We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th anniversary party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Cafe

The Grand Cafe
42 Washington Street, Morristown, NJ 07960
(973) 540-9444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Morristown
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
North Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“50th anniversary party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our party was a wonderful success . The food ,accommodating our photograper ,our DJ , and overall attention to detail were Superb . GC is our favorite stop in NJ . Harteveld Family PS Special thanks to Walter - he makes the best Manhattans this side of the Hudson !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not Worth a Return Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My spouse and I dined here on a recent lovely Friday night. We were able to dine outside, which was the best part of our experience. Our first course was a fried oyster dish with remoulade; the oysters were lukewarm to cool and the remoulade was a gooey, orange, dreadful mess, likely bottled Russian dressing or something out of a package. Salads were up next, and were entirely forgettable. Entrees were the potato-crusted bronzini, and grilled lamb chops which were supposed to be crusted with Dijon and served with a foie gras sauce; The bronzini was fresh and acceptably prepared, but the lamb was a disaster. There was no sear on the meat, and it was glopped with an oily "sauce" speckled with smallish flecks of a nearly-flavorless foie gras. It was a terrible fate to befall the three lamb chops, which were generously sized and meaty and likely would have been outstanding if they had actually been grilled. And the worst part? The lamb special was $45! Yes, it was lovely to have cocktails in the outdoor area, but the food was a complete disappointment and we will not return as there are far better places to dine in Morristown.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unwelcome guest at dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Have eaten here many times before and enjoyed the experience, but not this time. While seated in the lovely outdoor area, ordered 3 out of 4 courses that did not require cooking. Our wait was extraordinary long even for the first course, only to be told that they had a a lot of other parties repeatedly. Ordered oysters on the half shell that finally came but something was moving in one of the oysters. I brought the live, moving sea creature to the owners' attention who totally blew us off,
and turned on his heels and walked away. Not the reaction I was expecting in a restaurant of this caliber, particularly from the owner. Will think long and hard about a return visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good service lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Went to Morristown for lunch and found this lovely restaurant, sat outside under cover and asked if we were ok for lunch menu as it was quite late for lunch. Staff were very helpful and the food, we all had salads with extra chicken or steak, very nice and tasty, plus the steak was cooked as we had asked for it. Good wine, and overall a thoroughly lovely time. Not a cheap lunch but very good value. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful! A real gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I keep looking for good restaurants. We live in Summit (one good restaurant - Roots) and decided to try out a few restaurants in Morristown. Most have been VERY disappointing and we almost gave up. Then we went to The Grand Cafe. We've traveled all over the world... this is a great place. Old world gentility... great service... beautiful atmosphere... wonderful food. Everything was perfect. We felt so spoiled we didn't want to leave. I'll be bringing my mother back here next week. It's our new "go to" place. Reasonably price for the quality! (I'm REALLY sick and tired of what passes for restaurants these days... so glad we found this.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Cafe also viewed

Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.