We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Aquarium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Aquarium to your Saves list
Grand Aquarium
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136. Sok. No:2, Icmeler, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Icmeler
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel, I didn't want to leave, the bar staff and entertainment team were fantastic, all friendly, going back to visit next year! First time in turkey and by far the best holiday I have ever had.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    120
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
285
90
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I returned to the grand aquarium for the 3rd year running this year. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are of a good standard. recommend a 2 bedroom apartment as you have more room. The food in the resturant is fantastic huge portions and good value for money well done errol the chef, big thumbs up. It was lovely to see Hassan and Robbie again they always make u feel welcome and are fantastic with the children always smiling.the pool is lovely and clean and a good size. The entertainment staff were a bit poor maybee because it was september but saying this the hotel was still fully booked so it should still be to the same standard as main season. There is only one bad thing i can say about the grand this year....IN one word AIDEN!! What a rude, vile ,little man. He really did let this hotel down! all the staff in the previous yrs have been lovely but i really dont no what to say about him.He was a rip off merchant and if u didnt by from him you where totally ignored for the rest of the holiday and just given dirty looks. The children where waiting to play pool and he wouldnt get off the pool table even though he was suppose to be working and we were paying guest. Then he swore at the children. He let the grand down this year...Get rid off him! On a good note the reception staff where very helpful and polite, Ali the night manager was there to greet us on our arrival and made us all comfortable as soon as we arrived, and finally saliye ...this woman will do anything to help you, she is kind ,pleasant and always a pleasure to see every year,cant do enough to help you whenever possible, She is a credit to the grand and does a good job. Missed mehdi this year in the jewellery shop its just not the same as a gift shop but over all a lovely place to stay and we will be back again soon to see everyone...EXCEPT AIDEN !

Room Tip: Book a 2 bedroom apartment if u have children or there are more than 2 adults in a room. Settee beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from The Grand Aquarium, I didn't want to come home. I stayed for 7 weeks, (15 Sept-2nd Nov). It was great to be back with all my friends at the hotel. The rooms are always cleaned every day, the beds made up, and fresh towels are provided each day. All the staff are helpful, always willing to ensure you have a great time. The meals are excellent, and the portions are big,and great value for money. I can't to return to see all my friends again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

had the perfect holiday in icemeler with the wife and 1 year old baby girl.the accomodation is very clean and the rooms adequate.i highly recommend the food the portions are large and tasty.the staff are first class from maid to cook.forgot my diabetes tablets from england and approached saliye the woman in reception about the problem in which she sorted very quickly and without charge.all the staff are friendly and helpful but she did shine and was very helpful.excellent stay and would recommend for all.super chilled and will be back.Tony snell and family.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was like a home coming returning to the Grand Aquarium we are always made to feel welcome here from as soon as we were greeted by the night manager Mr Ali we were made comfortable very quickly. Seeing MR Hassan and Robbie again was like meeting very good friends who genuinely missed us the weather was really hot for almost our two weeks stay and the owner Mr Rhui is a true gentleman always having time to listen to his guests not only the ones he knows well like my wife and I but always talks to all his guests making sure they are happy the restraunt is run with precision by the manager Mr Hassan and nothing is to much trouble the food is excellent thanks to the head chef Mr Errol a great heart warm thank you to all our great friends at the Grand Aquarium with special thanks to Mr Rhui Sally Hassan Robbie and Errol our love to you all and a big thank you to Cem Nannie and the ever funny Kerri the entertainmet team thanks for some good shows boys and a big Thank you to all the hard working cleaning team helping to keep our apartment spotless Hope to see you all next year.
P.S Can we request that some sort of notice be put in to rooms for those minority of people who must slam doors and drag furniture across the room late at night take care all Keith and Tina

Room Tip: This is a family hotel catering for young families so if you do not like children then the Club Aqua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This was me and my partners first visit to Turkey and had booked the G.A. after reading all the excellent reviews from trip advisor...

We were the last drop off from the transfer as were many other guests but it was well worth the wait! Beautiful hotel, pool cleaned daily with a water slide only on for an hour twice a day but doesn't really need to be on the whole time...

The entertainment staff were great always trying to get people involved with darts , water polo ect... very friendly, big name drop for Manny as he is one of many of the staff that made our holiday great!

The restaurant staff were amazing Robbie and Mr Hassan are very missed always having a laugh while delivering excellent customer service, me and my partner ate there quite a lot over the 2 weeks and could not fault a thing! You can purchase a wristband for £5 deposit which you get back once returned which you put money on and spend at the restaurant (no money accepted) it takes the pressure away from having to leave a tip and the hassle of carrying money around the pool.

Hotel cleanliness is OK not great and the floors are quite dirty and the bedding isn't changed as regular as you would like.... but we didn't spend much time there so that didn't bother us. There is a red or green light you can press before you venture out to let the maid know if you would like service or not, no messing around with paper door signs.

DOWN SIDE....
Aydan/Aidan/Addin whatever his name was is THE most rude ignorant person I have ever met!!! As soon as you arrive he takes you for a Turkish bath tour then trys to get you to buy for £35-£55 GBP EACH!!! Which if you have been to turkey before will know this is an absolute rip off and can get the same experience from £5-£15 in town! As soon as we said we weren't interested we were totally IGNORED the rest of our holiday, it was like he looked right through is, if you don't give him any money he's not interested, baring in mind we met a lot of people with the same attitude towards him as us we knew we weren't being paranoid. If you do agree to one of his rip offs he will acknowledge every breathe you take hoping to get more money out of you.

For that reason alone I will not be returning to the G.A. because I don't go on holiday to get pestered by an annoying staff member then receive a childish attitude all holiday for not giving him my money!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from the Grand Aquarium from a 2 week stay! My partner and I must say we have nothing really to complain about!
The apartments are small, but I found that they was the perfect size! Very basic, consisting of a lounge, small kitchen area, bedroom with 2 single beds which we put together and lots of storage space, bathroom and a balcony with an amazing view!
The rooms are suitable for a family of four as there are also 2 pull out sofa beds. The rooms are kept clean and tidy. Bedding changed everyday and also fresh towels. Also I walked in on the maid several times mopping our floor!

Grand Aquarium has lots to offer, especially if you don't want to leave the complex. It has a restaurant with lots of varieties to choose from, however the portions are quite large! But after we learnt that, me and my partner would share a meal between us! (Saved us money!) I must say, that I would recommend Tommys Bar (Just over the road) for breakfast if you want a full English to start your day as it is really nice! The pool area is spot on and kept clean and tidy. The pool is a decent size and the water slide is good fun! Plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas! The gift shop was handy for snacks through the day as well. The spa and gym was also decent.

We had no problem with any of the staff! I was quite shocked to see Aydin at the Grand Aquarium as I had met him previously in 2009 when I last came to Turkey. Aydin used to film the Jeep Safaris back in 2009, and I must say that when I went on the Jeep Safari this time round, it wasnt the same without him, but although it was great fun! I am quite shocked to read the reviews that "bad mouthed" Aydin. He is a great guy and a real credit to the Grand! He makes fantastic holiday photograph portfolios for you! He is very skillfull! We had our Turkish bath here at the Grand Aquarium along with a sauna and a massage. Yes it may be cheaper in the town, but when we spoke to other people around Icmeler we was thankful that we did it at the Grand! A group of young girls did the Turkish bath in the town and was told to take off their bikini tops!! (This did not happen at the Grand!) Robbie and Hassan from the restaurant, really nice guys! We will miss you! The reception staff really friendly, supportive and helpful! The entertainment staff are really nice lads! Always laughing and smiling! Had a blast on the comedy night! Wont give anyway any secrets haha! But never laughed so much in my life!!! The spa staff also was really friendly and nice!

The complex is just a short walk from the town and beach, took us around 20 minutes to walk there. But however there is a bus stop outside in case your feeling lazy! Lots to do in Turkey!! Great prices and lots to see! The scenery is really beautiful!!
Had a blast guys!! We will hopefully see you again!!
Lots of love!! Casey & Adrian xXxXx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aquarium

Address: 136. Sok. No:2, Icmeler, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#11 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#20 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Aquarium 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aquarium Hotel Icmeler
Grand Aquarium Icmeler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.