We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 Day Break at the friendly Wellington Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
Garden Street, Cromer NR27 9HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great 3 Day Break at the friendly Wellington Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful break at this Pub, breakfast was delicious every morning in 'The Courtyard Restaurant' bedroom was really comfortable and although above busy pub was perfect for a short break to Cromer. Parking not available on site but found free parking nearby. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wellington on a 4-night long weekend at the end of Jan. and start of Feb. 2014. ( Not usually the best weather at that time of year for a seaside stay , but it was kind to us the time we were there.) The owners and staff at the pub were truly friendly and helpful , always happy to give advice and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in room 1 on the first floor , and although above the bar down below , it was not noisy. We were given a side-door key to access our room outside bar opening times (11 -11.) The pub is just a minute walk to the pier and promenade , great for a walk anytime. Close to many shops and cafes etc. We had the bed and breakfast , and the freshly cooked food was just right. Our room , immaculate with nice comfortable beds. All in all , a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Steep stairs , so if they are a problem .. go for the first-floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Whilst on a day trip to Cromer, we decided to have lunch in "The Courtyard Restaurant" - part of the Wellington Pub. Easy to miss this great little secret tucked away round the corner across the courtyard from the bar entrance. But rather glad we found it.

The staff were extremely welcoming, the service first class and the food very good. I decided to have the "Liver and Bacon" with mash. Liver is always a bit of a gamble in pubs, but it was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious. For a cold January day, it was quite busy so clearly popular, and now we know where it is will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over New Year. Very clean rooms. All of the staff, including the cleaners were very friendly, something a lot of other hotels lack from my experience, so their customer service gets the thumbs up from me.Their small courtyard restaurant, that also serves breakfast is a "must visit" for an evening meal too. Good value and excellent customer service from the chefs and waitresses. Pity its not open a little later though at nights.
Hotel bar gets busy at nights, and has a good atmosphere. Very close to the seafront too, and shops, which is a bonus. Enjoyed my three night stay, would highly recommend, and will most certainly stay there again.

John M...Wellingborough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Phil and the team were absolutely brilliant, honestly the best service I have experienced in a very long time. We were made to feel so welcome by Phil and Abbie when we went for Sunday lunch we decided to go back on Monday. Compliments to the chef as well for some rather excellent food!
A massive thanks from the Steels!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great welcome from Aime , great rooms , nice and warm , lovely food and welcome from Abbie in the mornings , all the staff are very frendly and helpful , good beer quite a good choice , its a must if you are visting Cromer , step outside and you can see the sea .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Initial impression disappointing, parking 300yds away, it was raining, restaurant closed, chef on holiday, breakfast starts 9.00am, a bit late for business user, HOWEVER..... very smart and clean room, recently refurbished with a modern en suite with shower, freshly cooked and substantial breakfast in dining room where dinner menu looked interesting when available, pleasant helpful staff, only yards from beach and town centre and Sky Sports to watch the footie.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Garden Street, Cromer NR27 9HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.