We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destina hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Destina Hotel to your Saves list
Destina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Ovacik
Howwood, Renfrewshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Destina hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in Sept 2012. There were 5 of us in 2 rooms. The room for 3 was very small. It was a double room with one extra bed put in. We complained but nothing was done about it. They did offer us an alternative room 3 days into the holiday but by then we decided we did not want to be bothered moving. The hotel food is very poor. Its wall to wall chicken. I would not mind that but its not very nice chicken to be honest. I really struggled with the food and I am not a picky eater. You get fed up with chips and beans and salad being the option for breakfast if you do not like eggs and the rest of the time its chicken chips and salad! The all inclusive option is not good either. There is only vodka, whisky and rum as spirit options! There is one beer on tap and that is it. No cocktails allowed. No liquers allowed. If you want any of that its the pay bar but why when its supposed to be all inclusive? The entertainment team were Ok. Gadget and Gizmo did their best. All our party had upset stomachs during the holiday as did other guests we spoke too. The location is OK. Its a bit of a hill to get up and down to Hisaronu but its not too bad. Overall I have been to better in Turkey and do not think all inclusive is worth the money here as the food is very cheap locally and also very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    194
    91
    30
    26
See reviews for
131
348
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

my wife and i stayed at the DESTINA HOTEL at the end of september. we booked with jet 2 holidays for what i thought was a good price.
the hotel was fine for the money 3 star .rooms are on the small side ,but you only sleep in them.
rooms kept clean and tidy and towels changed ofen.
the food we thought was very good loads of choice but lots of chicken.we stayed AI .
only thing about that is the drinks, if you want alcohol in them forget it there is none or very little at best, but who wants the place full of drunks.
hotel is in three blocks you need to stay in the block with room numbers starting with 2, thats the furthest away from the bar.the free bar closes at 11 o clock but a late bar opens till 5 am thats for the drunks.staff or ok polite and helpfull.
very nice veiw from the resteraunt.
hotel set back up the mountain so nice and peaceful no traffic noise.
thats the only snag is that it is down hill into the village and a slog back up in the heat but plenty of taxis at10tl so cheap and well worth it.
dont book any trips with the rep go into village and book there we booked all ours at alibabers for half the rep price with no problems.
nice pool area poll was cold well it was for me only went in once. loads of sun beds but pool area a crowded.
the only problem for us was the entertainment duo who played music all day far to lound who wants rap music allday . ask to turn it down they just ignored you. so if like to snooze round the pool forget it. the hotel as been refurb recently only thing with that they have taken out all the carpets and tiled every where which makes the place ehco when people slam doors the complete block hears it.
but over all this is a good family run hotel, good food and in a nice posistion. well worth a look.
there is adaily free bus down to the beach at 10.30 back at 5.00 sun beds are free but not food and drink which are abit pricey.

Room Tip: stay in rooms starting with 2 much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Destina. It was a last minute cheaper holiday and we got more than expected for the price we paid! We paid for a 3* but in our opinion it was worth much more than that.

We had a issue when we arrived at Dalaman as our transfer company had gone bust and we were left at the airport expected to find our own way to the hotel. As it was our first time in turkey we had no idea what the best option would be. After a few games another transfer company offered to take us free of charge to our hotel, which was very good of them.

We were greeted at the hotel at stupid o'clock in the morning by a very happy receptionist and 2 sandwiches which they had prepared for our arrival. The security also took our bags and carried them up to our room. Straight away we had a great first impression. After not having a great start at the airport this made us feel much better.

The rooms were as many previous guests have stated quite small but not enough that it would be a problem. In fairness its to change and sleep. We didn’t spend much more time than that in the rooms. Unfortunately the shower wasn’t great and the aircon didn’t work in our room but again nothing that would spoil your holiday.

The food was so good. There was a lot of chicken and turkey but again as stated below it was varied everyday. We didn’t have the same thing twice. As well as this there was fish, beef and meatballs etc. The salads were very fresh and the desserts were also lovely. So much to choose from. Only recommendation I had for the restaurant is to have a daily menu board so people can see what is available that day.

The pool area was lovely, the pool was cold but just bite the bullet and dive, its fine as soon as your in. We were in there everyday. To be honest it was very hot during our stay so a cold pool was much appreciated.

There is a shuttle which pick you up from the hotel at 10:30 and take you to a small beach on the lagoon in Olu Deniz. The lagoon is stunning surrounded by mountains. If your staying at Destina this is a must do.

The biggest asset of this hotel is the staff. They work such long hours and they are always happy and they cannot do enough to help you enjoy your stay. The bar staff were so much fun having playful banter with the guests. The entertainment staff Gadget and Gizmo were fab. They were so funny. Gizmo had very broken English and despite this we still had a very fun relationship. He had a mission to make my boyfriend jump as many times a day as he could, I think his heart recovered the moment we landed home lol. Due to the time of year the entertainment wasn’t as great as the summer months however they still tried to make it fun, we had a bingo, karaoke, Miss Destina night. It was all very funny. Destina would be silly to let these pair go!

We had a fab time at Destina and we have been back 2 days and already looking at booking for next year!

Well done Destina!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This time myself and my partner stayed for 16 nights (29/9-15/10) and it was as fantastic as our first visit to the Destina in May and we're planning to go back next September/October.

The owners are at the hotel day and night and were always visible and stopped and chatted to you.

FOOD:
I'm now on a diet as the food was good - yes there is lots of chicken and turkey but cooked in imaginative ways and tasty. I don't normally eat deserts but couldn't leave them alone. Soup is good and the bread is gorgeous too...The hotel owners queue up and eat the same food as we do so that tells you how good it is!

ENTERTAINMENT
Night: during our stay they brought in a fire-eater, belly dancer and acrobatic show and all were fab. Other night-time entertainment had to be re-arranged at short notice when people wouldn't join in. Sunday was Gadgets day off and was the only night when nothing happened but background music!
Day: although it was nearing the end of season my critiscm (and this applies to night as well) is there should be a weekly schedule up in reception and pool area of what's on and at what time as this was very hit and miss and if there aren't enough guest joining in cancel. I did mention this to Gadget and included this on my hotel feedback.
I can't understand how people thought Gizmo was great. I do agree Gadget and Gizmo are great together (Gizmo wasn't there in May). However Gizmo is nothing without Gadget and his English isn't very good. Gizmo sat at the bar one Sunday night playing cards and didn't interact with the guests which was disappointing.

STAFF:
Gardner, cleaners, restaurant and reception fabulous. One of the pool staff wasn't over-friendly and served women before men! Our taxi company went bust (Yesil Dylan) during our stay and reception sorted out a taxi for us.

HOTEL:
Rooms are good, I have no complaints with the size as not much different than most peoples bedrooms and bathroom size of an en-suite which is what I'm used to at home. Air conditioning with heating added bonus. Towels were changed everyday Tip: roll a towel and use as a door-stop so the noise is reduced from the the noisy inconsiderate guests (hotel can't be held responsible for guest behaviour)
Modern reception area and restauant. Grounds well kept and pool cleaned every morning

Fantastic holiday and met some fantastic people and I much prefer a holiday when it's quieter.

Room Tip: First or second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We moved here after a bad start at the Pink Palace hotel and what a difference two 3* hotels can be.
Rooms were all recently refurbished, clean magnolia walls with red feature walls and trim to match, shower rooms new tiling and fittings. Rooms are in 3 blocks (A,B &C) and have 3 floors in each block.
Hotel reception, toilets, dining area also looked refurbished - bright and airy, there are some areas that could do with smartening up like the pool toliets and the pool table area but is probably me being picky.
Staff superb and friendly.
Large pool with small Jacuzzi pool above the pool bar, have to say the water was freezing until you got used to it but was lovely once in (It was October).
Turkish bath on site was cheap and good - but could be hotter for me, being honest it had probably only just been switched on for us as it wasn't being used to much by the guests.
Pizzas and burgers at snack time 3.30-5.00 were freshly made and excellent.
Meals were excellent, have stayed in some 4* hotels in Turkey and the quality here would give them a run for thier money.
Free bus to the hotels blue lagoon beach leave at 10.30am return at 5pm was great, loungers and brolly free when you got there, food and drinks available from the beach bar - chargeable but tasty.
Hotel is 15-20min walk to Hisaranu centre, 15 miniute walk to Nandos on the main road, where you get the Dolmus to Fethier (£1.50), 15 minute walk the opposite way to the Pink Palace on the main road and get Dolmus to Olu Deniz (£1) but it is UP HILL on the way back - no good for wheel chairs.
Only comment would be the rooms should have a kettle and brew facilities,
The corridoors/rooms were noisy and ecoed, the 1.5 inch gap under the room door didn't help (we rolled a towel up like a draft excluder), also there was a dog barking when people arrived in the middle of the night, think this was the gate security guard dog - only doing his job I suppose!
Overall very good for the price.

Room Tip: If you can stand the stairs get a top floor preferably Block "B" which is furthest away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we just returned from a 2 week break at this hotel... wot can i say BRAVO this hotel is lovely ..spotsly clean very nice furnished ..the food was lovely im a vegetarian and the salads were plentyful as were the range of veg on offer there was diffrent things every nite .
the staff could not do enough for u and when we arrived at midnite they had prepared sandwiches for us a lovely touch .the pool was fab (although a little cold) i think they could do with heating it a little in september ..not many people used it because of this im sure but its such a shame as it was a lovely pool ..entertainment was not every night but when was on it was good ...the hotel dog was so lovely i wanted to bring him home ..to make this hotel perfect i would recomed the following points ..warm the swimming pool a little..put more entertainment on more nites as can be a little boring in the evenings ..put the entertainment on earlier then 10.30pm as most people are tired by this point ..have relaxing music on in the daytime by the pool instead of boom boom boom

Room Tip: land view rooms are quieter ..but all the hallways do carry sound but it was not a issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I thought tge rooms were small but adequate for what you need on holiday!! The bar staff were polite and a luagh!! Entertainment during the day was good with all different games!! During the night it wasnt to bad quiz night bingo kareoke etc!! The food was nice!! Different everynight which was good!! For the price you pay you cannot complain some people expect to much for so little!! The only downside is the corridors or very echoey so if someone i noisy it could wake you up!! Rather then that great friendly place and me and my partner would defiantly reccomend it and we be coming back here next year!!! If you read what people read six months ago pay no attention under new managment and very good!! If you decide to go enjoy it....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.