We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel & great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Holiday Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kocapirnal Cad 3, Ovacik 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Ovacik
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 10 nights from 27th June - overall we had a great time & would definitely reccommend the hotel.
We had a room with a swim up pool that was amazing - the room was a good size and the pool was beautiful! The larger pool down at the bar was also great & there are tortoises in the middle island (across the little bridge) which were really cute.
The all inclusive food was lovely & drinks were good too. The majority of staff were friendly, polite and helpful - in particular we thought Ali, Orhan & Ramazan were really great and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay which was much appreciated...thank you!! The man in charge of reception was quite rude to us but apart from that it was fine.
The hotel was quiet which meant our stay was really relaxing & we made some great new friends with staff/fellow guests.
There were little things in the room which were not quite perfect when we arrived such as no clothes hangers but every day there were improvements & by the end it had everything we needed including very good air con! There is certainly still work to be done around the hotel & guests should not expect a gym or the sauna if travelling this year... but the hotel do offer transfers and a discount at a local Turkish Spa. Not all rooms are open yet & the outside of the hotel does still look quite like a building site but it really doesn't effect you much when you're staying there.
Overall we loved our stay & if you are due to stay over the summer I am ensure you will enjoy yourselves unless you go with a negative attitude because it is not exactly what you expected. A holiday is what you make of it in my opinion :)
Finally, I really think anyone leaving a negative review of the hotel without having stayed there should seriously consider removing it - it's so unfair to the staff who are working so hard to ensure their guests enjoy their trip.
Feel free to ask questions.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room with a swim up pool - would definitely reccommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day break, I will give a 100% honest review here.
The hotel is not finished. It is sitting in the middle of a dusty building site.

Our room was complete, and was very nice - missing the seating area (as TV was pointing to a space in the room where you, I guess, in time will be able to sit), bed very comfortable, room clean and spacious - bathroom lovely, although the bath did flood the floor daily - but cleaners cleaned it up every day. We stayed in room 7310 (above restaurant).
However, no gym, no amphitheatre, very basic restaurant, we have been told there is capacity for 500 but counted only 75 sun loungers.
All inclusive - very basic - breakfast, lunch, snack time - all produced same basic food, salad bar, grilled chicken, chips; no variety - sadly - and no atmosphere in restaurant we were forced to spend money to eat out every night, 2 of the nights required taxis - so our A.I. experience which we were hoping to spend no additional money resulted in us spending about £180 on top of what we had expected.
The pool area is nice, clean, but the snack bar is a shack - again not finished, and we experienced a lot of workmen around the pool area trying to finish things - not ideal.

We were told we would have to pay for late check out - which I point blankly refused to do as our pick up was at 5pm, and we had to check out at 12 - with no gym or other shower facilities - or luggage storage I insisted we had our room until 4pm with no charge, after some arguing, they agreed.
We were also asked to pay 40 Lira for a safety deposit box - that was broken for 2 days of our trip so we could not retrieve our belongings - again I refused to pay this.

The 1 god send this place has is Ali - the guest relations manager, he was very understanding and gave a friendly face that you were pleased to have around. The owners are lucky to have him and the place would be even more of a shambles if he was not around.

Staff did admit to us that the gym, amphitheatre, snack bar at pool etc will not be done this season and they were forced to open this summer so they could get money to complete the works. We were 100% mis-sold and will certainly be taking this up with our tour operator,.
That said, this time next year I believe the hotel will be a lot better as the things that are finished are nice.

Advice - do not book this hotel this year, wait until next year when it is finished. If you have already booked, it is not as bad as you may think - it was very quiet which meant we got pick of the loungers by the pool, but make sure your expectations are set! They also offer a shuttle bus to their beach area in Olu Deniz, which other residents took advantage off and were pleased with the service there.

All in all, nice pool, nice rooms, once finished will be a good hotel – just not quite there yet.

Room Tip: If requesting a 'swim up' room ask for the bigger top level pool, as the smaller one just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

i will be arriving a week from today to the resort. i am wondering how far from completion the resort is? As a paying individual i have been in touch with my travel company to inquire about the condition of the facility, i have had an email received and the manager insists that the resort is in a good condition to have an enjoyable holiday.

if i am unhappy about the state and condition of the holiday resort will there be the opportunity to be moved to the other hotel where it may be more possible to have a relaxing holiday or is this not the case anymore?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner spent 11 days at this hotel and loved every minute of it Evan tho it's not completely finished all the staff were so friendly especially orhan, Ali,ramazan.the food was good allways something we liked we are already looking to book here next year ! Would defenetly recommend this hotel! And when it's completely finished it will be Evan better !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Couldn't write a review as we were informed 3 days before we were due to go that it was not open. We were lucky some people found out at the airport and others when they got there. I believe that it has now opened but the photo of the entrance is a fake it looks like the entrance to a building site.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor service from hotel which accepted booking and was not built yet. Was shown to dirty room and ended up being transferred to another hotel which was only 3 star.

Pool, bar, reception and restaurant all yet to be complete and most rooms were still being worked on

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunshineOvacik, Owner at Sunshine Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Please find below the statement we forwarded to the tour operator in response to the complaint raised by the viewer.

Dear Sirs,

First of all we would like to express our deep sorrow and sincere apologies for late opening due to reasons beyond our will.

The complainant here in particular has avoided us and blocked every approach made by us to appease the inconvenience caused by our late opening, something we mostly succeeded with the guests who arrived on same dates. We have kept our reception open for 24 hours to meet our guests who could not receive our message for relocation due to short notice and helped them with their transfer, accompanied every single guest to the other hotel in order to help them with their check in and choice of room and to make sure that they got the best hospitality there.

The complainant refused to leave the transfer shuttle at our hotel, denied listening to any explanation given by us and rejected any help expressing deep frustration.

We are aware that we were in default, a case affected many guests who have booked on us, still we tried to ease the case by paying several visits to our guests staying at the other hotel, we offered them free of charge daily excursions such as Turkish Bath and Boat Trips, invited them for free cocktail trips to our hotel to look around and see the condition of the hotel at day time, offered them discounted accommodation rates on their next visit to us and tried many other ways which helped to ease their discomfort.

The hotel was opened on 20th June, guests arrived on 22nd June and later on preferred to stay at our hotel rather than having relocated to another one despite that they have been offered the choice of relocation by us. Furthermore we feel proud stating that some guests have asked to come back to our hotel during the above mentioned cocktail trips and we happily accepted 6 guests to do so.

The Telmessos Hotel is not a poor 3 star hotel its official rating is 4 star and it has excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.

The Hisaronu and Ovacik districts are not different towns they are two districts merged with each other in the same town and the distance between both hotels is much less than 1 Mile, Google Maps may help to prove.

No single human being in Turkey can dare to dump or frog march a British visitor anywhere, we believe they were given the due respect all the time.

Based on our point of view we believe that all the incidents related above clearly show that the complainant was focused on a full refund from the very start, this approach made all our efforts inconclusive.

While we would like to thank all our guests who have been affected by late opening for their kind understanding and being so considerate we repeat our apologies for our mutual guest.

Sincerely Yours
İhsan caglar
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Turkey in the early hours of Saturday 21st June and after what felt like a lot of travelling, we finally arrived at our hotel . Much to our horror however, the hotel was unoccupied, except for the man who met us, and unfinished! We were shown to our room, which was lovely but needed some snagging work done to it, and told to come down for breakfast between 8am and 10am.
We were then left to our own devices and due to the state of the place, we thought we should have a look around. It was an absolute disgrace that anybody was allowed to arrive and stay there at this point in time. There were wires hanging out the walls, no lighting around the pool area so quite easily could have fallen in, fire alarms hanging out walls and smoke detectors still in protective covers. Basically it was a health and safety nightmare and in no circumstances should be taking bookings as the facilities were just not ready.
In the end, although we didn’t feel safe, due to lack of security and people around, we were so tired that we tried to get some sleep. Around 6.30am we heard some other people clearly just arriving and in as much shock as we were. Finally we spoke with the man who met us and he woke the Guest Relations Manager Ali. We made our feelings clear to him that is was an absolute disgrace that the place should be open in its current state and there was no way we would stay. After some calls he arranged for us to be moved to another hotel – Telmessos in Hisaronu. He personally drove us there, where we had some breakfast and were given a room, in which we stayed for the rest of our trip. He was quite understanding and helpful. Credit to him.
The concept of the hotel looks lovely and when completed I’m sure will be a great place to stay, but I would now be hesitant to return for at least another 8 months to a year so they can get it all up together and hopefully some customers to give it a good atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Holiday Resort

Address: Kocapirnal Cad 3, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Holiday Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you feel yourself in peace and tranquillity. You will enjoy sunbathing around the pool under the shining sun on a breezy plateau overlooking the village with stunning mountain view in daytime and sunset view in evening.The ideal location of this hotel provides you with the best weather you may find in this area as it leans against the forest on the skirts of Para gliders most popular mountain, this altitude makes the sunbathing here more joyful and pleasant compared to the destinations in both Fethiye and Oludeniz characterised by high humidity and scorching sun in high summer season.It is just 10 minutes drive (4 km) to the famous Oludeniz Beach at Blue Lagoon and at the same distance to Calis Beach in Fethiye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Holiday Hotel Ovacik
Sunshine Holiday Fethiye
Sunshine Holiday Resort Turkey/Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.