We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER THAN EXPECTED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Girtford Bridge | London Road, Sandy SG19 1NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“BETTER THAN EXPECTED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having read some of the reviews I was wondering what I would be going too, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Reception was efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, airy and furniture was light wood and very acceptable.

The lasagna I had in the bar was one of the best I have had for a long time - excellent.

So don't be put off by the negative comments because that wasn't my experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    43
    37
    33
See reviews for
17
38
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I travel throughout the country staying in all different types of hotels but this hotel on arrival was pretty impressive.
It had a big car park and looked like it was going to be a pleasant stay.
Unfortunately the hotel ( lounge ) bar was roughly 10 foot by 7 foot making it the smallest excuse for a bar I have ever seen.
The food was too expensive to eat in at dinner and so I drove a mile away to a nice little Chinese restaurant and back in the hotel a full English breakfast was £10.75 !!!
Now come on, I don't see many people entertaining that and I suppose those that are are getting funded by their business.
The room was nice and spacious and I stayed in room 59 but was unfortunate to be directly next to a major road that had continuous traffic coming through the windows.
It was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.
After barely any sleep with similarities to sleeping on a motorway bridge ! it was time to get up and get a shower. This is the bit I was sorely disappointed with. NO POWER SHOWER in a holiday inn ? A pipe connecting to the taps in this day and age from a major hotel chain that charges high prices for good and drink.
I could hardly get wet and so my overall experience was disappointing. I would only recommend this hotel if you don't intend to sleep, eat or shower.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear e2a,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. In fairness it was cheap but so it should be.
Old tired rooms. Smell of damp in the corridors and old 70-80's style decor and bathroom suites. Little disappointing to be a part of IHG. Staff were nice. Breakfast was cooked to order but clearly not by a chef. If you're on a tight budget then this is the place. If you can squeeze another tenner then get to Bedford or Stevenage!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Joynesie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for 2 nights. this is one of the worst hotels ever. rooms were very dated and dirty i found toe nail clippings in the bed. hairs all over the damp smelling bathroom. carpets very dirty do you own any hovers. the tea cups had not been cleaned from the last quests. the whole place should be knocked down. the one good thing was the food your chef is wasted here. overall this place should not have the holiday inn name on it. wont be booking here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear chrisjanine1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the food.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and housekeeping which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane Cove, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on 31st July for 1 nights in 2 rooms. Chose rooms facing the car park as others face the main road which is maddeningly noisy. Whether or not that effects to the rooms facing the main road, I do not know. Service was okay, the rooms were liveable, yet the warren-like passage way leading to the rooms smelled musty .. while the rooms themselves were ok. So, okay value for money. Not the Ritz, but hey, look at their room rates!

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Karl v,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed the night of the 10/09/13. There was major road resurfacing from 11pm until 4-30am in the morning and after I asked for a quiet room on booking on the Monday!! No notification that the work was going to be going on to give me the option. So no sleep whatsoever might just as well have not stayed away to be fresh in then morning for a major meeting.

The bar food was I think 8GBP for a Chilli but was so small I went over to the Supermarket afterwards. Staff were very pleasant and room comfort and amenities were good but afraid no apology, no refund and a one star.

Room Tip: Even without the major road works some rooms are right by the main road on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Man_o_Kent,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured that these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed with you 7th and 8th sept with my family,
all was maid very welcome service very good, breakfast could have been a little warmer butt no big deal.must say lady receptionist who was there sat and sunday morning was the best I have ever met three star hotel five star staff.
Well done
the pay family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford

Address: Girtford Bridge | London Road, Sandy SG19 1NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford Bedfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.