We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday @ Destina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Destina Hotel to your Saves list
Destina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ovacik
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday @ Destina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Destina hotel in Ovacik. The hotel is set in beautiful well maintained gardens the pool was huge and there were plenty of sun loungers still free throughout the day. An excellent hotel for couples/adults but I really wouldn't recommend it for families with children under the ag of about 15, as there is nothing for them to do in the way of kids activities / slides etc.. I think there was a small play park. Food was excellent - a nice variety of things, inc chicken, beef turkey etc. the views from the open roofed restaurant were spectacular, especially of the sunset every night! Staff work extremely hard to ensure guests have a lovely stay :) location brilliant, 10 min stroll down to hisoranu and 5 min bus ride to olu deniz which costs 2.5 lira pp (about £1) each way. I would def recommend going to the national park beach in the blue lagoon, it coss about £2 pp to get in, but its empty! So beautiful, and relaxed with crystal clear waters! Whereas the sea horse beach which the hotel bus goes to, was so crowded you coud barely even see the sand. Gadget & gizmo were lovely, however my only niggle was that they would keep pestering you to take part in the daytime activities! I would rather just be left alone to chillax.. Also the hotel was quite noisey at night, with people coming in at all hours drunk being loud in the coridoors. Anyway all in all a lovely stay, excellent value for money, we had room 1994 which was nice as was larger than a lot of the others & further away from the entertainment part, so slightly quieter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    198
    91
    30
    26
See reviews for
132
354
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel staff ,food if you like chicken and accomadation were all excelent, Big thanks go to all the staff all very helpful,good to talk to could not do enough for you.The rooms were not the biggest but were ample.- The big problem was the site itself , very hilly area imposible for wheel chair as on two levels. I am physicaly disabled walk with sticks badly but would still consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just to set the scene - 25 hols in Turkey over 16 years - some excellent, some very good, a few ok, but most in the acceptable area - I always give an honest review, and only expect a fair return for honest holiday payments made.

Fifth year of all inclusive - 9 holidays in other Turkish resorts, so we decided to give the hotel + resort a try, with assistance from the travel agent operating at Humberside Airport - never had problems before..... but !!

Rated @ 4 star accommodation.... sorry, no chance, reasonably basic 12' by 12' sized room starting with a wardrobe that was not the full depth to hold any hanger straight without leaving the door open, which made the space on my side of the bed exactly 250mm - 10 inches. 7 hangers only - no trouser hangers available in the room or from reception. 2 x 0.5 litre waters each morning - replaced by Jacobs cardboard cups from each water dispenser - no other bottles available unless you bought extra from the on site shop.

Room - no drinks facilities - usually get a kettle in A 1 rooms - 9/9 in past accommodations on A1 style bookings, hot drinks etc, also no beach towels or service available on site, luckily took two spares to use. The room was rated as twin + child space - there was no space to walk past each other without knocking into the beds. We went into the town to buy a kettle and two mugs for drinks in the room, especially after 11pm.

Bathroom - under 6' by 6' - had to stand in the shower area to be able to close the door behind you - the toilet had to be sat on sideways - 4 inches space between the bowl and the shower screen - to access the shower space, you had to stand sideways, and the shower fired water over the screen into the bathroom even at low pressure. Cured that with a length of string to tighten and hold the shower head downwards. The toilet flush worked with effort ,but was loose throughout the week there with no repair done.

Pool - excellent - good size - kept in good repair and cleaned on regular basis - plenty of sun beds - also in good repair and condition all week.

Poolside facilities - bar staff were good, well mannered and helpful at all times. All water and hot drinks at pool side were self service and either in plastic cups or paper Jacobs cups - sugar was the cube type and was left out with no way of hygienically handling it - no spoons to stir or pick up cubes - plastic stick stirrers provided.

You could not get plastic 0.5 litre water bottles unless you wanted to buy them at the shop. Several times during the week, there was no cold juices or water available at poolside prior to 11am so you had to go back up to the restaurant to fill up again.

Restaurant - lost count of the times that cutlery had to be asked for, and the plain fact that the hot food was cooked , set out and not kept hot in the hot plates - which soon weren't!

Salad choice was good, because the mains were very variable - food being prepared on a strict budget comes to mind. We didn't starve but weren't impressed - best food of the week was at the Talk Of The Town night out !

Accessibility - not quite as described in the brochure - nearest bus was a reasonable walk to the main road - roughly 1/2 mile, but taxis were freely available and reasonably priced. Not suited to anyone with any form of infirmity - one gent had two sticks and spent lots on taxis to access the main town areas.

Evening entertainment - the two lads, Gadget + Gismo, tried hard every night - very few resources - one local belly dancer and one local dance group entertained during the week. Other than that, it was karaoke time.

By talking to others at the poolside or in the restaurant, we had certainly paid in excess of their totals, so perhaps our expectations were naturally higher.

For those on a budget, they will have received a very fair provision - we felt otherwise, purely judged on price paid and facilities found.

We will be going back with photographic evidence of all our findings during the week to our travel agent, who have not provided us with an honest report of the hotel, or had been given poor information themselves.

To be fair and honest, those who were regulars to the hotel were happy to tell us how much they had paid and what level of service they were expecting and receiving, and they were content.

We felt that an honest review of a hotel described as 4 * all inclusive needed to be made - we were not alone in our thoughts from conversations held in reception, as this was the only area for wi fi contact.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just back from the Destina. Have to agree with all the recent reviews. This is a great place to stay.

Our only problem was the shower door which leaked at times, but this was sorted very quickly.

The staff are very attentive, particularly Recep and Musa.

Gadget is a proper legend, and Varol, the magic fingers massuer is fantastic. They have people coming from far and wide, including many Turks to the hotel's Turkish bath.

Whilst the Destina is a family hotel, there were hardly any children there. It being June and the fact they only have 8 family rooms, means that it is an ideal place for couples to stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the block near the pool are actually accessed from the the ground floor, if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First time at this hotel (MAY 30TH - JUNE 13TH 2013) , with my husband and mother in law, what a fab place .
this hotel has mountain views from all sides, and is 15 min down hill walk from hisaronu town and 5 min bus ride from the beach in olu deniz and the blue lagoon.
Gadget and Gismo the entertainment staff are fab and keep the guests happy all day long with several activitys , and they are hillarious, Jan and the rest of the bar staff are great and after a few days know what you are drinking and have it on the bar waiting for you when they see you coming , the maids do a great job in the rooms and even decorate the beds with petals and towel designs All the staff work so hard,a brilliant team .
If you like to see a brilliant sunset then this hotel has the best ive ever seen, you can watch it go down over hisaronu and suronding mountains what a view it was fantastic .

Overall an excellant hotel i would would reccomend it to all ages ,we will be returning .

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front with side pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic week at the Destina (3 June - 10 June 2013) ! The hotel is nice and clean everywhere with well kept gardens and very friendly staff. The pool area is a good size with plenty of sun beds to go round.
The food was excellent and varied with enough choices to suit all.
Rooms although a little on the small side are adequate, very clean and with a very strong shower which is brilliant for us ladies washing our hair!
We arrived in the early hours of the morning to be met by a lovely member of staff on reception who was very helpful as was the man who took our cases to the rooms. With such a warm welcome we were off to a good start! All staff were excellent and Gadget and Gizmo worked very hard to ensure everyone had a good time.
There was a real mix of ages staying at the hotel with many people I spoke to returning year after year! We were a group of four women in our sixties and we were very well looked after and had a fantastic time. Would recommend the Destina to all age groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool as these have a much better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my first trip to Turkey and I was amazed. The hotel was very clean, and all the staff were so helpful and friendly. Customer service at its best. Gadget and Gizmo were great and very entertaining!!!! All the waiting on staff went out of their way to make us welcome and they were so polite. The food was amazing and by the time we left (we only stayed 1 week) we felt like they were family. The area is beautiful and only a short bus ride into the main area and beach. I cant rate this hotel highly enough and the only problem we had was sorted out instantly. The maids were very lovely too, and left little surprises on the bed, such as petals and towel arrangements. I am already planning my second trip and telling everyone about Destina hotel. You cant fault it!!!! For those who have put bad reviews I think maybe their standards are way to high as this was exception value, customer service and outright beauty of the wonderful mountain you get look out upon every day. Thanks to all the staff xxxx

Room Tip: If you are planning on going to bed early then avoid the ground floor as the noise does travel but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.