We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selen 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Selen 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Selen 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Menderes Caddesi 16, Icmeler 48720, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Icmeler
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff are excellent very helpful and cheery miss them all terry,colleen,Louie, Charlie etc all wonderfull can't wait to stay again, hotel lovely can't fault it just need more entertainment hope to c u all next year you made our holiday wonderfull x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    70
    63
    42
    64
See reviews for
81
126
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel we were sick of being approached every evening we went out asking us to eat there. We ended up near the end of the holiday going out the back entrance to avoid it. At breakfast the orange they serve is a squash which was so sweet and should be fresh. The bread was from a French stick sliced not very good when toasting it under the slowest grill ever. The music was going after the midnight rule and to say they have a sound proof area it does not work. You could hear people talking down in the reception it just echoed in the early ours. The doors were constantly banging too. Shower is very small and yes you can see through the roofing in the bathroom. We did speak to two,young girls who were supposed to be staying in the apartments and put in the hotel with many more people. Took them to the reception and got them in the apartments a few days later as they had brought some food to make it cheaper for them being college students. Wouldn't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from a lovely week in Icmeler. A good friend and I stayed at Selen 2 -we booked a room each as at our advancing age (50ish) we like a bit of space. Our second floor rooms overlooking the pool were clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. The bathrooms in particular could do with being updated - everything worked ok and we always got enough hot water, but the shower was cramped and awkward. Still, for the very reasonable price we paid, we were happy that we got value for money. The staff at the hotel were very good - plenty of bar staff to fetch drinks to the pool, helpful at reception with bags etc. Maid service every day with fresh towels. Air conditioning at £5 per room per night was fine, as we were warned when we booked that this would be an additional local charge. Always enough sunbeds and umbrellas to go round, although as usual plenty of towels out marking territory by 8am (not sure what, if anything, anyone can do about that...). Breakfast was pretty basic but fine - Turkish style, bread, honey, eggs, cheese, tomato and cucumber.

Selen 2 is a friendly hotel with a good mix of guests including families, older people and young couples (although if wild nights out are your thing then Marmaris is much livelier than Icmeler). On a couple of evenings during our stay, the music was cranked up to 11, but it was always turned right down by midnight, meaning that we could get a decent nights sleep if we weren't joining the partying. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, and whilst they all do the Turkish thing of asking if you will come and eat at the restaurant, or have a drink at the bar, we didnt feel pressured, and if we said no thank you, they were fine and just left us alone. We found plenty of good, very reasonably priced restaurants close to the hotel - Holiday, Attilas and Blue Sun were our favourites.

We found that we didn't want or need any of the"bargains" that Thomas Cook were constantly trying to flog us. We booked a boat trip locally for just £10 - an excellent day out including lunch- with absolutely no problem. As we had a late flight home, we kept one of our rooms for the whole day, again, a very reasonable £10.

So, if you're looking for 5* luxury then Selen 2 probably isnt for you, but it was absolutely fine for us and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooking the pool on the second floor were good - no problem with A/C, hot water, exces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After recently returning from a 10 night stay at the Selen 2 hotel, I cannot be more complementary of this hotel and it's staff.

It may not be one for everyone- admittedly on my night of arrival I was a little put off by first impressions. The pool area and outdoor bar were situated at the front of the hotel and seemed a little overlooked, additionally loud music and some rather rowdy looking guests (mostly large families) made me wonder what I was letting myself in for, however after checking in and being shown to our room by one of the reception team my initial concerns were mellowed by the clean and simple decor and quite a magnificent wrought iron chandellier in the reception.

The following morning after spending some time by the pool, we were instantly welcomed by the staff who all made us feel at home for the duration of our stay. My boyfriend who was of similar age to the bar staff particularly settled in well and left at the end of our stay having made some great friends with the fantastic team.

The hotels location was ideal- situated on the quieter canal side of town and more or less in the middle of the resort, everywhere was within walking distance and the beach was a simple 5 minute walk down the canal.

Food at the hotel was rather average. No better than any other restuarant in Icmeler, although certainly no worse. The breakfast bar served a traditional Turkish breakfast each morning which was consistently good quality and always well stocked. As with the rest of the day there were always plenty of staff around to look after you.

My highlight in terms of service during my stay here was the incredible effort that each member of staff made to make you feel welcome and looked after. All of the bar staff greeted you each time they saw you and ALL (even those who spoke very little English) made converstation and an effort to get to know you.

The levels of cleanliness I also felt were outstanding. Our rooms were serviced every day- floors mopped, beds made and towels changed and folded. One day we returned to find the maid had created two 'towel swans' wearing sunglasses we had left on the bed.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable and clean hotel with fantastic staff, who isnt afraid of staying in a hotel that I will describe as 'upbeat'. As a young couple we felt our stay was perfect, but families staying at the same time as us appeared equally welcomed and the staff seemed just as comfortable entertaining families and younger guests as they did us a twenty-something couple.

The only one thing that let this hotel down for me was one sour-faced member of bar staff named Terri who worked occasionally in the evenings. After encountering her on the first night it was apparant that an attempt at a smile may well have shattered her face. I wouldn't mention it, however having worked in hotels and customer service for many years myself in the past, I am well aware that a smile costs nothing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want five star go to a five star hotel this is a lovely 3 star hotel clean and staff are lovely. Yes it can be noisy if by the bar, so ask for a quiet room, high floor and you won't have a problem. If you book bed and breakfast don't expect a full English to be included you can have this if you pay, but its not expensive. Some of the rooms are small but nice, towels are charge regular room is always made up. The beach and shops and bars are 5 mins away and now hills. Eating out well what can I say were ever you go you always get a great meal.

The rep is good if you want to book a trip, but if you have an emergency and need to go home like we did she is a waist of time, if it wasn't for Martin the waiter and the lady in the hotel jewellery shop I would never have got back home the staff are the most helpful I have ever met. ( Thank you so much for everything).

If it was not for having to go home we would have had a great time and would stay there again.

Well done Martin and the rest of the staff you made my holiday

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, and quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were put into hotel, we had actually booked apartments but got told several excuses why this was not possible to put us where we booked. Paid £5 per day aircon and £3 per day safe. Let the list start, the aircon was not working, the hot water was broken, we had no where to cook food or no kettle at this was our ambition for booking apartment, noise from the mosque wakes you up during the night, we purchases apartments for the week and got put in hotel, room was tiny ( I had a peak at the apartment and the apartment toilet is bigger than the hotel bedroom), no room to put clothes.

After complaining a few things got resolved such as free breakfast offered but this was no great compensation as our holiday has been a shambles to start with. The problems start upon arrival. We will most certainly never book here again, as seen in many reviews this is the case.

Our room was cleaned every 3 day and we had to request new towels, pass full bins to cleaners and supply own toilet roll.

On the up side the room was clean, and had friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just got bk this mornin from the selen 2, first arrived at the hotel at 3am and theywanted £30 for the safe and £100 for air con for 2 rooms for 10 nights, Neva had more than an hour sleep as we were at the bk of the hotel there was loud music playin then from the man from the mosque started singin,then felt like just closed me eyes and the staff started bangin plates,knifes and forks complained 2 English lady who works there(Coleen) she said there was no noise from this hotel (obviously she as Neva stayed there) rep said she would see wot she could do, 3 more nites like this and the boss actually changed us rooms,ask Coleen wen the towels get changed she told me every 3 days I ask if I could have clean ones she said well r urs dirty,couldn't believe it why that woman is employed in this hotel only god no's,the bedrooms r the smallest iv ever bin in and dirty,breakfast is typical Turkish,on a gud note thou the bar/waitin staff make ur holiday nothin is to much trouble for them without them this holiday is a rite off.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Selen 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selen 2 Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Menderes Caddesi 16, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Selen 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Selen 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selen 2 Icmeler
Hotel Selen 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selen 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.