We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Years of happiness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alvaro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Icmeler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alvaro
Cumhuriyet Mah. Osman Gazi Cad. 65. Sok. No:4, Icmeler 48720, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 hotels in Icmeler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Years of happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Well what can i say i started coming here at the age of 11 and im now 28,these apartments are brilliant and run by a fantastic family who will only do there best for you. There are always smiles on faces and plenty of relaxing late night drinks ;)) i would say to anyone come and enjoy a holiday with these fantastic people xx

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    18
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
99
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

We arrived on sep 4th at about 12:30 in the morning our bags were taking to our room . It was red hot the whole time we were there the pools were great and the staff and food were great. My son has adha and asd but Eddie and ali was brilliant with him and now he can't wait to go back to see them .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Having previously reviewed the Alvaro villa I stayed in an apartment for this trip. Good points, excellent location, decent pool area with slide, rooms very basic but adequate and clean. Windows have bug screens which can save on aircon either end of season. Not so good was the cat strolling about the work surface in poolside kitchen, waiters do the chucking in the pool malarky some folk enjoy it others don't. Overwhelming smell of urine in bathroom sink. Bar area has free wifi. Competition for sun beds could be fierce. Ideal if you can get a rock bottom cheap price as we did but would hate to pay high season price for that standard. Icmeler is always hard to beat, so if you get what you pay for is hard to complain.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed at the Alvaro for a week in September, my honest opinion is as follows as i was slightly disappointed after booking it after reading all the brilliant reviews. Totally understand it is 3 star accommodation and not bothered if it is basic. Picked Alvaro as reviews said it was spotlessly clean as that is very important to me. I found rooms could be cleaner, stains on the towels and sheets seemed shabby, also had big stain on net curtain in bedroom. The upside was very large apartment, 2 good balconys, lovely pool area and good location. All in all it was ok but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

just got back from the alvaros apts having had a wonderful time. eddi and crew very helpful and friendly to all especially to our special needs son. ideal for young famillies with soft play area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

We have just come back from staying at the alvaro for a week commencing on octOber 1st. We went as a party of 4 (2 couples) paying just £880 in total.This hotel was absolutely amazing!
It took the typical 2+ hours to get there after arriving at the airport, once we arrived, the hotel was situated just over a little canal lit by a bright pink sign. All quite open planned at the front with no reception just straight to the bar where You are gave your room key. We had rooms on the very top floor which were brilliant with all facilities needed for self catering apartments also with two balconies. Only thing which I thought was a let down about the rooms was that there was no lift so you have to hurl your case up 4 floors before getting to the top, also just a little nag but no tv in any rooms. Overall though very happy. Rooms cleaned every day fresh towels too. The staff there are actually lovely people so attentive! eddie, ali, ozen and Hussein. They are so kind hearted and will change your opinion on any stereotypical view of the Turkish. Food and drinks are dirt cheap at the alvaro, for a days worth of beers, soft drinks, ice cream and food totalled to an average of about £30 for the 4 of us, which is awesome value considering it's alcohol too. Everything about this hotel just wooed us even location was brilliant with being far away enough to get a good night sleep but close enough to get somewhere for food and do some shopping. Only thing I would warn you about which we didn't know about was that every morning there was a reading via the mosque speakers at sunrise then throughout the day, it's readings from the kuran, the earliest one for us was 5:45am it scared us as we didnt have a clue what it was at first!
I could go on forever about this hotel but all I can say is if your staying in icmeler self catering the alvaro is the place to stay no frills just down to earth people which you wouldnt get in a 4/5* hotel. lovely food and accommodation.
Would love to return at some point!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Arrived at the alvaro on the 3rd of sept,at approx 6.15 in the evening,to be greeted by ali,eddie and hussain,who took our bags to our room,after being very ill on the flight over,i never seen much of the room that evening so took to my bed,in the hope i would feel better the next day!!
The Room,
Lovely spacious appartment,huge comfy bed,with spotlessly clean sheets,adequate wardrobe and drawer space,air coinditioning in the bedroom which was a must,it was boiling,this was at the cost of £4 per night but well worth it,the balcony was off the bedroom,and all balconies overlook the pool area!
Lovely clean bathroom,with all the nessasary essentials,kitchen area fine for us,as we only ever eat out,but you would be hard pushed to cook a meal,because as only two cooker rings.full sized fridge,plenty of crockery etc,although the cups are tiny,so we asked eddie,and he loaned us two mugs,bless him!!
Two bed settees should you require them,and being on an end room we also had another balcony off the kitchen area!!
The maids come in every day,to clean the room and what a great job they do,clean towels and bed sheets everyday,they even washed up our mugs if we never did them!!Another plus was toilet roll was provided,everywhere else i have stayed in turkey we have had to provide our own.The maids did our towels in all pretty designs and even left flowers in our room on our last day,can't fault them at all,they work so very hard!!
Bar and resturant.
The bar and restaurant area is kept again spotless,and Eddie,Ali and little hussain work very hard to make sure you are happy,eddie even got in some tia-maria for me,for my calypso coffees,and they were to die for!!
They are great fun and join in alot with the guests to make sure they have a good time,they are always pushing people in the pool,and are always geeting pushed in!!
Food and drink is very reasonable at the alvaro,3lira for a coke,5lira for a beer,3lira for apple juice,just some examples,and steaks 25-28 lira,chicken shish kebabs 17 lira and gorgeous homemade chip buttys to die for 5lira!!
Pool.
Again the pool area is kept spotless,cleaned early every morning and evening,plenty of sunbeds,two pools,one with a great fun slide,a larger one and a pool for little ones,also a soft play area for kiddies!!
The thing that definately makes the alvaro special though is the wonderful staff,can't fault any of them,nothing is too much trouble and they go out there way to make sure you are happy!!
The only thing they can really improve on in my honest opinion is maybe to provide some entertainment once a week,we were really dissapointed they never had a turkish night while we were there,but this is only a minor point,because our holiday at the alvaro was our best yet,so a big thanks to eddie,ali and all the great staff who make it such a great place to stay!!
One last thing i forgot to mention,its in a great location,close enough to walk everywhere,but far enough to get an excellent night sleep!!
See you all next year,marie and wayne hughes!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool area,so all are very good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alvaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvaro

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Osman Gazi Cad. 65. Sok. No:4, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Also Known As:
Alvaro Hotel Icmeler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alvaro to your Saves list