We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“destina hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Destina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Destina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Destina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Ovacik
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“destina hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the destina hotel. This hotel is set in beautiful settings and is kept clean. The bar staff found it hard to crack a smile and where very rude, the cleaners were always happy and wanted to chat, so when we left we gave our tip money to the cleaners. The management are at the hotel most of the time, but not once in 2 weeks did they speak to us, very rude and lazy people. Food was ok breakfast was a bit hit and miss. I mean who has chips for breakfast, we ate breakfast out 3 times in a restaurant down the road called evita very friendly and a lovely breakfast. Lunch time and evening meals were very much the same, chicken, fish with rice or chips, but the chicken curry was lovely very filling. We tried most of the food and if we didn't like we just didn't eat it. In the afternoon there is a snack bar with pizza burgers and chips snack food was very good. As for the entertainment, (what entertainment) there was bingo, which was boring cadget liked the sound of his own voice, music quiz, karaoke, which is enough to send you over the edge. Gizmo didn't seem to do much, it wasn't till our last 4 days that gadget and gizmo spoke to us. In the day they had some games in the pool which didn't start till about 2.30 in the afternoon. It is a 10 minute walk in to town where the night live is very good, if you go in to town looking for a good night out go to summer jam, we had the best time there. Taxi back to hotel cost 10 lira. The sea horse beach was nice,very hot and dusty, wouldn't go there again. free bus there and back, but you can only go there at 10.30 pick up in the morning and a 5 o'clock pick back to the hotel. If you want to go back to the hotel any earlier then it is a taxi back, which I believe is 30 lira. You are not aloud to take you own food or drink the restaurant is very expensive. All in all an average holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small, try and get a room near reception as you can get wifi in them rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    172
    81
    22
    21
See reviews for
111
311
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just back from a week at the Destina hotel, where me and my teenage daughter stayed. All staff very hard working and friendly, nothing was too much from the porter, cleaners, gardener, waiters/bar staff, chef and of course Gizmo and Gadget!
Felt very safe, everyone very friendly. Impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, rooms and gardens. Plenty to do for all if you wanted to join in but no pressure, entertainment at night varied and good quality.
Thought the food was great, tasty, varied and plenty of it. Glad it wasn't too English but catered for all tastes even picky teen eaters!
Sad to leave, great memories and would definitely like to visit again. Lovely area, beautiful views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just had 14 nights at the Destina Hotel and it punches well above its weight for the price.
Rooms are basic but well maintained. Food is good quality, varied with plenty of options and the all inclusive local drinks more than hit the spot.
There are plenty of activities during the day in and around the pool hosted by "Gadget" and "Gizmo" who though fairly rehearsed are most entertaining, but it has to be said that there is little or nothing in the way of children's activities at the hotel, defiantly a place for teenagers upwards.
Far enough from the bars and shops in Hisaranu to be peaceful but close enough for a ten minute gentle downhill stroll to the center and its only a 10 lira taxi back up the hill if you don't feeling like walking home.
Well worth considering if your looking for an all inclusive venue in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the destina in early july and i can honestly say if you are looking for a great holiday experience then look no further.This was our second time here and it did not disapoint.The hotel is set on the side of a mountain overlooking the lively town of hisaronu and in the evening you can eat on the balcony and watch the sun set.The rooms are quite small but are very clean and tidy and the cleaners work very hard to keep you supplied with clean linen.The gardens and pool area are well kept as is the rest of the hotel.In the restaurant there is a good selection of food to choose from and don't be scared to try something new,you might just like it.At the destina you will find some of the best staff you have probably ever met from the cleaners up to the hotel manager,everybody is cheerful and always happy to help.Special thanks to yunus,gadget,recep,shane,murat,bartman we miss you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We travelled as My Husband, myself & our two daughters aged 18yrs & 16yrs.
Having read so many good reviews I couldn't help that worry we were setting ourselves up for disappointment!!! We were so wrong!! The hotel is great! Food not a huge amount of choice but what there was, was always well cooked & plentiful! Breakfast, pancakes, omelettes fried eggs, meats, cheese, cereals, the usual all inclusive choices. Lunch same as dinner really meats, pasta, lots of salads lots of puddings. Not a place for families with young children as there is very little for them to do there & no children's clubs or dances etc.......Families with teenage children ideal.
The entertainment team is Gadget & Gizmo, where do I begin with these two?? If I could bottle their laughs I would make a fortune, their great personalities & enthusiasm is infectious!! They chat to all holiday makers & not just the people who join in on everything!!! Our first week we really just chilled & the second week wanted to join in on more things!!
we went on the jeep safari, Thomas Cook wanted £30 per person but if you walk into Hisaronou (downhill on the way there 20mins, uphill on the way home or 10lira for a cab which is well worth it!!!) go to pioneer travel it will cost you £13 for the exact same thing, only you don't have to visit the carpet factory (PHEW!!!!) Only advice is they say you do not need to take money, but actually you do there's lots of extras there if you want them for example drinks, gorge entrance money (5lira) doughnut rings on the river & a stop before home for the professional photographer to sort out his shots for you to purchase for £20 a cd with 120 shots on.
The biggest bit of advise I can give is take ear plugs if you want to sleep well as the rooms are really bad for sound proof & you can hear people coming & going most of the night!!
Gadget & Gizmo also take all the teenagers into Hisaronou on a Wednesday night from midnight til 3.30am to a couple of clubs & bars where they secure the door & so all kids are safe & have a kebab before cabbing back!!! My girls both went on this & loved it!!
We went to Barumba a couple of times, a very loud upbeat great bar/club where the fun is endless, also do a great fishbowl.
Go with a relaxed mind & you will love it!!!
This is the only holiday all four of us have wanted to return to, so watch out Gadget & Gizmo you may very well be seeing us again!!!!!!! The Secker family!! XXX

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wow. I travelled to this hotel with my boyfriend and his mum for a 2 week stay in August this year after reading some pretty good reviews. We were not disappointed! On arrival (at 6am Turkish time) we were greeted by friendly staff and a man was waiting to take our suitcases to our room and did not hang around for a tip like some bell boys often do. When we got up later that day we headed straight for the pool, yes there is a SLIGHT shortage in sunbeds at times, but we sat ourselves down with a drink and a few soon became available. It was pretty obvious who Gadget was as soon as we saw him! Very cheery man who likes to try get everyone involved in everything! I can't agree Gadget and Gizmo left out people over 25 as there were plenty of over 25's joining in with allsorts whilst we were there so all I can say is...get yourselves involved!
If you're ok with loud music then sit near the shallow end but if not, over near the deep end of the pool you can barely hear the music!

THE POOL: Was very clean, a man went round every single night cleaning it. Plenty of space even when the hotel is at full capacity.

DAYTIME ENTERTAINMENT: Wakey Wakey Destinaaa! Water aerobics / Volleyball / Water Polo / Killer pool / Several random games involving a surfboard or two!

NIGHT TIME ENTERTAINMENT: Bingo / Music Quiz / Turkish Dancers / Magician / Karaoke / Break Dancers / Acrobats / Mr/Mrs Destina / Best Couple / etc!

FOOD: Fab fab fab and so yummy! There was basically food all day long :) DON'T BE PICKY alot of the things taste so good - but I heard a few people complaining because it 'looked a bit odd'

STAFF: All the staff here were very friendly, helpful and well presented. They really put the icing on the cake! Special shout outs to Musa, Jan [the main bar barman], Sahin, Kermit and of course Gadget and Gizmo!

ROOMS: So clean. YES not massive in size but are you really going on holiday to 'swing a cat around'?! They have everything you need in them including a fridge with two bottles of water replaced when used [massive bonus compared to other places I have stayed] and towels are changed everyday providing you leave them in a pile on the floor so they know you want them changing. Added plus is the cleaners are absolute gems and always have time to give you a cheery Hello!

We met some great people in our 2 week stay of all ages and walks of life! If you're going on holiday - have some fun! People need to remember this is still only a 3* Hotel and shouldn't find the need to complain about minor things. Forget about criticising everything and just enjoy what's on offer. For the price we all were overly impressed and shall definitely be returning.

THANK YOU DESTINA!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1966 and could not hear music from there. No lifts in hotel so be aware of that on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Turkey before 5 yrs ago at the Ova resort didn't think anything could match it but hoped Destina would!
Family holiday 14yr, 11yr old along with 20yr old and 41yr old. The entertainment team, bar staff and waiters make this hotel! They were absolutely amazing, special mentions to Kermit, Sahin, Erol and Batuhan! They kept us smiling all day. Gadget and Gizmo did their very best. Gizmo's still learninng and always got us dancing. Gadget was awesome took us on nights out along with a kebab after and looked after us very well and kept us laughing all day. The entertainment is more adult based so that wasn't good for the kids but they did their best as they're used to singletons and couple guests so it was great for us adults. We always joined in the fun and kept the atmosphere going helping them.along.

Food was nice and edible not like some people have made out.in these reviews, some.nights were better than others. Breakfast was good. However, it did get abit boring after the 10th day. We just headed to.the.main.road.for.a 5lira massive turkish pancake.or.kebab and that was yum!

Hotels very clean very classy and.uptodate. Rooms are reasonable size if.your single or.double. Family rooms are quite.cramped. The shower area is pretty small but it doesn't squash yoj to death lol not.like you sleep there. The water.pressures very good. Hot water is.limited at peak times though.

Would defo go back with the friends. Met some amazing people!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.