We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food thats Like India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mehndi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mehndi
88 Headquarters Plaza, Morristown, NJ 07960
9738712323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mehndi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cattano Avenue
Transit: 0.8 miles to NJ Transit
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Indian Food thats Like India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

One of the problems with eating Indian food with a big group (for a work dinner) is that the service is never flawless and the dinner winds up leaving people with the impression that Indian food isn't good enough.

This IS NOT THE CASE AT MEHNDI.. Sure, it may be a $1 or $2 too expensive, but its worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overpriced indian food, nice decor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

food was overpriced and the samosa was frozen when it came out. sent it back and recieved another frozen one? waiter rushed and was looking at other tables while taking my order. rushed out.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“service and food great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

just want to commend mehndi restaurant for all that went into a nice evening.
from the initial entrance and greeting through the entire service, everyone was exceptionally professional and welcoming.

the menu offerings were many and varied-it was difficult but fun to choose.
the food was authentic and delicious.
the atmosphere was relaxing.

but what made the evening such a success for us was the superb service. all staff were well-mannered and not at all abrupt-the service was calm, relaxing, and elegant. our exceptional waiter, karthik, was such a pro-he is top notch.
shaun and juliana accomodated our needs beyond expectations.

at the end of the evening, we found out that the actual OWNER of the restaurant, who had been kidding and talking with us beforehand, and spoke with us afterwards, was literally sitting a few tables away...what a fun surprise.

to summarize, we really appreciate the service and foods at mehndi restaurant.

and by the way: parking is a cinch, thanks to mehndi's fine website info: simply park under the hyatt, and get your parking validated after you dine.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a top notch Indian food restaurant. Look at the clientele around you, and you will see plenty of Indian people seek out this restaurant. This is a wonderful introduction to Indian food if you've never tried it. Waiters are helpful with recommending spicy vs. non-spicy etc etc. I am a big eater, and found the portions generous. I split an appetizer, had an entree, and split an order of bread and found it to be a bit too much food. While not cheap, the price is more than fair for the caliber of food you receive. The ambiance is slightly less "hip" than Ming, but still top notch and beautiful. I'm always excited to eat here when in Morristown.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went to dinner with my boyfriend on Saturday night his first time there and i've been to mehndi several times myself as always the wait staff very friendly and respectful and the food was amazing as always. We ordered the crab cakes and the papri chaat both dishes were excellent the crab cakes had an amazing taste to them; for dinner we ordered the lamb chops which were outstanding, the chicken kadi spicy but excellent, the paneer mehndi not a fan of spinach but this dish defitnely changed my mind, and the lentil dish the dal mehndi out of this world the rice was charged but that didnt change our mind about the excelent food and the great service. He was really impressed and is returning and bringing back co-workers and family WAY TO GO MEHNDI!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehndi also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Mehndi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mehndi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.