We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best UK Inns we have ever stayed in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
The Red Lion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cromer
Midlands UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“One of the best UK Inns we have ever stayed in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for one night at May Bank Holiday B and B and ate dinner in the restaurant.
Check in – smooth and friendly and we wereable to park our motorcycle in the limited car park which would not be large enough for one space per room. Arrive early if that is important to you.
Room – number 9, first floor, standard room not very spacious for the price but more than OK for a one night stay. All very clean and tidy with a nice bathroom and a great shower. A nice extra was the honesty box for a few drinks and snacks though we did not use it. The bed was comfortable and although onto a narrow one way street there was little traffic noise. The sound proofing did leave a little to be desired so that when other guests started getting up in the morning it was clearly noticeable. It was so poor that we could hear another guest in a room next door snoring. Sadly nearly all UK hotels we have stayed in have this problem to a lesser or greater extent and in truth this one is about average for that.
Staff - overall were excellent but seemed a little understaffed in the bar area.
Food – Ate dinner in the restaurant and it was simply superb. Had the best Whitebait I have ever had and the whole meal was excellent. It is very ery popular it seems so reserve in the restaurant early as you can as the bar area is not so nice. The restaurant is nicely appointed and decorated and I would hazard a guess that the pub area is the next on the list for a refurbishment as the rest of the hotel is in good order
Breakfast was as good as dinner, available for about £13 for non-guests, and top quality down to the homemade jams and even homemade cereals along with an extensive choice of hot items.
Over all one of the best small UK hotels we have ever stayed in and will not hesitate to, and will look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view would be good to try for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
34
231
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a little hidden gem in a lovely little coastal town, this was our second visit and the hotel had been upgraded to four star, however everything about the place is so much higher. The welcome you receive sets the tone, friendly welcoming professional, the rooms are well appointed and a little tip - room seven magnificent, faciities are every thing you would want and expect. The food in the hotel is magnificent - no other words necessary (breakfast - the full english brought an audible gasp from our table) i can also reccomend the hotels sister buisness in the town the bella vista italian restaurant. The staff are of the highest quality hugely friendly and cant do enough for you but find that happy medium of not being gushing and patronising, and they are all consistently like it too. My wife and i have used decent good quality hotels all round the country but you will seriously struggle to find a better nicer warmer place than this - we without a doubt be back

Room Tip: RM 7 or any seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Im sat on the balcony of room seven writing this review after enjoying one of the best nights accomodation in such a long while.

From the moment ipulled onto the car park to discover a parking place had been reserved, i guessed this would be a cut above the usual £60 a night hotel. Check in was smooth and speedy and i was promptly escorted to my room which i can say was truly splendid. Room seven is very spacious with a king size bed, ample space for clothes, a chaise longue, small sofa and arm chair. The room benefits from magnificent sea views and a balcony with table and chairs. The room is equipped with 2 multi channel flat screen TVs, has tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and filter coffee plus bottled water and a little hamper containing soft drinks and nibbles. The bathroom is a delight and has a large powerful and modern shower, deep bath, window seats, twin hand basins, soft towels and towelling robes plus a good range of toiletries. First class in every respect.

Downstairs there is a large lounge, restaurant and bar with plenty of space, attentive staff and friendly locals. I enjoyed truly delicious food here....Cromer crab cakes were toothsome and very tasty. The home made steak and kidney pudding was served with 3 fresh veg and delicious sliced potatoes. The bar is equally well furnished with 6 local craft ales that included a stout and a lovely dark mild.

I slept with the patio doors open and was lulled to sleep by the sound of lapping waves on the beach.....and I slept very well indeed.

Breakfast was faultless and this is one of the finest traditional English breakfasts I have ever eaten. Plump meaty sausage, thick cut bacon, tasty black pudding, cooked vine tomatoes and perfectly poached eggs. The coffee was excellent and there were a wide range of dining options including kippers, eggs benedict and more

The hotel and all rooms have free wifi

A final word about the staff. Every one of them was approachable, helpful and very friendly.

My only regret is that my stay was limited to just one night. I hope to return very soon

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a brilliant find. Got a special deal with bookings.com but even at full price this was excellent. Ate in the restaurant food great and included breakfast was lovely. Room was a standard but don't let this put you off as was clean, big enough, beautiful bathroom and lots of little extras. As previously said all the staff were friendly and a credit to their employers. We will return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After a 3 hour journey we arrived late in the dark to extremely welcoming and fun-loving hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff cars were moved to fit us in the car park even though we hadnt reserved a parking space. We ordered a late evening supper sitting by a real log fire. The soup of the day and seafood chowder were awesome and the steak was done to perfection. Great wine choice all reasonably priced. Dessert was delicious.
We got a deal with booking.com so our standard double room (number 18) was a bargain. It was nicely decorated and equipped with some surprise extra nice touches. Our mattress was too firm for our liking which was a real shame because everything else was first class. I'm sure if we had mentioned this then the hosts would have found a prompt solution because it was clear they simply enjoy ensuring all their guests are more than happy.
Breakfast was a real treat with lots of homemade extras and a novel but efficient way of keeping toast warm!!
Thank you so much for your king hospitality. We would love to come again if we could get a bargain on a superior room which I'm sure have superior mattresses too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a few days staying at the Red lion. this was our second visit. The staff were fabulous and were helpful, fiendly and attentative to our needs. on our last night we mentioned that the room was a tad chilly and instantly a heater was dispatched and blowing away when we retirned to our room.. We were in room 7 this time and can recommendit. most weeks I stay in what I call business hotels and it is so refreshing to stay somewhere different. -

Room Tip: room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Victorian hotel/pub very much; excellent service, very good food and beautiful rooms, decorated to a high standard
Tip:- ring for directions - Sat/Nav will lose you in the one-way/pedestrian streets.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.