We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Thai seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Sea Recipes

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Andaman Sea Recipes
147 Morris St, Morristown, NJ 07960
(973) 538-3322
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 120 Restaurants in Morristown
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good Thai seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Went to Andaman with six friends on a recent Friday evening. We'd heard good things about it, saw that there had been a change in ownership, and that might have hurt the quality somewhat. Well, I'm here to tell you that is not the case. We each had a different main course, we shared appetizers, and all meals were terrific. Seafood all prepared well, appetizers and sides all quite good, service friendly and attentive.
Been looking for good Thai in the Morristown area, and we have found it at Andaman!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whippany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Owner..New Chef...that's the reason it went downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Under new ownership and a new chef that can't compare to the previous owner/chef.
Quality dropped big time and the amount of food is much less.

An American man owns Andaman now and knows nothing about Thai food.
He claims his mail-order-bride is from Thailand and cooks the food.....and that's what it taste like...a civilan acting as a chef.

I was a big fan of the old Andaman and found it to be the best and most consistant restaurant around.

Now, the new owner...who by the way is arrogant as he talks to you when we told him we loved the previous chef...claims his wife is a great chef...well SHE"S NOT!

The Waitress stayed and is very nice. Once they lose her, their new business will go out of business. They will not make it the way they treat old customers and the quality and quantity of food.

Won't ever go back....now I will go to Origin who is good but not as good as the old Andaman chef...who by the way the owner of Origin and the old Andaman Chef used to cook together in New York City before opening up thei restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sweetest Waitress but new owners quality of food dropped big time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I frequented Andaman Sea Recipes now called Thai Andaman Sea at least once a week for the past four years. In September they went under new ownership. Except for the head waitress who stayed the food quality fell big time. Although the previous owner was not a great businessman, he sure knew how to cook.....what a chef.
My diet consists of 70% Thai food as I have eaten in at least 40 Thai restaurants in State and out of State. The new chef at Andaman is okay at best and not worth the extra time or miles to go there.
The owner is an American male who seems very nasty and will lose customers with his not so friendly attitude.
The old Andaman was my favorite restaurant which you can always count on GREAT food and the most consistent restaurant I have ever eaten at.
I have been to the new Andaman about four times trying to recapture some of the magic the old Andaman had but failed.
I will never go back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best waitress ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

the food is very good but dont go if your in a hurry.it seems like the owner is pushing waiting staff to do many jobs other than waiting to save a buck.the waitress always disapears into kitchen to help cook,make deserts and salads.i feel so sorry to the girl working her heels soar.i look forward to a new owner or managment to correct the sweatshop attitude of selfish owner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Quiet delicious restaurant for Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The location of Andaman Sea in front of Morristown train station is maybe not the fanciest in the area, the external aspect of the restaurant would need more attention to be attractive (some bulbs in the restaurant sign have not been fixed for months), but when you have braved these obstacles and when the food is coming, you quickly forget them.
Excellent traditional Thai food, good selection, fair price (BYO) , kind service when many so-called "Thai" restaurants in the area are a junk mixture of Thai, Korean, Japanese, Chinese ... dishes.
In Adaman Sea , you really enjoy the Thai taste (try it spicy !).

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andaman Sea Recipes also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Andaman Sea Recipes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Sea Recipes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.