We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with super staff and tasty, hearty breakfasts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
The Red Lion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cromer
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with super staff and tasty, hearty breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in this hotel with a seaview room which was comfortable and exceptionally clean with good quality linen and towels. The upper floors are rather a climb as no lift, but the stairs themselves aren't too steep. We ate in the bar the first night, but not the second as the menu could have been slightly cheaper we thought - with a chicken dish being £12.95 and cod and chips the same price. Also there was a lot on the menu but not enough variation. Perhaps in the season the hotel does a specials' board too. The breakfasts were superb, with a very good selection of cereals, fruits,delicious glasses of home-made yogurts with fresh fruit at the bottom, the usual full English etc., and kippers. The staff were all lovely and very obliging. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for a seaview room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TA, we are constantly striving to improve so all comments are welcome. Really glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer in our rooms and that the breakfasts you had were excellent.
In regards to the prices of the evening meals we know that we are not the cheapest but we do try to offer quality from source and we do try to offer a "full plate" so you don't have to order side orders with your main meals. We do also offer residents 10% off their food bills both at The Red Lion and at Bella Vista, I am sorry if the voucher in your guest information folder was not pointed out to you on check in. I will naturally pass on your comments to the Chef as he is currently changing our Main Menu.

Regards

Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
34
231
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here, great location, great staff, especially Alice and Stacey, two truly unique and gregarious individuals!!!!!! Great sense of humour, nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi, thanks for posting such a nice review on TA - I will make sure that the girls see the review and that all of their hard work doesn't go unnoticed by customers. We pride ourselves in trying to offer great service all of the time.

Thanks again and see you soon
Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I was in the area to visit a National Trust site. Our initial plan, as were are fairly local was to drive there and back in a day. We was running late and decided to make the short drive to Cromer for a drink and to look into the possibility of a hotel for the night.

We had a quick look on the internet, but as the area in remote struggled for signal. As a result we went into the first pub we could find for the wifi. Upon entering the bar, we could sense a friendly atmosphere and knew that if there was rooms available this is where we would stay. The internet said they were fully booked, but upon enquiring, not only did we get a room we also got a discount! The room was £110 but after asking they said we could have it for £80.

The room itself was small, but adequate with an en suite bathroom with shower and bath. Considering the price we paid, we couldn't complain. Inclusive in the price of the room was breakfast too, which was perfect. A choice of cereals then a locally sourced fry up with a great vegetarian option too!

With the weather being so dreadful recently, it was especially warm to meet such pleasant members of staff who were happy to assist you with anything you needed and such a welcoming bar. The bar is what attracted us to this venue and we spent the evening on a sofa overlooking the sea with a log burning fire next to us. Amble wood so the fire would never go out and a great choice of drinks.

Should you need to be in Cromer, this is the place to be! We will 100% return very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for such a nice review, we kind of wish it was colder all year round so we could keep the logs burning throughout the year!
Next time you are coming to Cromer give us a call and we will ensure you have a nice big room....such an old building - we have all shapes and sizes!
Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I am part of a small group of friends who visit Cromer on the 1st Friday of February every year. We enjoy a night ‘on the town’ to celebrate/remember the life of a close friend who died 4 years ago and to visit his grave the next day. For the last 3 years we have stayed at the Red Lion for our ‘remembrance’ night out.

The Red Lion, despite its blustery, central, sea front location, remains warm and welcoming. The service was again friendly and efficient throughout (from check-in/check-out to Breakfast/Dinner service). This year I did not manage to secure my favorite sea facing room and found the accommodation a wee bit pokier but comfortable and clean, nevertheless.

We have eaten in the hotel for the past 3 years and the ambiance and quality of the food has led to it being our chosen restaurant for our annual evening meal. The four Steaks (yes, rather unoriginal) were slightly overdone as ‘Medium Rares’ but good quality. The breakfast was again excellent and with a great choice of cooked options and a good buffet.

I look forward to Year 4 in 2015.

Room Tip: Request a Sea rather than street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for coming back to see us again! We love repeat guests and it's good to know we haven't lost our touch! When you are arranging your visit next year please ask to speak to one of the owners and we will organise a bottle of something or other to go with your Steaks!
See you next year
Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel was first class,the staff the food the rooms(ours did not have a sea view)were excellent.our room was spotless.the atmosphere in the bar made our short break enjoyable(three nights).the hotel has its own car park which is ideal.we can certainly recommend it and hope to return when possible

Room Tip: Our room 18 was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Red Lion, we always do our best to ensure a relaxing stay.....see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed in room 7 for my wife's birthday, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Checking in was quick and informative. A very nice room with beautiful decor and a balcony. The best view was from the seated bathroom window, boasting an almost panoramic view of the pier and beach. The heated towels, fluffy dressing gowns, honesty box and plush lion were all lovey touches not to forget the personalised welcome letter. I also really enjoyed the surprise art in the bathroom. The breakfast was amazing too, with a large table full of treats and a gut busting cooked breakfast made just how I like it. There are many other options to pick from too. Thank you to all at the Red.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi, thanks for spending the time writing a review for us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Room 7, it's one of our personal favourites. We will be keeping the honesty boxes but plan to make them a little bit more "Norfolk" this year!!
See you soon
Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Wow, what a great find, just returned from a two night break with our dogs .We were all made very welcome, lovely room, comfortable bed, with a great sea view.
Cosy bar and great food.
Will be visiting again

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 14, lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedLionHotel, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our rooms and public areas and it's always nice when people appreciate it.

Many Thanks

Red Lion Cromer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.