We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jetty Cafe

The Jetty Cafe
11 High Street | Cromer, Cromer NR27 9HG, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Cromer
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Seaside cafe serving delicious Cromer crab, ploughman's lunches and classic cafe food.Opening times Monday-Saturday 10-3(Sunday closed)
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've sampled a few crab sandwiches in my time but these have to be the best ever. Great value for money and a lovely place with friendly and polite staff - the tea is good too! Will definitely be back for more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    29
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best crab...ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little cafe by the sea front in Cromer. My wife & I had the crab sandwiches. I have never tasted crab so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Yes - this is a really good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

In a seaside town that abounds with small cafes, this seems to be the jewel in the crown judging from the two visits we have made. Efficiently run, polite staff, abundantly clean, and the food is excellent as well! The English breakfast is most appetising, and the toast thick and warm. The bacon and egg sandwiches are to die for, with good meat and no wide fatty rind. The crab sandwiches are also top notch, with a splendid accompaniment of salad and coleslaw. You are not fussed over, but requests for small items such as extra hot water for the teapot also produce an instant response. Keep it up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Jetty on a Monday lunchtime in June. The menu is not extensive but perfectly adequate. We both had the ploughman's, mine was with local pork pie which was firm and full of meat, my wife had hers with local cheeses. They both came with a large tub of rough cut home made coleslaw and a small pot of home made chutney, both of which were excellent. The salad part of the ploughmans consisted of baby rocket and other leaves, five or six halved cherry tomatoes, sliced peeled cucmber and sliced radish. To dress the salad we were given a bottle of Mary Berry"d salad dressing which complemented everything really well. Also with the salad was a pickled egg, two pickled eggs and two gherkins. We had granary bread to go with it which came thickly sliced, perfectly fresh and with a small tub of soft real butter. Overall this meal plus a drink each came to under £20 - a real bargain as we left totally stuffed! I would definately visit again the next time we are in Cromer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best crab salad in Cromer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Since taking over the Jetty Café the new owners have transformed this central venue into a must-go eatery. Besides serving what must be the best breakfasts in Cromer, the summer addition of crab sandwiches and crab salads are lunchtime winners. The freshest produce, hearty portions, perfectly produced and presented in a fresh, clean, welcoming environment. To top this the owners and staff are simply lovely people. Don't miss out and make a visit today.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jetty Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.