We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired these days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Campagna

La Campagna
5 Elm St, Morristown, NJ 07960-4109
+1 973-644-4943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A bit tired these days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was once the top Italian restaurant in the area, but no longer. It still serves decent food at acceptable prices and has the extra plus of being BYOB. It's not vital to note every entree, appetizer and dessert we ordered from the now pedestrian menu. There were no clunkers, but certainly no standouts. At one time the carpaccio and veal chop ordered would have "sung" here.No more. The kitchen has slipped a bit and the menu is tired. I can't vouch for the presence of new ownership others mentioned but this place needs to regain its zip. It's far from a loss cause. The service is still excellent as is the entire staff. The decor in the dining rooms is welcoming.. Perhaps all it needs is a bit of a facelift outside and more importantly, an upgrade in the kitchen and a bit of spiffing up of the menu

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I love this place. The pasta is great and the service is friendly and attentive. The have outdoor seating and great atmosphere. The mushroom ravioli is my fav.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We used to look forward to dining here, but the food is now mediocre to poor. The service is unprofessional. The menu selection may seem adequate but it is not varied sufficiently, if one does not like a common choice. The new owners are not keeping up the tradition of this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Tiny little romantic Italian restaurant! The food was excellent, I had a grilled shrimp dish with porcini mushroom risotto. It's also BYO which I always enjoy. The service was impeccable; The hostess even takes your coat before you sit down. I can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finest Northern Italian Food in Morristown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you want the best Northern Italian meal in a small, casual but elegant setting, this is the place to go.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Campagna also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to La Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Campagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.