We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliftonville Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Cliftonville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliftonville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Runton Road, Seafront, Cromer NR27 9AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cromer
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at The Cliftonville during Carnival week. All staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a single room which are so often afterthoughts but this one ad a fab sea view and had been newly refurbished. There was also a lovely sea view. The room was a bit hot and it was hard to cool down with only one window able to be opened. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room well equipped. The food was plentiful and breakfast was delicious. We ate early one night in the bar which was excellent value for money and one night in the bistro which was a little overpriced with limited options for someone with dietary requirements. All in all though we had a very good and very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
31
94
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel & would recommend it, we had a lovely view from our room (41) and the staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was excellent all in all a very good standard of hotel and staff

Also, can recommend the fish & chips from the No 1 fish & chip shop & restaurant, a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, well worth the money, best chips & fish we have had!!

Room Tip: Room 41 has lovely views over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at The Cliftonville early July... Have to say Kerb appeal it does not have, we checked it and thought what a nice quaint old fashioned hotel, we asked about the Bistro and did we have to book, "yes" was the reply so we booked for 8pm, we had room 26 and because I had asked for a room with a shower we were allocated one next to a room being painted!!, we had a night away to get away from the smell of fresh paint at home!!!
On getting to the room we found the only way to keep the window open was to use the hotel book as a wedge.
On going to the Bistro we were given a table in the corner so close to the next one that if anyone had sat there we could have shared a chair!
Bistro ok if you want your limited choice of seafood swimming in sauce, perhaps the chef's signature sauce??
After having a lukewarm coffee in the bar we retired to our room, turned on the tv to catch up with the news and no tv, came on and went straight to standby, no problem we just read before going to sleep.
The shower in the morning was abysmal, my taps at home run faster and have more pressure.
On speaking with reception in the morning it appeared that they had a water leak or so we were led to believe.
On returning home I wrote to the director named in the hotel book and the letter I got back was in my opinion a waste of a stamp!
The window will not stay open because it is a listed building!!! the tv was replaced as soon as we told them (fair comment) We were put in the corner of an almost empty Bistro "in case of a Friday night rush" err hang on we were told we had to book, so they knew how many had booked for that night yet 3/4 of the Bistro was still empty when we left at nearly half nine. As for the shower she admits the water pressure is low, my advice.... buy power showers then.
Breakfast was the final straw, would we go back?? NO!!! would we recommend The Cliftonville... NO!!!, I accept it was a late booking but if you cannot supply what is advertised don't accept my booking.
We are returning to the area in December but will look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. It appears that you did not enjoy your stay with us earlier this summer. We constantly strive to provide an excellent customer service and welcome your comments which will be considered. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Every member of staff that we came across was extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel was spotlessly clean. There is a good sized car park. The hotel is ideally placed on the seafront and we were in room 41 which had amazing views of Cromer. Breakfast was lovely although we were surprised in this day and age that the cold items were not refrigerated. There is a lift but this is only available til 11pm and after 730am. The room was much more modern than the rest of the hotel and benefited from a bath and shower. The general impression was very good but could be improved by removing the rusty soap holders from the sink and bath areas. If you like faded Edwardian elegance this is the hotel for you. It seemed to us that we picked the best hotel in town. Bistro food was great. Would go back if in the area mainly due to the staff and their friendliness

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in July. We thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Cliftonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I had a short break at this hotel recently. The staff were really welcoming and couldn't be faulted - especially the housekeepers. The room was lovely (recently refurbished) although I personally do not like the wash hand basin to be separate from the bathroom for hygienic reasons but that is purely a personal preference.

The food was of an excellent quality but again, I feel the finer points let it down somewhat. On paper, the breakfast choice is vast. However, we never got to see any yoghurts or croissants both of which were supposedly available. If they are not available (as we were told on the occasion that we asked) then they should be removed from the menu. The mango orange juice ran out one day and there wasn't any more. Similarly the mango juice ran out on the Tuesday and was still unavailable the following day. Stock control is clearly lacking.

Evening meals were superb, the restaurant being a stunning setting but staff weren't over familiar with the correct protocol of serving. Coffee is served as part of the set menu but this isn't on the evening menu sheet and neither is it offered unless you ask.

I love this hotel and the staff are really friendly and we will definitely visit again. I just hope the finer details are polished so that it can shine to its full potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cliftonville. I will look into the 'finer points' you mention and thank you for your comments. The staff strive to provide excellent customer service at all times and we welcome your feed back. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliftonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

At first sight the hotel looks shabby so the lavish art nouveau reception was a welcome surprise, this must have been special once upon a time, that had faded but not been quite extinguished. The receptionist too harked back to an earlier time and was absolutely charming and welcoming, indeed all the staff were first class.

Nothing gets away though from the hotel being run down. For one night the small single was adequate – it had a sea view, a shower room, a little wardrobe and a tiny table, but the only place to sit was on the bed. The room had been updated, though in a very basic fashion, the art nouveau stopped at the top of the stairs. At least, at half the price of the double, it was far better priced than it would be in most hotels.

However prices are high…..an executive double here is £190 a night, while a few miles along the coast at the Victoria at Holkham, which at least looks top class, charges only £10 more, Wells too looked far more attractive than did Cromer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you quite rightly say the Hotel is an old building and as such requires continual refurbishment. As you say, we are currently updating the bedrooms and the Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment programme. Your comments are very welcome as we always strive to provide excellent value. I also thank you for your comments with regard to the staff who pride themselves in providing excellent customer services. Our charges are in line with the standard Cromer Prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We both needed a break from the stress of life. On a whim we decided on a weekend by the sea. I wanted to see the sea and all the rooms in the Cliftonville offered sea views, this was my number one priority. My number two priority was character, presuming that any hotel has the necessities for a good night's sleep.
I found both in the Cliftonville. The hotel is located perfectly for sea views and convenience to the amenities of Cromer. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The Edwardian building had all the character I needed and the welcome friendly and efficient. Breakfast was perfect and not one of the staff let us down.
We had a wonderful stress free weekend and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your short break with us and look forward to welcoming back to the Cliftonville again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cliftonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: 29 Runton Road, Seafront, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliftonville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.