We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good late season holiday with a few niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Destina Hotel to your Saves list
Destina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Ovacik
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good late season holiday with a few niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The good:

The grounds were stunning, all communal areas are very clean and tidy. The bedrooms were small, as were the bathrooms but perfectly adequate and clean. The hotel is in a great location, with Hisaronu, OluDeniz and Fetiye a dolmus or taxi away. There were plenty of sun loungers and the pool looked clean. Though not especially flavoursome, the hot elements of lunch and dinner (usually two meat/poultry dishes, rice, chips and a vegetable) were nice. The wide range of mezes and salads made up for it however, really delicious. The staff were all friendly, especially Selma and the rest of the cleaning team and 'Raki man' Jan.

The bad:

Due to the ceramic tiles, it could sometimes be quite noisy when people were returning or leaving rooms. Also a bit more clarity on arrival regarding thefood and it's locations would have meant we had to wait until dinner for food.

The ugly:

The 'entertainment' team of Gizmo and Gadget. If you appreciate constant sexual innuendos, jokes about 'poofters, lesbians and farts-they are your guys. I'm no prude but after a while, it became very tiresome. In our 7 nights there, the evening entertainment was a music quiz, bingo, a belly dancer( good), another music quiz, kaorake two nights in a row (one of which was especially funny) and on our last night, a DVD. A lot more thought needs to go into the entertainment when the weather isn't great during the day.

In conclusion

For a £299 all inclusive holiday, i have very little to complain about, my main gripe being the 'entertainment team'. Don't let this put you off however with towns so near to escape to in the evening. For the same money, i would return out of season again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for less noise or for a room opposite the reception as you can pick up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    194
    91
    30
    26
See reviews for
131
348
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just returned from a 10 night holiday here and had a wonderful time. The hotel represents excellent value for money. Rooms and grounds are meticulously cleaned every day. Fresh towels are provided daily. The rooms are small, as are the balconies but this is indicative of most of the properties in the area. A hairdryer and fridge is provided in each room and bottled water is also replenished daily.
The hotel is well located. It's a short walk down hill to the main road where you can jump in a Dolmus and explore the area cheaply and conveniently (2.75 TRL to Olu Deniz/ Hisaronu). Alternatively you can press the buzzer at the main entrance to hail a taxi which arrives in minutes (10 TRL to Hisaronu, 30 TRL to Olu Deniz).
The food at the hotel is good. Plenty of vegetables and salads to accompany the main meat dishes. Breakfasts are okay if you like eggs. Snacks consisting of pizzas, burgers and chips are served in the afternoon.
Drinks are in strong measures. Our party enjoyed the wines - white, red and rose as well as the gin and vodka. We also enjoyed the "Tuborg" draft beer. If you ask for whisky, brandy or dark rum you get a substitute called "malt vodka" which is a bit of an acquired taste.
There is a lovely pool area with loads of comfortable sun loungers.
My only issue was with the snack bar not being designated as a no-smoking area. Some guests took advantage of this, much to the discomfort of others. The hotel management need to address this issue in my opinion. In the UK it would be illegal to smoke in this area, such is the structure and purpose of the building.
Finally a huge thank you to all the staff at the hotel - from the housekeeping staff through to the waiters and bar staff, reception, security and entertainment - you all work so hard and are extremely friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a ground level room with a balcony in the shade which suited us,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

stayed at the destina for 12 nights mid september ,had a great time food was good ,the sweets were fantastic ,wouldnt want the yogurt soup again though yuk.all the staff were brilliant ,from reception to cleaners nothing was too much trouble,gadget and gizmo were very easy going and did there best to get every one involved with things .we will be returning in sept 14 .only one complaint the touberg lager is horrible ,please can we have some efes on tap ,then the holiday would be perfect .thanks to all alan and pat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Destina in September. The hotel was lovely, we arrived on Friday 27th at around 4pm and were welcomed by smiley staff, we were given our room key and directed to where we were staying. The room was simple, just what we wanted: clean room, clean towels, clean bedding, two beds, a tv, bathroom and a nice balcony.
The pool was lovely, pool bar open until 11pm and the bartenders were always happy to help. Entertainment in the evening were nice as well with Gadget and Gizmo keeping us amused with witty banter with other holiday makers.
I have already told my friends that they NEED to visit this hotel.



The only one downside and it is the smallest of things, was that the room was echoey and because of the marble floors you were able to hear people as the walked past the room and climbed the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to destina in august and it was by far one of the best holidays i have ever been on!! The staff are fantastic.. gadget and gizmo make every single day fun and the bar staff are so friendly too kermit and musa and jan are sweethearts!! I cannot wait to go back next year.. i cant fault the food it was always cooked to perfection and yes most nights its chicken and beef but they do completely different types of dishes each night.. put it this way i put a lot of weight on!! There was a few couples honeymooning when we were there and big groups of people aswell so i would say its for everyone... what i will say is if ur not up for joining in and having a laugh this isnt the place for you!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have just returned after a fabulous 2 week holiday at this gem of an hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was perfectly adequate for both of us as we did not spend a lot of time inside. The pool and surrounding areas were lovely it is a shame that the pool was freezing. The setting of the hotel is second to none, fantastic vies all round.The bars were well staffed. The restaurant could get busy at times but we never had to wait very long for seating. There was always something to eat although I would have loved a bit more traditional Turkish food, I love Turkish food as it used to be.The entertainment in the form of Gadget and Gizmo was varied, when it was good it was brilliant, but on occasions it was a bit hit and miss, not much on during the day but saying that, they were one of the best entertainment teams I have come across in a long time. There are too many wonderful staff to mention individually but we thought you were all fantastic. The people we met were so friendly and definitely added to the holiday feeling. To Garry, Carl, Chris and all of there better halves all I can say is thank you for a great holiday. Hope to return to the Destina next year.

Room Tip: Upper floors give a better view and are quieter, but it depends on which block you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my wife have recently returned from the destina hotel.It was a lovely hotel rooms were very nice clean and homely bedding and towels were changed regular'y the cleaning staff were always polite and smiley.The food in the restaurant was very good choice, sometimes weren't always hot but maybe because people didn't always replace the lid to keep it warm.The food in the snack bar could have been kept warmer,always seemed to have cold pizza.The restaurant staff were always polite and your plates were taken away when you had finished there was a very good size swimming pool but the water was freezing if the water was warmer more people would use it you were always able to get a sunbed what ever time of day.The entertainment wasn't very good whether it was because it was the end of the season, nothing much was offered during the day except for killer pool water volley ball and evening entertainment needs to improve millions.It was cold at night to have the entertainment outside if it was moved inside more people take part.On our last night the entertainment was moved inside and the atmosphere was electric reception staff were very friendly had a late arrival and cobs were offered to us which we thought was very nice.The views from the hotel were spectacular the hotel it's self was in lovely grounds there were a great bunch of people in the hotel which made a great atmosphere and we made a lot of new friends we are returning to the destina in 2014

Room Tip: try and a room in A or B block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.