We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, even better atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantia Cottage Restaurant

Constantia Cottage Restaurant
The High Street, East Runton, Cromer NR27 9NX, England
+44 (0)1263 512017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 57 Restaurants in Cromer
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Constantia Cottage Restaurant is nestled on the beautiful North Norfolk coast of the UK and is a family run business celebrating 32 happy years of service, offering a unique blend of Greek and International dishes. The Constantia family pride themselves in going that extra mile to make sure your visit is a memorable one, giving attention to detail for each individual need or special event. Nothing is ever too much trouble and customers are encouraged to pop in for a coffee to chat to the family about their requirements beforehand. The authentic Greek atmosphere adds to the exciting menu selection that also caters for vegetarians and vegans. The main restaurant is a 90 capacity, with a choice of the original part of the historic cottage avaliable for more intimate setting. The Constantia is the ideal venue for birthdays, wedding receptions, hen nights, work functions and christmas parties or just a romantic dinner for two.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great food, even better atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We took our son, daughter and their partners out for a family meal to the Constantia and had a fantastic time. This gem is a family fun affair on the North Norfolk coast with a real flavour of the Mediterranean.
We were greeted as if we were members of their own family - really made to feel welcome.
The food was lovely, some had the lamb kleftico, others (including me) had the lamb constantia which was similar but wth a tasty red wine sauce. Good value for money too.
As the meal ended, the brothers took to the stage to entertain us with their unique style of greek music and soon had the diners up and dancing.
A fantastic evening out, hopefully soon to be repeated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    35
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

17 ladies descended upon this fantastic little restaurant for a 50th birthday celebration. I say little in fact its like the tardis! So glad we picked this restaurant. We were staying at a local house, but we were all unfamiliar with the area. We were able to pre book our orders by telephone on the Saturday afternoon, which was a great idea. Food was delicious and the service was definitely with a smile. Would highly recommend!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Baklava heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went on a Saturday night and there was a real buzz in the restaurant, great atmosphere and the staff were lovely and friendly. We had 3 courses for £27.50 each and each course was very tasty, Tried the baklava and cream for desert which was gorgeous. There was live entertainmaint which sadly we missed as i was tired out from travelling, but it gives us a good excuse to go back next time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful romantic meal in a super greek restaurant, run by a lovely greek family. We were last at this restaurant back in the 80's ........ we definately wont be leaving it so long next time! We would highly recommend this restaurant ... their food is second to none.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Long waits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A cosy place with friendly staff but an unacceptably long wait to be shown to our table and again for food to arrive. We visited on an evening when the restaurant was not busy so didn't think they really had any excuse for this. They seem to like to keep customers sitting in the entrance/bar area at the front for some time after arrival and this felt awkward and unnecessary.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Constantia Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Constantia Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantia Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.