We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan
127 South Street, Morristown, NJ
(973) 538-5601‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 132 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Hunan, Szechuan
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This restaurant has the BEST Chinese food. I have tried many other restaurants in the area and nothing beats cottage 2!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    2
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Morristown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Cottage II is my go to for Chinese in Motown. Always fresh, always good.

I mostly do take out, but have dined in. They've got a byob designation so bring a bottle of your favorite wine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chinese in a charming setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is our favorite Chinese restaurant in town. We dine in and take out. Their dishes are fresh, tasty, with generous portions. A good value and if dining in, a nice atmosphere with white tablecloths and a hot pot of tea on each table.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Popular lunch place in morristown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The place never disappoints and the food is consistently good. A pleasant lunch for a decent price with regular Chinese (some Thai) fare in the American style. I cannot count the lunches my colleagues and I had in the place. Returning is an endorsement in itself.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“mediocre food with a lot of insults on the side”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food is hit and miss, okay at best. And on the more expensive side. I did not enjoy being dismissed by the person who said he was the manager when I tried to correct an order. Then the yelling. I left this situation feeling intimidated and quite frankly a little concerned. If you do want to take a chance with the mercurial folk at the Cottage II with the hope of getting some just passable/okay food, be prepared for some anger from the staff if they mess up your order and (god forbid) try to correct it to get what you actually ordered. Go in a group, be confident and try not to be intimidated, expect some yelling and some false accusations. Maybe this is normal in Morristown NJ service industry. I'd love to hear what others have experienced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage II Hunan & Szechuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.