We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find - great Turkish food, great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meryem Turkish Restaurant

Meryem Turkish Restaurant
75 Yil Cad. No 9/D-E | Opposite the Romance Palace Restaurant, Icmeler 48000, Turkey
+90 252 455 4727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 110 Restaurants in Icmeler
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
edinburgh, scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a find - great Turkish food, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had heard some good things about this place, and it turned out to be the find of our holiday.No frills, no fuss, no hassle - just authentic Turkish home cooking. The mezes were a good start - beautifully fresh bread and dips, which we then followed with casseroles (lamb and chicken) both of which were packed with meltingly tender meat and veg. We were offered a lovely fruit platter on the house along with cay, which was a nice touch.

The staff are very friendly and helpful without being at all in our face or hassling you, and are more than happy to talk to you about the food and recommend dishes.We enjoyed lovely Turkish breakfasts here too twice, and returned for a second evening meal, when we had a very good mixed grill type of platter and a plate of fish goujon-type things, which were absolutely gorgeous.

You can keep your English breakfasts, fish and chips, karaoke and dancing waiters - when I'm in Turkey, I want to eat good, authentic Turkish food and that's exactly what this place offers. Apart from that, it's also fantastic value for money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Google Translation
Meryem Yemek Evi İşletmecisi olarak, hakkımızda yazdığınız yorum için teşekkür ederim.İyi günler. Cihan Horoz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    24
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic turkish food!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten plenty of food in turkey and this place takes some beating . All fresh cooked in front of you, even given a tour of the open kitchen . Cant recommend enough . Imam bayaldi to die for (meat filled aubergine) gorgeous bread and salad too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Google Translation
Meryem Yemek Evi İşletmecisi olarak, hakkımızda yazdığınız yorum için teşekkür ederim.İyi günler. Cihan Horoz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant on two occasions on our short break to Icmeler. The food
is absolutely tremendous !! Total authentic Turkish cuisine with mezes being brought to your
table constantly with fresh bread and special Turkish bread, our main meals were beef and
chicken casoroles and fresh sea bream which was brought out to me before cooked ( Absolute quality ) and on both occasions like Enyadoherty said the bill was no more than 45 TL which is
about £16.00 !!! The chicken kebabs looked " TOP " too and they cost a mere 6TL. If your visiting Icmeler this summer don't let this little gem slip through your fingers, its only been open since
May this year and I can't speak highly enough. The owner and his twin brother look like Tierry
Henry too ha ha.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Google Translation
Meryem Yemek Evi İşletmecisi olarak, hakkımızda yazdığınız yorum için teşekkür ederim.İyi günler. Cihan Horoz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Icmeler Turkey - New Turkish Eatery - Meryem Yemek Evi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There is a new turkish restaurant called Meryem Yemek Evi that serves excellent food at really cheap prices. Run by twin brothers it is just up from Romance but on the opposite side of the road in the row of shops including hairdresser & pizza place. Been there for breakfast, lunch & evening meal & will be returning for more excellent food & service. They have meals prepared daily that are not on the menu which you can go in & see to choose from; when looking we even got some to taste. Their donner kebab spit uses wood on 3 levels for cooking, not gas. They do sell alcohol but choice is somewhat limited, although my wife asked for a Brandy which they didn't have but went to the supermarket (Elvis who are connected with the restaurant) & returned with a small bottle, beer is either Effes or Tuborg. wine, raki, vodka. Seems quite a few british people have already been in & another good sign is that many locals frequent the place. Pleasant relaxing atmosphere & no hassle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Google Translation
Meryem Yemek Evi İşletmecisi olarak, hakkımızda yazdığınız yorum için teşekkür ederim.İyi günler. Cihan Horoz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My mother and I visited this resturant this evening after reading reviews online! The food as expected was amazing, we shared the meze to start with both flatbread and chunky bread! I then had the lamb shish and my mother the special of sea bass! Both the meals were amazing! The bill came to 44.50 lira which we deemed reasonable! Couldn't fault anything with the food, however we did feel a little rushed with the service, as soon as I put my fork down the waiter cleared the table and brought me some fruit as my mother was stil eating her fish! This is a pet hate of mine!!! All in all though the food was fantastic and we will return before we leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Google Translation
Meryem Yemek Evi İşletmecisi olarak, hakkımızda yazdığınız yorum için teşekkür ederim.İyi günler. Cihan Horoz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meryem Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 
Icmeler, Mugla Province
 

Been to Meryem Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meryem Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.