We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George and Martha's American Grille

George and Martha's American Grille
67 Morris Street, Morristown, NJ 07960
+1 973-267-4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George and Martha's American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 120 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: George & Martha's - American Grille
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lunch at George and Martha's is delicious and very reasonably priced. Dim lighting with a really cozy atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    27
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice find. Good food relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were working nearby and somewhat randomly selected George and Martha's from among several choices in the vicinity

Our server was very prompt and attentive. The ambiance was rustic and nice sized tables. The bar drink was stinger than a chain restaurant. I didn't care for the bread dip but the soups were excellent. I had the salmon which was served with quinoa - very good. My only negative was the menu had no solid vegetarian choices .

The owner was circulating and it sounded like he has a good marketing strategy etc.

A little pricy. But worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The ambience of this restaurant is warm and inviting. It all went downhill from there. The tablecloth was stained and dirty and the wineglass was sticky, as if it wasn't washed properly. That was just the beginning. Our appetizer was served mildly warm and cheese grits were gelatinous and cold. Our dinners were served cold and when we were able to get the attention of our waitress, all food was taken away and redelivered in the same state a bit later. There were no apologies or comments offered. The second time around offered moderately warm yet tasteless food. To say our entrees were bland is to almost compliment the flavors. Service and food were sub par and certainly not worthy of the $100+ bill. There are so many great choices in Morristown, this is one place I would never, ever return to.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Atmosphere, Service and Food were all great. The restaurant had great charm. The waiters, bus staff and hosts were all very was attentive, personable and helpful. The prices were very modest for Morristown. Most importantly, the food was delicious. The Asparagus & Pistachio Pasta was incredible as was the Goffle Farms Chicken under the Brick.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We waited, waited and waited for poor food at a high price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

went out in for brunch. Only had a few customers and we ordered simple meals. Eggs, french toast, bacon and steak. It took 45min to get the food in which time our waitress never re entered the room. Finally I went out to ask where are food was. She said it will be out in a minute (10min later) our food arrived. $14 for one slice of dry french toast, no syrup offered, two undercooked eggs, cold bacon and hard undercooked potatoes. The steak was undercooked And had absolutely no seasoning on it. One of the most tasteless meals we have had in a long time. This place looks like the only thing it would be good for is its bar scene at night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George and Martha's American Grille also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to George and Martha's American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George and Martha's American Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.