We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab service/atmosphere/value and FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rock Shop Bistro

The Old Rock Shop Bistro
10 Hamilton Road, Cromer NR27 9HL, England
01263 511926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Cromer
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab service/atmosphere/value and FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went with a friend tonight. She had the fishcakes and I had the chowder. Lovely fresh, home-made proper chowder with plenty of chunk fish. She loved the fishcakes. I had the cheesecake which was lovely and she had a fabulous summer pudding. All exceptional value as well as tasting good! Wine per glass was a good price and better than you can normally get in bistros. Bonus was that we couldn't remember then name of a Florence and the Machine track so the owner googled it for us. That's what I call customer service! Will be back with more friends in tow only live down the road in Sheringham.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you very much. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. We're currently open 7 days a week (daytime) and every evening except Mondays when we close at 6...so we'll be ready and waiting to welcome you back.

Thanks again

Sam
The Old Rock Shop Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    87
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East of England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rock Shop Bistro - You've Got the love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have called in at this cafe bistro several times during the day for great coffee and exceptional home baked lovely things, but for this evening I booked a table for their evening menu for myself and a friend.
The Thai Spiced Fishcakes with Sweet Chilli Dipping Sauce, with gorgeous new potatoes and side salad was nothing short of superb! I followed this with Summer Pudding and Ice Cream, which didn't last too long!
All beautifully cooked, presented and served by the very friendly staff. When we paid the bill we asked what a single track was called from the Florence and the Machine album that was playing and it was researched for us........you certainly do have the love, Rock Shop Bistro and we will return and would highly recommend you for great food, service and value for money, thanks so much!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you. Very pleased that you enjoyed your food with us...and that we were able to help you solve your query as well (it would have driven us mad too if we hadn't checked!).

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Sam
The Old Rock Shop Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“first visit to this bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

we were looking for a morning coffee stop and found this wonderful bistro,fresh baked cakes and i mean fresh baked not heated up from the freezer, really good coffee/tea,friendly staff so good that we went back to have lunch and we had the seafood chowder really good would deffinatley go again and again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review Kathy C. You're quite right, all of our baking (except teacakes) is done on site, properly from scratch (we have now have videos on YouTube showing how it's done too!)

We're all really pleased to see that you enjoyed you visit and hope to see you time and time again, you'll be most welcome.

Kind Regards

Sam
The Old Rock Shop Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ate hete upon recommendation from our b and b. This was a wonderful place to have a meal. my partner is a veggie and they catered for him perfectly. wonderful food and impecable service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Excellent, thank you. It's great to hear that we're being recommended by people. As for our vegetarian offering we have recently re-vamped this side of the menu, so it's good to hear it's going down well! The Stilton & Leek Quiche has proven particularly popular.

We look forward to seeing you again if your out this way.

Regards

Sam
The Old Rock Shop Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Friendly Bistro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place looks cosy and inviting and it is. The staff are friendly and the food was great. Limited menu but they served quality food. Ideal for coffee & cake or a light lunch. Very good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit and that you like what we do.

Kind Regards

Sam
The Old Rock Shop Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Rock Shop Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Old Rock Shop Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rock Shop Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.