We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coral Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ovacik Mah. Incirlik Cad. 32 Sok No.17, Ovacik 48300, Turkey (Formerly Halcyon Days Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Ovacik
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Halcyon Days in October the rooms were very clean and comfortable the staff especially the manager Anil and his wife Anil were very helpful and friendly we met and made friends with other guests we all got on really well together it's ideally situated for getting around the surrounding areas will definitely return next summer,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

stayed here when hilary and dave were the owners , we knew them, the built this from scratch but now sold up,

Big clean moderm rooms

about at 20 min walk into the town where there is plenty of shops and bars, its ideal for the bus stop to take you to the big markets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 and had thought that we had booked closer to Hisaronou town centre but it turned out to be a 15-20 minute walk which was pleasant, although the nearby mosque was clearly not,as all residents commented on being woken up and disturbed during the day.
Anil and his wife are very nice and welcoming people, the rooms are simple, large and clean (but don't leave anything out as the cleaner will tidy your clothes/items up and put them away for you !)
The dolmus bus service is very close if you want to go to either Olu Deniz or Fetiye and the nearby restaurants are lovely and again, very welcoming (we recommend Turtles Restaurant at the top of the road and El Ninos & Abrakebabrah in Hisaronou.
Altogether, a lovely little hotel with easy access to all areas, happily recommend you to stay for a cheap B&B, can't comment on meals at the hotel personally as we did not eat there, preferring to eat out but other guests did stay the food was good.

Room Tip: Most come with a balcony, great sunsets from these views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This small, reasonably priced hotel is a great discovery. The spacious rooms are simply furnished and clean. The bar and restaurant are partially open air structures in the garden. adjacent to the pool and are great places to socialise. Anil, the manager, and his wife could not be more welcoming and are on hand throughout the day (and night, Anil keeps the bar open as long as there are guests wanting to use it!) and together with their staff are very friendly and helpful. We met a number of other guests we joined each evening in the restaurant and bar and it was apparent that people return year after year. The food, cooked to order, mostly by Anil's wife, was delicious and reasonably priced. The hotel is situated quite a long walk from the main centre of Hisaronu but is only 2 minutes walk to the main road where dolmuses run every 5 minutes through Ovacik into Hisaronu (5 minute trip) and Olu Deniz (10/15 minutes), and to Fethiye in the other direction (20 minutes). There are a couple of restaurants nearby and many other bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk, although the party atmosphere at the hotel each evening meant we and others stopped eating out and spent the evening there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - although the 2 rooms that don't have a balcony as such still hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Booked after seeing reviews on here, not half as happy as some on here. Manager obviously did everything to rip us off, not recommending any other places to go to but his own restaurant and put a sign outside prohibiting to bring ANY food or drinks to the hotel - that included bottled water we bought outside the Hotel whilst sightseeing! Sorry mate, I didn't come to Turkey just to see your face and the sights in and around Ovacik are certainly more attractive than just your restaurant (and from time to time I need some water whilst walking around in the Mediterranean sun). I can confirm that the manager reacted childish to us as well, when inquiring about the price of a drink he got nervous and raised his voice! Its our money that we are spending and we can't get the price of a bottle of bubbly straight???

Rest of the staff (including his wife) were very friendly and always helpful, the manager's wife is a superb cocktail maker and when we ordered food in the restaurant, it was really good.

I really had a problem to sleep trough the nights, too. Firstly we were often waken up by loud guests both from the pool area and inside the hotel. Whilst only once the mid life crisis men and women were to blame due to singing loudly in the corridors (nope, its not my idea of fun so why should I get my sleep spoiled?), at other times I noticed that people were trying to keep it down but the hallways to have a very strong echo. The main reason why I couldn't sleep through though is the closeness to the local mosque! Every day before sunrise it would start praying so loudly that it would put to shame any Berlin love parade techno beat truck! I have nothing against any religion and am very tolerant, but from other people we met at the places we went to, they didn't have the same issue as we had and one of the main reasons why I went on holidays is just so that I can catch up on sleep that I don't usually get when I have to go to work every day.

Just to be fair, I also want to mention that the hotel was very clean, kudos to the cleaner and all the staff. The swimming pool was wonderful and the location in itself is great to get around both to Fethiye and Oludeniz.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep through the night and can't get around with ear plugs, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great little hotel and the the family running it are lovely. This has been their first season and we think they did a great job ! there are always teething problems in a first season and some guest would have done well to remember that when writing their reviews. Why moan about things when they obviously didn't bother to ask for them to be sorted out. We had a few small problems that were dealt with as soon as they were raised - no problem !!!
I happen to be one of the so-called "middle aged women having a mid-life crisis" in Nobby's review.....what mid-life crisis would that be? Perhaps he is unable to recognise fun when he sees it? As for coming home at 4am every night....i don't think so. We came home at 4am on one night only and in case it went unnoticed - the bar is advertised as 24 hours so if we choose to have a drink there, that is our choice to do so! We were woken up most mornings by people banging around but accepted it is part and parcel of staying in a hotel and did not complain as didn't want to cause bad feeling amongst the other guests. No complaint was ever made about our causing noise with the exception of one night when we were asked to deep it down - which we did !!!!!! Perhaps if Nobby had spent more time getting to know the middle aged mid life crisis women instead of looking down his nose, he might have had a better time as this is a great hotel where the food is great and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After sifting through so many reviews for hotels in this area of Turkey, we booked this hotel because of its outstanding reviews from past holiday makers. On arrival we where greeted by the manager Anil, who seemed very pleasent and good humoured (This didn't last), we had hired a safe for the duration of our stay , and on the first morning o trying to use the safe, we could not opperate it as the battery was dead, Anil wife had to get him out of bed to fix the problem, at which we could tell he was not happy !!! That evening we had our first meal (we had booked as Half board), A board outside the eating area outlined a couple of choices for starters and 3 choices for main meal,and a dessert.. We were seated and presented without choice a bowl of soup, that can only be described as boiled rice in a cloudy water , it was totaly flavourless, I asked Anil if we had a choice on the menu as stated on the board outside as the soup was not to my liking as it was rather watery and tastless, we were told that the board outside was an A la carte menu, as a special for his bed and breakfast customers only, and we had no choice what we where given as we had paid a budget price for our stay( £310 each) and that if we wanted a choice it would have cost us over £200 more at other hotels in the area, he was very rude and intimidating, When the main meal arrived, he was still standing there at our table ranting , I tasted the chicken shish kabab and stated "This isnt bad !" he then started shouting and screaming, that how could I say it was bad when I hadnt tasted it , we tried in vain to make him understand that saying something wasnt bad was not a complaint..We left the restaraunt that evening with him shouting and screaming at us (practicaly chased us to our room)...we didnt eat there for the rest of our stay,although we had paid for Half board. Anil and the staff where very cold towards us and made us feel very unwelcome. After another argument on the 4th day of our holiday over the use of the air conditioning, we had enough ,we left the hotel and at our expence booked into another hotel down the road. This man is very rude,unprofessional,and confrontational when someone has a complaint, and he sulks like a child. I am surprised nobody has had a problem before now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Boutique Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mah. Incirlik Cad. 32 Sok No.17, Ovacik 48300, Turkey (Formerly Halcyon Days Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Boutique Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.