We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing introduction to Turkey” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golmar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golmar Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Golmar Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kayabal Cad 93, Icmeler 48720 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Icmeler
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing introduction to Turkey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Well, where do I start? I checked out the reviews on here before booking this holiday and was pleased that the majority were good. We spent 10 nights on B&B basis (1st time) which I thought would afford us the opportunity to go out and taste some traditional turkish food. We arrived at the hotel in the eveing after 8 hours of travelling..only to be told that the aircon was extra (this was not mentioned during booking) and that the safes were in reception in full view of everyone, not in our room. Needless to say I didn't rent one. paid the extra for the airco (£4 per day) which was very good). Rooms were small but clean and good views from the balcony. The beach at the Golmar is its only asset. Warm clear, calm, shallow water meant I could teach my 4 year old to paddle without any problems. All though I was up at 6.30am most mornings to get a decent sunbed at the beach. (otherwise the beach was full of quite unfriendly german guests)! I have to say the friendliest people we met there with great tips were the scottish and liverpudlian guests. I found the reception staff very unhelpful and unfriendly. Kerem was fantastic and always pleasant, the rest just seemed to have the hump all the time. The guy who sold the hotel excusions was very rude and at one point told me my surname was stupid! The breakfasts were the same EVERY day. The food sold by the restaurant though was excellent and good value for money. I found Icmeler a bit like Benidorm with kebabs...but stil nice and quite a few good places to eat. Marmaris was beautiful but incredibly busy so only wnet there once. Trips to Mudbath, Turkish bath and Turtle Beach are a must.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    94
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
90
98
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

At the end of the beach in an ideal position, away from the sound of the town, it is quiet and peaceful.This hotel is in need of updating. All the rooms have a fantastic view across the bay. In our room (204) the air con did not cope with the heat !
Bedding and towels were changed every day but in 9 days I did not see any sign of a hoover ! Breakfast was the usual Turkish cold meat and cheese.
But 2 miminutes down the road you can buy The Full English for £2.
When we went the season was nearly over and the hotel was very quiet. there was no entertainment.
Sunbeds were plenplentiful the pool or on the beach. Every so often Ahmet comes around and takes orders for food or drinks,you don't have to leave your sunbed ! The bar is right on the beach and stays open till late. The staff are polite and unobtrusive and Karim on the front desk is very helpful. All in all this is a hotel for a quiet holiday..................by the way what is that smell ???

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Totally agree with the previous review. We too were there for the commotion and wondered where on earth we had booked. I had studied earlier reviews but was very dissappointed by the standard of the hotel throughout. The smell was unplesant, the rooms were minging, but the view was lovely. Lots of nicer hotels to choose from for similar price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Have just returned this week from a week away at the Golmar Hotel I must say it was a brilliant time, room was dated but there was new furniture and bathroom facilities and the room was kept spotless by the maid, you could not have faulted the view of the sea from our balcony and it was definitely the best spot on the beach at the quieter end, we had absolutely no problems with any of the staff, they were all very friendly although one of them had a very dry sense of humour that we got used to,we visited the turkish baths and that was also an excellent experience especially the oil massage, it was the best massage I have ever had. Breakfast was a little limited but caused no major problems. All in all we had a perfectly relaxing week and would definitely recommend it. I normally stay in 4 star accommodation so was pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — Position of Hotel
  • Disliked — The gym facilities
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I booked this hotel after throughly researching it online and was encouraged by the excellent reviews. Basic but good seemed to be the general view so I wasn't expecting luxury but wasn't quite prepared for what I found. The location of the hotel couldn't be better; by the beach with great views from most rooms.However, the hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment, both inside and out. When we arrived in the early hours of the morning, we were faced with the most awful smell; this seemed to cling to the bed linen and it smelt like stale urine. The carpet and curtains in the room were stained beyond belief; the air conditioning unit and fridge had seen better days and were plugged with paper. The next morning, I discovered the smell was coming from a farm across the road. We were woken in the middle of the night on the last 2 nights by awful commotions - the first a loud crashing sound and the second by a man attacking his partner by the poolside. The reception staff were miserable. There didn't appear to be any entertainment in the hotel whatsoever, (however we would highly recommend The Stella Show, a couple of units along the road - he is hilarious!) The manager of the spa kept trying to persuade us to take a turkish bath, massage etc. A tour of the spa area confirmed this area was in as poor a state as the rest of the hotel; needless to say we gave that a miss! Icmeler is a great resort however we have been put off going back by the dishonesty of the traders in the shops. We were tempted by a Seiko watch - very best price quoted was £380 at Art Aquamarine Jewellers. We checked it out online and discovered Seiko RRP was £315 with watchhut selling the same watch for £265 and when having trouble finding the right size of t-shirts in another outlet, they popped out the back and changed the label on the garment so as not to loose a sale!! Luckily we noticed. This has really put us off returning to Turkey generally; no doubt there are honest traders but how do you know who to trust. Outside one of the restaurants it says ' con a tourist and loose a thousand tourists' - how true!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Golmar Beach from 21st - 28th September.
The hotel was in a good position if you like a quiet place to rest your head.Thank goodness we were away from all the Boom boom music that seemed to be played everywhere - all competing against each other. We usually go to Chalis Beach which is a much quieter resort and much more laid back than Icmeler. Each to their own but Icmeler really wasn't our cup of tea.
It was far too commercialised for our liking - everything geared towards the English. English breakfasts, Sunday roasts and Yorkshire Puddings etc.
Back to the hotel - we had no complaints at all. The staff were polite ,there were plenty of sunbeds either round the pool, on the upper area or on the beach. The pool was absolutely freezing no matter what time of day you dared to take the plunge. It didn't get a lot of sun on it and the sea wasn't much warmer.But it served its purpose to cool off in!
The rooms were ok nothing fancy but we don't spend much time in there other than to shower and change and sleep. They were clean and the bed linen was changed most days and we always had clean towels.
Breakfast was the usual Turkish stuff - breads, meats,cheeses , cereal, yogurt, fruit. We were only B&B so don't know anything about the evening meals.
We found some nice places to eat - The Lighthouse being our favourite.
Lots of people go back to this hotel so that speaks for itself.
We had a nice time and the weather was brilliant . we only had about 10 mins of rain one night as we were going out so had to dash into the nearest bar to get out of it.
We wouldn't rush back to icmeler ourselves but spoke to lots who would. Good job we don't all like the same things in life.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We don't normally write reviews but having read a couple that were a little unfair and over the top we thought we should. First things first, the Golmar is a 3* hotel, not a 4* and not a 5* so you have to a little realistic in your expectations and to that end yes the rooms could probably do with a bit of a makeover and I agree that the breakfasts are really nothing special. Having said that we really don't spend that much time in our room and the breakfast itself is more than adequate for our needs. However, the thing you do get from this hotel is great value for your money. The hotel itself is right on the beach with its own private section where the staff will bring you drinks and meals all day. All the rooms are clean with fresh linen every day and have a sea view. As for the staff, well this was our second visit there and when we arrived at 4 am, karim the manager was even there to greet us. A few of the staff were there from last year and not only do they rermember you but they are genuinlly pleased to see you and talk to you again (although i do believe that is more of a Turkish thing). The rest of the staff who we got to know were warm, pleasant, cheerful and polite, even more so if you are polite with them. I even enjoyed some banter with them when I had a go at speaking Turkish. Regarding noise around the hotel I will say this. At the back of the hotel is what I would describe as a small holding (not a farm) that has goats and some chickens and we never really noticed any noise from it.... didn't hear or see any dog there? The other thing i would point out is this, the Golmar is at the end of the beach so there is no noise at all from the town...... something you would have to put up with at a lot of the other hotels. To sum it up, lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golmar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golmar Beach Hotel

Address: Kayabal Cad 93, Icmeler 48720 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#22 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golmar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Golmar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golmar Beach
Golmar Beach Marmaris
Golmar Beach Hotel Icmeler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golmar Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.