We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a differnece a year makes !!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marti Resort de Luxe

Save Saved
You added Marti Resort de Luxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marti Resort de Luxe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cumhuriyet Mah. 78. Sok. No:2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 hotels in Icmeler
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a differnece a year makes !!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

I have always defended the Marti resort having stayed there in 2006, 2007 and now in 2008.

The rooms in the 600 block are a disgrace. They are filthy, shabby and need a complete re-furbishment (I think the last time they were done was in 1970 when the hotel opened.)

The so called side sea view is a stretch and for £7 per person per night, a complete rip off.

Look at the deluxe rooms on their website and that is what a 5 star hotel should look like, no mould and grime on the walls and floors there - well they are almost exclusively reserved for Russian/German/Dutch guests, just ask the management. It is obvious that they are trying to get rid of the loyal British guests and do they care - a bit fat NO.

We could not believe how the prices had gone up since 2007 - about 50% !!!!!

We have booked for 2009 - will be going to the Marti, answers on a post card please?????

  • Liked — Leaving it on 26th September 2008
  • Disliked — Having to endure 2 weeks of Room 630. The management offered us - stay where you are or move to Marmaris!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    200
    81
    26
    15
See reviews for
217
311
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Visited the hotel whilst over in Turkey for my friends wedding in Marmaris. From the ouset we were very impressed with the hotel - checked in at 8am after a night flight. Our rooms were ready, and we got two rooms next door to each other on the ground floor. They were very clean, with fantastic bathrooms / shower, flatscreen TV on the wall and the much needed air con. They lead out to a small patio with table and chairs an straight to the pool area.

The pools are superb, very clean and you can always get a sunbed. Swimming up to the pool bar every day for a cocktail was bliss..!! The only slight down side were the animation team could be a bit noisy sometimes if you were trying to relax reading.

Restaurants were good, there was alot of choice and something for everyone. Food was always hot, and fresh.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday at the Marti and would definately return, it was by far the best hotel in the area.

  • Liked — The clean rooms, and fantastic pool
  • Disliked — Coming home!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

On booking every thing seemed well - although English was a problem that was something we liked - The front ofr house was very good - a nice welcome in a large reception pleasantly furnished at 4.00am .

Issued with our blue dot card we were told it was all inclusive and off to bed in our delux room 20 ft long 12 ft wide!

First day spent getting to know te place - pool areas a bit worn but our two girls loved it so far so good.

Next day bumped into room attendant who asked if we wanted more water - yes thanks - I found out 4 days later at a cost of £35 that they cost £2.50 for a mini bottle. Ice Cream, wine, any branded spirits also rip off prices £15 each.

The english speaking issue caused a bit of problem in the end - I bought a bottle of £25 champagne Mumm Cordon Rougue for a special occasion , i was told it was 65 tl £32 quite reasonable - on the bill at the end i noticed a cost of 650 TL (£340) another rip off.

Biggest dissapointment was 40% of staff who were moody uncomunitive and very rude by way of ignorance especially to women - which was shame when the rest of the staff were very courteous - especially the resturant staff who worked tirelessy to keep the resturant and its tired food clean - pls don't expect anything like five star service.

So a five star resort means they can rip you off with the second you step outside the very grey guidlins of whats inclusive.

We won't be going back to Turkey again - its more expensive than UK, Greece and USA and less friendly.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I have just returned from a second visit to the Marti Resort de Luxe, after previously visiting the resort in May and they say its never the same second time, well is was just as fatanstic as the first time, if not better, as this time we stayed in the refurbished part of the hotel, with its wall mounted flat screen t.v. enormous double bed and the bathroom which was just as impressive.

There are two large pool areas, surrounded by paving and grass with plenty of space for sun loungers, if the pool is not your thing, you can spend your day on the beach, which belongs to the resort so the sunbeds are free and again there are plenty of them.

There is a well equiped gym, sauna and Turkish bath, that are free to resort guests.

In the evening you can join in with the activies on the Oriental bar, which is over looking the beach or just relax in the plush outdoor seating area just off the reception with its own quiet bar area.

Icmeler is so pretty, you can take the beach walk to Marmaris, which will take well over an hour but worth it, or catch the taxi boat that takes you to Marmaris Mariner in 20mins, in the evening you can walk along the canal and visit the street vendors that run the length of the canal.

The staff at the Resort couldn't do enough for you, I would say this is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Liked — spacious pool area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I have recently returned from a lovely holiday in Icmeler, Turkey. This was our 3rd stay at the Marti Resort Hotel. Having been to Turkey 9 times I have noticed that the prices in Icmeler have rocketed over the past few years. Turkey used to be a cheap place to have a holiday but I am afraid those days are over as far as I am concerned. The room at the Marti was very clean but dated and needed refurbishing. They look exactly the same as they did 7 years ago! I feel that If the Marti wants to keep it's 5 star status then all the rooms must be re-decorated and kept up to date. I know that some rooms have been refurbished but they all need to be done.The beds and towels were changed daily as where the poolside towels. The gardens and grounds were kept immaculate. The food was ample and suited most tastes but I found the food a bit monotonous after two weeks so my husband & I ate out every evening during the second week. The entertainments team tried hard to keep things going, i.e water polo, darts, bocia, etc but a lot of holiday makers were not that interested in participating. They were a lovely bunch though and lots of fun. Thanks Mehmet and Aytunc. Two great guys. We booked all-inclusive before the start of our holiday because we knew how expensive the drinks had become at the Marti. Lots of people whom we met at The Marti Resort Hotel had to upgrade to all-inclusive because of the horrendous prices charged there. I really feel that they were forcing people to upgrade to all-inclusive which really should be an individual's option at a reasonable alternative. I loved the Marti Resort Hotel 7 years ago, I still love it there but I might have second thoughts about returning for a 4th time.

  • Liked — The wonderful gardens, closeness to the beach.
  • Disliked — Food was monotonous!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed at the Marti in Sept. The weather was fab and the setting of the Marti is beautiful. The hotel is lovely but the room we were offered was not 5 star. We upgraded for £230 to a delux room which was lovely. The view from this room was breathtaking. The food was very repetative but always hot and well presented. The staff gave you loads of attention if you tiped them at the begining of the week. ~On the whole the staff were quite miserable especially reception staff.
Icemeler was lovely and it had loads to do at night. The sunbeds were free on the beach which was lovely and clean. This was a big saving. The beds around the pool were plentyful and you did not have to get up early. I would definately go back just for the view from my balcony. Don't expect 5 star though and you will not be disappointed

  • Liked — The balcony view
  • Disliked — dark room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington,
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

The first this I have to say is that the hotel layout was very good and the room was one of the best we have stayed in.

I do however have a complaint to make regarding the price of both food and drink within the hotel. Whilst I can appreciate the hotel charging an additional amount for drinks I believe that the Hotel Marti changed an exorbitant amount for drinks. In the bar and restaurant a small bottle of water was costing 4 YTL, whilst in the market attached to the hotel the cost of a small water was 1 YTL. This is an increase of 400%.

In the hotel bar a small beer and a large beer was priced at 13 YTL and in the bars in Icmeler the same was 7.5 YTL and the large beer was in a larger glass. I believe that the hotel was possibly charging this additional amount to supplement the customers that had booked all-inclusive. If we had wished to do this before we embarked on the holiday we would have done.

There were also several incidents within the Restaurant of the hotel with the waiters, whilst some of these were very helpful and pleasant to all customers a number were unhelpful and totally ignored customers. There was several instances of us going into the restaurant at approximately 20:30 and choosing to use the non smoking section, as we entered they were removing the evening meal cutlery and laying the tables for the breakfast meal. This is even when the restaurant was open until 21:30 in the evening. The waiters were not happy for us to use this part of the restaurant at this time and totally ignored us when we were attempting to order a drink for our meal.

Several of the waitresses were either stood around doing nothing or having either a conversation with other staff or arguing with them.

There was also a man roaming the restaurant, I can only assume that he was the Head Waiter, in my opinion he was a total waist of space and did nothing, as far as we could see to ensure that everything was running smoothly.

As we have been on a number of holidays with you in different countries, some of these are up an coming countries and some are well established this is the worst service we have encountered.

We had a few meals and drinks outside the hotel and the service was excellent. Why is this not so in the actual hotel?

You have this hotel classed as a 5 Star hotel and are charging for these holidays as such. As far as my wife and myself are concerned this classification is incorrect and the hotel should be classed as a 3 Star hotel at best, and a warning should be made to any customer that is wishing to stay there regarding the price of drinks and additional food outside the restaurant.

The air conditioning within the rooms was at best inadequate at worst abysmal. The room itself had two levels and the air conditioning was on the lower level and situated on the floor. Even I can see that hot air rises and cold air falls, therefore the unit should have been situated on the higher level and preferably near the ceiling. This would have ensured better use of the equipment.

We have been to Turkey 3 times now, twice to Ismeler, and this holiday has now put us off visiting Turkey for the foreseeable future. This is unfortunate as Turkey is a wonderful and enchanting county.

  • Liked — Sea Views
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marti Resort de Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marti Resort de Luxe

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. 78. Sok. No:2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#15 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marti Resort de Luxe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martı Resort Deluxe, the unique architectural design of our hotel brings it to a cut above among the other hotels in Marmaris. Its construction, consisting of stones and wood combined with wonderful gardens makes a pleasant impact on to the guests. It is located in the most beautiful part of Icmeler Bay and has the cleanest beach in Marmaris region. Our beach was awarded the "Blue Flag" award. Marti Resort is located on 31.134 sqm and has separated 4 buildings included in 257 full renovated rooms, 11 suite rooms and 12 Deluxe Villas which have the sea, side sea or garden views. Two board options are given to the guests; Halfboard or Ultra all inclusive. Marti Resort Hotel was opened with 30 rooms in 1969 and started its operation in Turkish tourism sector in 1970. With additional buildings, reconstructions and renovations done by the years our hotel has reached its capacity of today and became a 5 star complex. Marti Resort, as a leading brand name, always helped to improve the tourism in Icmeler, always supported the economy of the country and enabled a high standard of life to local people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marti Resort de Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marti Resort De Luxe Hotel Icmeler
Marti Hotel De Luxe
Marti Resort Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marti Resort de Luxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.