We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ova Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ova Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Ova Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ovacik Mevki, Ovacik 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Ovacik
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Bad At All...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Just come back from a week at Ova Resort with Thomson and I have to say all in all, I was pleasantly surprised.
I travelled with my girlfriend and seven year old daughter on an all inclusive basis.
The hotel complex itself is extremely well maintained and the staff work hard to keep it in order.
The rooms are small, basically furnished, but clean.
The air con was a bit hit and miss, these rooms are good as a base, but not to spend too much of the day in!
The extra bed in the room was utterly useless and impossible for my daughter to sleep on-putting an air bed on top solved the problem.
The food was of good quality,(buffet basis) a litle bit repetitive as the week progressed, heavy on chicken and very little in the way of a children's menu, so if your little ones are a bit fussy, you were warned!
Ice creams are limited between 1 and 2 pm which is a bit tight, breakfast buffet was the best, try the freshly made omlettes.
Drinks are free til midnight-soft drinks, Tuborg lager and local shorts-the gin is very drinkable!
The entertainment team are a good giggle, especially Tu Tu who was brilliant with the children, the kids club is not so hot, with the little ones more or less left to their own devices watching a film or painting-my seven year old came back after just an hour complaining it was a bit boring, so back to the pool with Dad!
The pool has a brilliant slide which is open for an hour in the morning and once again in the afternoon which was really popular with kids and adults alike.
The local town is a 15 minute walk with bars, shops etc, should you wish to venture off site.
Now the big moan...unless you get up at 3am...I kid you not...forget getting a sunbed or umbrella which are in pitifully short supply and covered by towels by the early hours...problematic in 40 degree heat with little shade around the pool for the kids.
This was a common moan amongst all staying at the Ova and needs to be addressed...Management team take note!
This hotel is advertised as 3 Star, but in my opinion and previous travels, it is really 2.
In spite of this, as a late availability bargain or quick week away, it's not too bad at all and we would consider returning at a later date.
All in all, 7 out of 10.
N.B.Transfer from Dalaman is around 1hr 45mins.

Rich, Liz and Gabi x.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    205
    75
    28
    22
See reviews for
280
182
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

had fab time hotel and staff wonderful, food good drinks ok . Oscar and his team wonderful makes you feel like it's 1 big family and it was so much fun .
Sunbeds now that's a different story unless you are willing to get up about 4 am you have no chance , but then again been to some like that before , do believe it should be sorted . But it is really good value for money and will def go back again .
book trips short stroll away in Hisaronu save so much money and pick you up at hotel
Recommend 12 island tour £10 all day GREAT
Also within walking distance to water park about 10 mins.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Have just returned from the Ova Resort Hotel in Ovacik, what can I say ...... Our family have had the most fantastic holiday. The Ova is a wonderful hotel, all of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The entertainment team, Leo, Tutu, Tom and Gerry keep everyone entertained all day and night, extremely good fun - I will advise you to join in with the fun after all you are on holiday. Water slide is fast and fun.

Our family were lucky enough to be allocated with one of the new refurbished rooms which was a large room with a double bed and single bed on the top floor. Room was really big and bathroom fantastic, walk in shower. Enough floor space for all of us.

Food - Breakfast is fantastic - freshly cooked to order omlettes and pancakes. Good choice of hot food, cereal and cheese, recommend the feta....
Lunch and Evening meal fantastic choices. Stuffed peppers and pasta dishes were amazing.
Afternoon Ice cream was a favourite with our family.

Location is wonderful - peace and quiet, wonderful mountain views. Short dolumus ride to Olu Deniz to the beach and also to Fethiye to enjoy the market and harbour. Hotel offers a free shuttle to the private beach on the blue lagoon. Worth going to have a look at although be prepared to take some beach shoes as it is pebbles not sand.

In walking distances is a small water park which is worth a visit.

Only negative comment I would make is the situation concerning the sun beds but would like to add that I don't think that they could fit any more around the family pool if they tried. There is plenty of space to sit around the pool if you don't get a sun bed so it is not the end of the world.

This hotel should have a higher rating in my opinion - a great little hotel with a huge heart, a place to relax, unwind, have some fun and chill out. All the people in the hotel were great to some had returned year after year so that to me said it all. Perfect location to also visit the surrounding area. Would recommend a Jeep Safari, Fethiye market and harbour. Have a turkish bath.....

Would we go back ? YES - we would return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

we travelled with lots of children this hotel was a nightmare they moved us and many others off site when we arrived as they had no room the drinks on all inclusive were less than satisfactorysome staff were rude and very unhelpful! when we were moved back into the hotel it smelt of sewage and rooms were very small the food was left out for all the flies to land on it even though the food was ok it was very repetative and we lived on bread and soup i would advise people to stay away!!! the beach is miles away with grubby water and you have to pay to make ypur own way back unless you stay there alll day

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

An honest opinion of the Ova Resort.
We stayed at the Ova Resort in August 2010 for 11 nights (2 adults, 1 teenager). It is a small, personal all-inclusive property where the guests are very friendly and down to earth (it is not a 5* resort, please remember this (dont expect 5* for 3* prices!). Food is good albeit a little repetative during lunch and dinner (mainly Chicken and Beef dishes). There is a great salad bar. Breakfasts were good - fresh pancakes, omlettes, eggs - cooked to your request plus the usual cereal toast etc. Snacks were burger and chips and afternoon tea. I dont think you would go hungry at this hotel.
The bar - yes the Tuborg is diluted - you would be very hard pushed to get drunk on it. However the spirits were OK and as the night went on they seemed to get stronger and stronger!
Fizzy drinks was Pepsi, Orange and Sprite plus orange juice, cherry juice etc (again quite diluted).
The pools - larger one with slide very busy and not enoough space to move about - sunbeds a problem unless you get up before 5am in the morning. That said, we used the smaller pool (over 16s only) and only had a problem with sunbeds for 1 day, however, we did have to get up at 7am and nip down and put the towels out.
Entertainment - OKish - have had far better in Turkey - that said it was OK, you are on holiday and there to have a laugh no matter what!
To sum up - Ova Resort is great if you go being realistic. You get what you pay for and that little bit more here. If you want 5* luxury - then go to World of Wonders at Bodrum - its 3* and to be honest I think you come out of it quite well here.
Would I go again - most definately!
Happy Holidays
Tx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Ova resort and what a fantastic time we had. We travelled in a large group which included 5 children aged from 7-14 years. If you like a small and personal hotel then this is the one for you. The food is excellent, quite a limited choice, however what is provided is of really good quality. My 14 yr old son is a fussy eater, yet there was always something for him to eat. Special mention to the chef at breakfast who did a sterling job cooking eggs pretty much any way you wanted them. The entertainment was excellent, really kept the adults and the kids entertained, simple tongue in cheek stuff. Leo, Oscar, Tom and Gerry were a laugh a minute and probably knew the name of every guest staying at the hotel. Food in the resort is very reasonable, you can get a full English breakfast for around £2.50! The trips and excursions are also excellent value with a jeep safari costing around £12. Being the start of the football season I found myself making frequent trips to the Kings Arms pub/restaurant to catch up with Sky Sports, lovely place less than 2 minutes away where a pint costs about £1.50! OK onto the negative aspects. We stayed in a family room, it was in need of refurbishment and there was no privacy whatsoever. 1 room which had a double bed, bunk bed and a put up bed. The sunbeds, aaagghhh! 4.30 starts each morning to secure a sunbed are not great and something the hotel management need to look at. There is a water slide, however only operates for 2 hours a day. I'm being quite picky now. For what we paid to stay in this hotel represented fantastic value for money and we had a great time. Please remember it is only a 3 star hotel, and you pay for what you get!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a brilliant value for money 3 star hotel in a lovely part of Turkey. The staff are great especially the entertainment team who have oodles of energy!! The food is gorgeous A good mix of english & turkish & not many repeats. Salad bar to die for! Pool is lovely with the added extra of a slide which opens for 1 hr each morning & afternoon. Our room was modern quiet & very clean wih a maid service every day. Evening entertainment 6 days out of 7 & a good giggle x 2 minor complaints - not enough sunbeds & not enough tables out in the evening but neither of these had any impact on our holiday. I travelled with a 10 year old as a single parent & felt very welcome & safe. Not left on my own to keep myself compnay. The all inclusive is great making it very relaxing. Drinks all day snack bar (lovely burgers from 11am) ice creams, cake at 4.30 with coffee. The only thing I can't stress enough is this is a 3 star so don't expect 5 star luxury!!! You haven't paid for it but all in all brilliant value for money & seriously the best holiday i've ever had!! (including carribean holidays!!) Get it booked!! It's also really cheap when you get their if you decide to eat out or go on trips x

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ova Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ova Resort Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mevki, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
#7 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ova Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ova Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ova Hotel Oludeniz
Ova Hotel Ovacik
Ova Resort Ovacik
Ova Resort Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ova Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.