We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place great people fab food but so bad beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Celay Hotel to your Saves list
Celay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Ovacik
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great place great people fab food but so bad beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The jellay as pronounced but spelt celay was just as many reveiws said lovely hotel lovely place friendly staff clean rooms and really good food.So what to add is quite hard as everything been said yes turkish night a must buffet fab dancing great as my friend can agree as she went on from belly dancing to dancing on the bar top and didnt even fall even after two bottles of wine lol.The area yes is abit on a incline but dont let that stop you booking as we just booked taxi's so easy and cheap enough area nice and peaceful but not so far to go for bars an shops. My daughter visited the deluxe rooms and said they are lovely we couldnt upgrade as they were fully booked but I'd definitely do it via hotel next time to make sure we got a room. Well I know everyone is waiting for a negative so here it comes the beds oh my lord we named them ironing boards and it became a
holiday joke well until as each day passed are back pain got worse we did mention to the owner
and manager about this only thing that was spoiling are holiday but too no avail as the manager said not to be bothered by such things as it was a holiday bed an the owner although took are
criticism of his beds he didnt mention replacing them in the near future so for me although a great
hotel I could not go and stay again as the beds were so bad and caused us all back problems so
bad my daughter took to sleeping on a lilo on top of her bed but if you are bothered about getting a
good nights sleep on holiday then yep a lovely holiday place maybe the owner should try a nite in
one of his beds so that he will understand why I mention this in my review I do hope this comment
is taking on board then a great hotel could be fantastic.

Room Tip: Dont go on spa day awful experience get you there very unorganised and keep you there all day all ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    120
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
192
322
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first holiday to Turkey and we could not have wished for a better experience. We are a family of 4 with a 21 and 19 year old and we all had an amazing time. The hotel is run very smoothly and efficiently by Ugur who has a very calm approach nothing is too much trouble. Nani is a constant source of fun and entertainment and tirelessly keeps everyone happy around the bar and pool area. He had us laughing constantly and was always on hand with much needed ice to cool down! George and Joseph and all the bar staff and waiters should also be mentioned as they are a great team who work very hard to make everyone's stay a happy one. We stayed in a standard room which was comfortable and clean, cleaned everyday with fresh towels provided by lovely, happy ladies. The hotel and pool area was spotless. The Celay Hotel was perfect for us as it is situated in a slightly elevated position above the strip in Ovacik. It is in a quiet area but within easy reach of Dolmus stops taking you into Hisaranou, olu deniz or Fethieye. There is an up hill walk back to the hotel which takes about 10 mins. But that should not put anyone off with an average degree of fitness. Also taxis are cheap and efficient. We stayed B&B but did have a lot of meals there at lunch time around the pool - beautiful salads etc and all very well priced. We also had evening meals the buffet was great and good value and a la carte also excellent - fabulous steaks! The Turkish night is a must! Beautifully set up around the pool with impressive buffet meal. The belly dancer was amazing and it was a excellent evening. Thank you to all at the Celay Hotel who made our stay perfect! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was our first trip to Turkey and this hotel has made us want to go back. The staff were absolutely amazing- so friendly without being pushy, the cleanliness was second to none and the food was simple but delicious. Our room was serviced everyday to a very high standard. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Celay for the first time Late June, early July this year. We upgraded to a deluxe room which was very nice and were half board. We found the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set at the top of a hill within easy reach of the main road for the local dolmus or for those who might struggle with the walking taxis were readily available. The breakfast was ok but after 11 nights was a bit repetitive. It would have been nice to see a bit more fresh fruit and perhaps pastries available or pancakes. Full English breakfast was available at an extra cost. There were a couple of nice restaurants that served breakfast at a reasonable price also if you fancied a walk in the morning. Evening meal was very limited choice but in saying that what we did have was nice. There was a choice of 2 starters , 2 main course and a dessert. No good if you were a fussy eater. They did serve food throughout the day at the bar and the choice was good and again nice. We would return here again but on a bed and breakfast basis. Perfect base for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room in the newer block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from another brilliant week at the "Celay", the staff were fabulous and fantastic as usual. Nothing was too much trouble .Nani kept us supplied with his latest cocktail BlackGold which was lovely. Ugar was extremely helpful at all times especially when I needed help contacting my bank in the UK.
ALL the staff were attentive as usual including Joey(new guy behind the bar) and George.
The Turkish night was great, shame it was a bit windy!!!
The owners should be very proud of their great staff who kept the holiday makers welcome and entertained at all times.
Look forward to popping back next year xxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just got back from turkey on the 9th sept had a great 2 weeks yet again at celay hotel. There was 10 of us all together 4 adults and 6 children from the age 5 to 16, one of our children is disabled and uses a mobility scooter which was not a problem, we used taxis every night to get into hisaronu it only costs 5.00 each wayyou can also walk which would take aprox 20 mins with bars a restaurants on your way. Hisaronu market is great on a monday get lots of bargains! Also our kids loved the jeep safari! The staff at this hotel are like your best friends they make you very welcome.my kids loved nani full of energy and always makes you giggle! Ugar the manager really put him self out when we arrived with megan been disabled to make sure we were more than happy with our rooms....so BIG THANKYOU ugar, we will definitely return once again next year, and hello to the white chicks you mafe turkish night do much fun xxxx love amanda barry callum kian jordan kerrie carl megan leah and kara xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time early-mid sept 2013, on advice from family who have been many times, stayed B/B for two weeks. Excellent hotel, we used it as a base for going out a lot, the staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast basic but adequate. We had a room in the new block with view over the pool and bar area, again excellent, the pool area is great. This hotel is very relaxing, clean and with lovely staff and food.
As it is high in the hills it is slightly cooler and the breeze is very welcoming compared to Oulendiniz.
Ovacik is ideally placed for getting out and about.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a slight Upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celay Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celay Hotel Fethiye
Celay Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.