a Chinese restaurant but enough for one with a bit to share. We finished the evening with two coffees and two more alcoholic drinks. The night costs us $200 per couple. I left feeling it was a bit over priced for what we had when compared to our favorite Chinese place which is a BYOB.
.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Chinese doesn't get much better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This phenomenal restaurant is high-priced Chinese, but the unique and inviting atmosphere, not to mention the fine food, makes it worth the price and going out of your way to visit.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dining Space with Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This restaurant have very intimate & cozy dining space. Definitely great Indian food. It operates as Open Bar, but love that idea: fast service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with equally great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This location is a little different than their Edison location - both in ambiance and the menu. Restaurant location is a little strange - in an office complex setting but this restaurant is adjacent to their Mehndi Indian rest. and SM23(?) lounge. All three are NYC size and style - very modern and eclectic at the same time. Ambiance at Ming II was really nice - hardwood walls (yes, walls) with uplighting (lighting overall needs to be turned up a bit - hard to read the menu). Restaurant is not very big at all but it does serve alcohol from their lounge. Menu is a bit more varied than their Edison location - food, as usual, was a pleaser - no complaints except the chili paneer wasn't as good as it usually is (paneer too hard and the "taste" wasn't there). The appetizers (all veg is what we ordered) were sumptous and the hot-n-sour and coriander soups were excellent. Definite must go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Big menu - chef does not take special requests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I tend to prefer a healthier option to my meals -- I asked the chef to make a few tweaks and he was unable to do so. I wound up ordering a few appetizers which were good - but, was disappointed b/c would have like to have tried other things. Big menu.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming II also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Ming II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.