We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Girtford Bridge | London Road, Sandy SG19 1NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sandy
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here as we were meeting friends in sandy. Rooms were fine. Bathroom ok but shower was a little weak. But what do you want for £50.
You are only a short walk into sandy itself, where therw are some decent pubs and restaurants. Would stay again for pure convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Amie,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to our establishment and its facilities. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities suited your needs.

We hope to welcome you back real soon, should you visit Sandy in the near future, please have a look at our website or online Facebook page for our up and coming tribute & social events. It may be something that you and the family can enjoy together.

Regards
N. Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    34
    32
    31
See reviews for
14
34
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

You get what you pay for with this hotel. The staff are friendly enough but our stay was let down by a pervasive smell that penetrated the whole building. This was likely down to the bad weather raising the drains but still, not enjoyable. The room was clean and spacious and had proper windows, a pleasant and very welcome change under the circumstances.

We didn't experience any noise issues as our room faced onto the hotel car park rather than the road. Breakfast was substantial and pretty decent but we had to walk outside across the car park to get it in the conference facility as the hotel was oversubscribed for it's limited restaurant facilities. On one morning, despite not being the last people down, the bain maries had been shut off and not restocked, the chap was happy to refill but this is not good service.

As a smoker, I was pleased to see ashtrays outside the front door but I guess if I was a non smoker, I guess I wouldn't want smokers to be encouraged to camp on the front door and would prefer a smoking shelter off to the side, just a thought. There were a few minor niggles but on the whole, for the price, we got what we paid for.

I've only put 4/5 for cleanliness due to the smell, everything else was spotless.

Room Tip: We were in room 50 which was quiet as it faced away from the road. Twin bedroom, fairly spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear LTBluechip,

I appreciate that you took the time to review our property and you found our staff to be accommodating. It is regrettable however that the unusual scent during the time of your visit was a disappointment. I have taken note of your valuable feedback and this shall be addressed with our team to consider for upgrades needed on premises.

SIncerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent a couple of nights over New Year on a scheduled coach tour and how obvious that we were treated as basic customers. I have stayed in Holiday Inns before but this must rank as one of the worst in terms of gauging customer needs at this time of year. Clearly this hotel focuses on the business user and makes some income over holiday periods though booking coach trips. The place was tired and in need of a general uplife. The staff were hard working but were not given the levels to effect good customer service. Reception staff doubled up as kitchen staff. Breakfasts were cold and insufficient leading to long delays. They didnt have plate warmers so even food served hot was cold by the time you sat down. On New Year's Eve they ran out of wine and could not even find a corkscrew. One guest thankfully had his Swiss army knife to come to the rescue. Mixers ran out and few bottle fo Champagne were available so the Hotel lost out on one of the busiest nights for champagne sales. The staff deserved great praise for battling on in such circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the restaurant service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very good value for money. Rooms are basic but clean. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price but was cold and they regularly ran out of things such as cups and spoons. To be fair this was over New Year, so this might have a bearing on it. Overall good value, we will probably return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jan K

I have forwarded your comments to the manager of the express hotel as it would appear that your comments relates to the holiday inn express.

Thank you for your time.
Regards
N. Wilkinson
GM
Holiday inn Garden Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is potentially a great place to stay particularly for Bussiness due to its location. However get a room facing away from A1 as they can be noisy otherwise. The hotel staff were superb on my stay I have to commend. At tentative and polite always. The food both in the bar and at breakfast was really good. It is essentially let down by shabby old fashioned rooms. Bed was taped up, mattress not best and made lot of noise. Bathroom shower totally ceased up and tiles falling off. Rooms need total revamp and if not for staff and food this is only 1 to 2 on tripadvisor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mark G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having a solo w/e away in the Sandy area. This was actually my second choice, but the first fell through. Pleasantly suprised, check in was trouble free. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and well maintained. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. As I was visiting several places over the three days, the hotel is ideally situated having good road links, and close to Sandy rail station, and just 8 miles from Bedford. I did not use any of the other hotel facilities, as I normally eat out when travelling, but what I saw looked OK. Recommend hotel as a base, but try to get a riverside room, as their can sometimes be a little road noise from the nearby A1.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper, ask for a room on the riverside, or conference centre side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here while visiting family The Staff were very friendly and polite The room was clean comfortable and warm Have paid more for a lot less The breakfast could have been better paid £5.00 but was only for coffee juice and toast had to pay extra for a cooked breakfast

Room Tip: I stayed in room 25 it looked out on the car park was lovely and warm and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford

Address: Girtford Bridge | London Road, Sandy SG19 1NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford Bedfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.